We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for Conventions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #60 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Convenient for Conventions”
Reviewed October 28, 2011

The accommodation was chosen as an afterthought, when my first choice was fully booked. The Art Deco styling revealed friendly and helpful front desk staff, a tidy spacious lobby and prompt lifts. I stayed for a week for a convention at the nearby Melbourne Exhibition and Convention centre, and the location of the hotel was very convenient. A ten minute walk from the Convention centre, 2 minutes across the road to the Skybus (to the Airport) and Southern Cross Station. Trams just next to the hotel. I was allocated a room on the 11th Floor, and it was exactly like the photos. Quiet, and I only heard the police sirens once. There is a functional TV, a handy kettle for a warm cup of tea (all gratis), and an iron and ironing board. The air conditioning was good. Pillows and bedding were comfortable (not too firm but not too soft either). The bathroom was lined with black and white marble tiles and everything worked. Showers had sufficient pressure, and there was precious little to complain about apart from the low ceiling in the bathroom (if you are a 6 footer). Two supermarkets, with Coles further up the road, but having a larger selection. A choice of food shops and a food court nearby (just ask the hotel staff). Breakfast was good with a selection of fruit, pastries, and hot food, but they could improve and provide a little variation on the eggs (scrambled every day of the week). A little away from the big sights of Melbourne, but it was convenient for conventions and for getting in and out of the airport. Only one thing, there is no free wifi and that was a bit of a downer. I overcame this by having a cup of coffee and surfing at the same time, at Gloria Jeans around the corner.

Room Tip: Go for the upper floors, and request for a room facing the street and not facing the interior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bboymsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne. We are pleased you enjoyed the hotels location and amenities and trust we will be your accommodation of choice when next conferencing in Melbourne.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,270
    1,606
    526
    150
    54
See reviews for
545
1,295
368
886
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Great location near bus, trains, trams. Good quality total with everything you need.
This is my second stay here and am not disappointed. Would highly recommend.
The only comment I would make is when booking, check out several booking agents on line as we managed to save $AUD100 by shopping around.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Thank you for providing feedback about your return stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne. The hotel location has some wonderful benefits, and we are pleased they are suitable for your needs.
We look forward to seeing you again soon
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerang, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Chose this Hotel as we were stopping in the city before flying out the next day early. Just across the road and also very handy for Skybus transfer to Tullermarine. Rooms good although we must have been very close to the elevator workings because we constantly heard a motor noise all night. Breakfast was wonderful full buffet and enjoyed that before heading off. Would stay again for the suitable location.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyP59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Thank you for providing feedback about your stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne. We are pleased you enjoyed the hotels location and the buffet breakfast on the morning of your departure. We look forward to being able to welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Spent two nights and I felt relax and enjoyed a lot my stay. bed very comfortable. its have more that I thought for a hotel - like facilities to have a cup of tea when you come late at night and want something hot b4 to go to bed. and was provided by the hotel without cost - the bar I did not care as all hotels mini bars are a rip off however I bought my own cokes (next door little market) and I put them in the fridge also the water.
NO COMPLAINTS mates.

Love it

see you all soon as I travel to Melbourne at least once a year and I would like to repeat my great experience.

Room Tip: I was in a room opposite to the station and apparently very busy roars. but I could not remember hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msotofig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Thank you for taking time to provide great feedback about your stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne. The Team are pleased you enjoyed your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back when next in Melbourne.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Spent 1 night at the Vibe Savoy for work & although I didn't pay I will say that the hotel is very good value.
The room was very spacious & quiet.
The staff were helpful & the hotel is within walking distance of most Melbourne tourist attractions.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, October 23, 2011
Thank you for choosing the Vibe Savoy Hotel for your accommodation needs whlist in Melbourne. We appreciate your positive feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We stayed here for three nights over the weekend and had a great time. The room was comfortable and clean, bed was comfortable but the walls were a bit thin. Each night we heard the people in the next room come home about 3am and could hear what they were saying etc. The location of the hotel is excellent for tranport, and as our first, visit to Melbourne I thought the location was great. Walking distance to lots of shops, restaurants etc.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. We are pleased you selected the hotel for your first stay in Melbourne and that you found the hotel to be conveniently located and suitable for your needs.
We welcome the opportunity to have you back at the hotel when next in Melbourne.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

This hotel used to be good, but has now degraded. The room we stayed in this time was not well kept, the amenities reduced to a bare minimum... The phone and the airconditioning were not working, and it took a while to have them on again. The minibar fridge was old (as the rest of the furniture) and it's shelf broke when I attempted to open the fridge, scattering beer and wine bottles on the floor. One bottle broke. It took again a long time for housekeeping to come and clean the mess. Clean is not the appropriate word, as the employee vacuumed the glass bits and put an old towel on the beer infused carpet, and left. The only armchair in the room was tired, with not much foam left in it to sit on. The bed sheets were clean but almost transparent. Overall, the room did not convey a feeling of "quality" at all. Yet the prices charged are not small.

Another big disappointment was the THE ALEXANDER BAR - Located on ground floor. We ordered a chicken salad and a lamb cofta. Both portions were quite small (for $20 each) and we asked for some bread, to be told that there was no bread... On top of that, the coftas (meat balls) were raw inside. We asked for them to be well cooked. The waiter took them back to the chef. he came back with he coftas heated up, but still red inside, and told us that the chef said that they were well cooked, and that was the normal colour of it; as if we did not know how a well cooked meat ball should look inside. Very average food...

Came breakfast time. very average and mechanic food again there. Not appetizing at all. No effort made. There was even a pancake machine, where you have to press the button and wait for your pancake to come at the other end... how cool is that? Cool perhaps for a child, but not for a hotel that aspires to be a 4 star one. The coffee machine (yes, a machine again) had its door broken, the white plates were not so white anymore... covered in gray scratches from the cutlery, and some plates were even dirty. What happened to this hotel???

Room Tip: smile and don't be pushy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pitisko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel.
I have received your personal email contact via our internal feedback survey, and will be making contact with you to discuss your concerns.
Allow me to apologise for the service you did receive, and we thank you for providing feedback that allows us to refine our guest service and strive for improvement.
We look forwad to being about to welcome you back, and delivery on our service promise.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#68 of 160 in Melbourne
4,900 reviews
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Vibe Hotel Carlton
Vibe Hotel Carlton
#89 of 160 in Melbourne
947 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 160 in Melbourne
1,526 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Property: Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Address: 630 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#57 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vibe Savoy Melbourne
Hotel Vibe Savoy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing