We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good location, nice room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #54 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sain-Petersburg, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location, nice room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

Very good location, just across the road from Southern Cross station, where Airport shuttle terminates, so very convenient. It is on the edge of CBD, with everything literally walking distance. Room was quite nice, comfy bed, good bathroom, aircon is not very noisy and temperature easily regulated. No view though.
The major problem for me was absence of free wifi, with this room prices, charging extra 60 dollars for week's worth of wifi is plain theft. Luckily for me, I found a free wifi network in my room which did not require password and was able to use it.

Room Tip: Try every unprotected wifi networks available in your room - you might get internet for free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valery_la99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed the hotels convenience location and the accommodation rooms. The WiFi is an additional charge at the hotel, however we beleive the pricing is competitive to that of our competitors.
We look forward to being able to accommodate you when next in Melbourne
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,110
    1,431
    477
    133
    47
See reviews for
486
1,145
319
775
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

This hotel is in a great location and has recently had the best value deals, usually a bit expensive for us! We prepaid for 4 nights at a cost of $115 per night for what we would rate as a 4 star hotel right next to Southern Cross Station and trams right outside-there were deals for breakfast too. A spacious well appointed 7th floor room, comfortable bed and small but adequate bathroom. Very smart reception area too with a bar and specials on the menu for luch. The Pad Thai was really good. Overall a very good experience and strongly recommended-as regular visitors to Melbourne we will be looking out for similar deals in the future.

Room Tip: Book early and look out for deals on their internet site. Rooms on the Spencer St side do have a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grovsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed the hotels location and the special offers we have available to our guests on both accommoadation and food & beverage offers.
Please look for great offers that we post on our website during the year!
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

The Vibe Savoy is a great hotel for a quick weekend trip to Melbourne. Rooms are more than fine, service is OK-ish and the location is great. I have stayed here many times over the years and found it to be perfectly acceptable and always a great price.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Damian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. We appreciate you continue to choose the hotel for your Melbourne accommodation needs and look forward to seeing you back at the hotel soon
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed for two nights in December. I usually use the Stamford when working in Melbourne but they were full so I chose the Savoy mainly because it fitted our budget. My wife and I did not expect much but were very pleasantly surprised when it greatly exceeded our expectations. This was our first holiday visit to Melbourne and we asked staff for assistance a number of times. The service was not just efficient and friendly, most places do that. It seemed the Savoy's service was sincere. Big difference.
Just fell in love with art decor theme, and the history of the place. Yes, it is not plastic, smooth and antiseptic like any number of new hotels but for us - in the words of Big Arnie - We will return!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. We really appreciate your feedback about our sincere guest service and the Team will be thrilled to know they continue to do a great job.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

Stayed at vibe savoy hotel from 9-11 January 2012. Extremely convenient location for us since it was located just across the road from Southern Cross Station (We used Jetstar and the shuttle bus stop at Southern Cross from Avalon, vice versa).

We arrived early at 10.30 am, checked in at the front desk, and was told that the room is available and we can go in the room straight away (very happy with that).

The room was clean, tidy and surprisingly quiet (room 809, on level 8 facing little collins street).

The staff were helpful and full of smile.

Ordered room service at midnight (toasted ham sandwich with chips), the chips were amazing (personally I would say it was the best potato chips that I ever tasted).

Checked out at 11 AM and left our luggage with them because our flight was at 8.45 PM that day, picked them up at 6 PM with no hassle.

Very happy with the whole thing.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yosi1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. I am pleased you where able to check in prior to the normal arrival time and that the hotel met all your expectations.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back soon
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

Only booked at last minute as needed somewhere close to Southern Cross station as son was departing on a kayaking camp at 7.00am the following morning.

Extremely pleasant receptionist who processed our check in easily and efficiently. Room was on the fourth floor and contained all the usual requirements though I could not find an information compendium telling me about restaurant times etc. Apparently it is on your TV!!

As it was quite late we went straight downstairs to eat at the bar/casual restaurant and ordered a light meal and some drinks asap. I had a nice Asian salad and my young son had a hamburger and a soft drink which was brought out by an extremely friendly and efficient waiter.

Room was extremely quiet and both of us had an excellent night's sleep. Great water pressure in the shower and the usual amenities you find. Did not eat breakfast at hotel but went across to a cafe and had toast and coffee before my son headed off on his camp.

Overall nice stay and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millsie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. I am pleased you and your son enjoyed the hotels location, quiet rooms and the great guest service we strive to provide each and every time.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back when next in Melbourne.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

I have stayed here several times. Its in a very convenient place opposite a train station, and with trams a one minute walk away. The staff are very friendly and very helpful. The rooms are nice, though I haven't really worked the bedding out yet, there seems to be a doona for each side of the bed. The bathrooms are very dated and do let the rest of the place down, but they are clean and tidy. The breakfast buffet is very nice. We'll definitely stay here again, as it is so convenient.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasminette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed the hotels location and its convenience for you. We do look forward to being able to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#61 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,187 reviews
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Property: Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Address: 630 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#51 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vibe Savoy Melbourne
Hotel Vibe Savoy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing