We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The whatever factor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #60 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2012

A hotel that tries to look like a boutique hotel, with old-school design touches etc, which is all very well, but doe snot outweigh several negatives:
-The NOISE: you will hear everything from every other room: toilet flushes, people talking (and other stuff). I was woken by the inconsiderate person next door leaving their alarm on really early. Sound-proofing is very poor.
-Cleanliness is so-so: carpet could definitely do with a refresh, hairs in the bathtub, that kind of stuff.
-Bedding a bit dull and old, weird system of duvet on king bed made up of 2 duvets, so you can't cover yourself properly.
-One of those places that try to charge you $30 for breakfast and $11 an hour for wi-fi when the room is already North of $150. Needless to say I eschewed all these offerings.

Some pluses: conveniently located to Southern Cross Station and airport buses; not too far to walk into the city.

Overall: would not go out of my way to stay here, and would not really recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank fmackUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2012

Thank you for your valuable feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. I apologise that the room next to you was noisey, and we would of been happy to provide an alternative for you during your stay. The hotel did during your stay have a great $20.00 hot buffet breakfast deal and if taken the offer up, I assure you the experience would of been very good. I will investigate the cleaning you experienced, however assure you the hotel does have cleaning programs in place for items such as carpet.
I would be pleased to discuss any of your comments in more detail with you, and can be contacted at the hotel.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,700)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,350 - 3,356 of 3,702 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2012

Stayed for three nights - very easy access from Airport, Flybus gets you there. Central can walk around town center. Expensive Internet but did not try it. Breakfast was OK but invariable with the same menu. Staff cooperative fine and knowledgable but inflexible rules - did not give a late checkout though rooms available.

Room Tip: Get a room facing Little Collin Street. Nice and quiet but windows were not cleaned. Brilliant sunsh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeHooTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2012

Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. The hotel does provide late check out options, however it is depending on availability. Travel time over the Australian Open would of limited such availability for a late check out, however the hotel does also promote luggage storage if required. The breakfast selection is rotated on hot items, with cold items remaining the same as the choice is very large and we beleive are suitable to suit all needs. We appreciate you feedback that allows us to revisit any operational concerns.
King Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

This is in a great location as you can walkfrom spencer street station which is where the bus from the airport drops you.it is also close to the city shops and lots of restaurants. Facilities are basic but fine for a short stay. It is best to get a room on a high floor to be away from the traffic noise but we heard nothing on the ninth floor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near on a hig floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fe27travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2012

Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. The hotel location is very convenient and the rooms are very well sound proofed to eliminate external noise. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay
Keep us in mind when next in Melbourne
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Just returned from Melbourne for a trip to the Australian Open Tennis. Stayed 3 nts at Vibe Savoy. Although the hotel is opposite Southern Cross Station there was no noise in our room on level 10. The airport shuttle terminates at the station so this is an ideal location. Shuttle from airport $16 single p/p or $26 return p/p runs about every 15 minutes non stop - journey time approx 20 mins. Walk straight across the road to the hotel. Taxis can cost approx $50 each way up to $130 return so use the shuttle!
Check in was quick and easy - had online reservation. Room was adequately sized with fridge,plasma tv, safe,wifi connection (maybe a charge?),a/c and plenty of hanging/drawer space.Modern marble bathroom with plenty of room. This is an old style building with character, which has been given a makeover - the decor being red/black/white.
The bar - "Alexanders" - offered "2 for 1 house drinks 4-6 pm (plus hot snacks). They also have a limited daily specials bar food menu - Friday's fish and chips was excellent - $12.00!. Service was quick and friendly. The hotel also has a restaurant which we didn't try.
When we checked in we asked for restaurant recommendations for a birthday, with which the Concierge happily assisted and happily made our reservation for that evening. Reception staff were very helpful with other "tourist related questions".
It is approx 10-12 mins easy walk to the centre of town, South Bank or Docklands which is an "outlet shopping area"
If I had one comment about the hotel it would be that housekeeping was a little "haphazard" and untimely. I wonder if the amount of staff working on our floor was inadequate for the number of rooms?? Also, we could sometimes hear the people in the room next door.
Nevertheless, all in all this was a good value short break hotel,which I would recommend and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room on upper floors if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evertravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2012

Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. We are pleased you found the location convenient and where able to enjoy the great special offers we have in the hotel Alexander bar. I will be personally following up with the housekeeping department to ensure we continue to maintain clean and fresh rooms.
Once again thank you for your feedback and look forward to being able to welcome you back soon
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

The location was good, right across from the rail station, which is actually a very pretty building. No noise issues from that on the 11th floor. The room was decently sized, after we requested a move from an interior room with no outside windows. There was quite a bit of noise from the baby next door, so watch out for rooms with connecting doors.

Beds were terrible quality- like a hostel or kiddie camp. We had 2 doubles. They were not up to cheap American motel standards, I've stayed in many with much better beds, and this is totally unacceptable in a place trying to pass itself off as a "boutique" hotel, as this one tries to do.

Wifi was available for $22 a day, but they reserved the right to throttle or turn it off, with weird parameters such as allowing "200 emails a day;" I'm not sure how they would know. I assume it is some sort of usage cap. No one at the hotel or on the phone with the internet provider could tell us what exactly these caps were. If a hotel is going to continue to make the somewhat strange decision to charge for internet, which is certainly their right, it is frankly ridiculous to put bizarre caps and limits on it.

Cleanliness was certainly an issue. We found a large cockroach in the room. My first time ever finding creatures in a hotel room. They noted it and took some money off the final stay price. The daily cleaning of the room was also somewhat lackadaisical.

All in all, I certainly hope there are better choices available to the traveller in Melbourne, as this isn't that cheap of a hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Govis76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2012

Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. I am really disappointed that the cleanliness of the room was not satisfactory and I apologise that we where not able to ensure this. I am pleased we where able to make a gesture of goodwill to you directly, and we have as a result ensured the room is addressed from a cleaning perspective. The hotel has not previously experienced any issues as you note, however we will continue to be vigilant with this.
Once again thank you for your feedback, and trust this experience will not tarnish your overall view of the hotel.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Stayed here with my fiance for one night just to get away. My fiance arrived for our 2pm checkout and had to wait 40 mins for our room to be ready.

That night i saw on the room service menu that they had ginger pudding with rum and raisin icecream. I asked if i could just get the icecream, not a difficult request, i was told no i had to have the pudding. So i didn't get it!

Then possibly the worst bit was when checking out the receptionist Sabrina spent the whole time flirting with my fiance and not even acknowledging me!

Won't be staying here again!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snowymidnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2012

Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. Allow me to apologise for the delayed check in you experienced and our inability to provide a requested portion of what we where offering as a meal option. I have passed your comments onto the relevant hotel departments to review our internal procedures on these matters, to ensure they do not happen again.
I am happy to discuss your comments about the Hotel Receptionist Team Member, and can be contacted on 03 9622 8888.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Currently staying three nights - myself and my 15 year old daughter - on 11th floor Great location. Room great - bathroom a bit tiny but quite okay for us. So close to trams, trains, and walking anywhere. We are currently looking over Southern Cross Station from our room and solittle noise in our room Ceiling could do with a paint but apart from that, rooms are spotless. Room service/restaurant prices are reasonable and check-in staff were polite and knowledgable. Would recommend Vibe Savoy to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Troodles6023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2012

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay and trust the remaining part of your stay with your daughter was also a good experience.
We appreciate your feedback and look forward to being able to welcome you back soon
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#66 of 162 in Melbourne
5,077 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 162 in Melbourne
1,556 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Address: 630 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#55 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $96 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Toga Hotels, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vibe Savoy Melbourne
Hotel Vibe Savoy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing