We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of calm in the city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #56 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm in the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

We chose this hotel as we had an early train departure and it was close to Southern Cross station. It proved an excellent choice. The room was large and clean, the hotel quiet and within walking distance to most of Melbourne CBD and attractions. If you don't want to walk the 5 - 10 minutes to everywhere, trams were just around the corner.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coral C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, September 4, 2011
Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed the hotels central location to all amenities, and look forward to being able to welcome you back when next in Melbourne.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,138
    1,456
    491
    134
    50
See reviews for
497
1,176
325
791
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newborough
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

Over the weekend I took my son to stay here as he was attending his first footy match. I chose the Vibe Savoy for its close proximity to Southern Cross Station and Etihad Stadium and could not have asked for a better place to stay.
When the train arrived we were able to walk out of the station and straight across the road. We arrived a few hours before check in time so I went to see if we could leave our bags and was pleasantly surprised when told there was a room available then. The room was plenty big enough for my son and I, was clean and had all we needed for an overnight stay. When I asked the front desk for directions, not only did they give me directions, but took me outside and pointed me in the right direction.
The bed was comfortable and after reading some reviews I was a little worried about the noise but it was surprisingly quiet (maybe being a Sunday night)! I could hear some talking in the next room but nothing that disturbed us from sleeping.
Breakfast was fantastic, a large variety and the staff were friendly and obliging. Upon seeing my son take an interest in the pancake machine, one of the staff asked if he would like to see how it worked and opened it up for him to see the mechanics. My son was rapt!
On checking out, the staff at reception were friendly and offered to keep our bags until we needed them.
Right nearby are an IGA, Coles and 7 eleven as well as many shops at Southern Cross Station. Lots of place to eat and drink and being so close to Etihad Stadium made it easy on my son's little legs.
Thanks to everyone at The Vibe Savoy who made our overnight stay so great! We will definitely be back :-)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BiancaAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, September 4, 2011
Thankyou very much for your great feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. We are pleased you and your son enjoyed your time at the hotel, and the location and service was of high standard.
We look forward to being able to accommodate you when next in Melbourne.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

We stayed at the Vibe in late August. It has public transport literally outside the door and a large shopping hub across the road. The rooms are a tad small, but the beds are comfortable and the individual doonas, I thought were innovative. The one small complaint we had was the shower was over the bath. The buffet breakfast was varied, with hot and cold dishes and fruit, however the restaurant is not open on Saturday nights, which is a nuisance. The staff are efficient and polite and there is valet parking available. The cost is within most budgets.

Room Tip: Remember the bathroom light switch is in the hallway,not in the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DesertLoverVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne. We are pleased you enjoyed the hotels great location and the Team where accomodating to your needs.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel when next in Melbourne.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 445 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

I stay here a couple of times each month. Great value, great breakfast the rooms are nice and tidy, ar deco style building. If you need to be close to the docklands or that part of the city, this is a place for you.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AusTravel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, September 4, 2011
Thank you for your great feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. The hotel really appreciates your loyality to our business and we welcome any future feedback to allow us to exceed your expectations each and every time you stay.
Please feel free to ask for me on your next visit to discuss how we can continue to over delivery in our service too you.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

This is another great Vibe hotel. The rooms aren't quite as spacious as its sister hotel in Sydney, but it was clean, quiet and nicely appointed. The staff were pleasant (the bar staff were really nice.) The location is excellent- we had an early train to catch in the morning, and Southern Cross station is right across the street, too easy! You've also got trains and trams close by, too, for exploring the city. Despite its location, I found the hotel acceptably quiet. The bathroom was clean and the beds very comfortable. Very good value for money considering the location and quality of the hotel. Would happily recommend to anyone who likes a safe, comfortable room that isn't going to blow out the budget.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bombshell33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Thank you for taking time to provide some great feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel.
The Team are pleased the hotels location was so convenient and your stay was most enjoyable.
We look forward to being able to accommodate you again when next in Melbourne.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

This was a perfect place to stay, right across from Spencer Street Station. The service was wonderful the people friendly. The rooms was beautifully set up, very clean. Only thing there was so much noise in the morning.......... I'll be coming back here to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zaraac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, September 4, 2011
Thank you for taking time to provide some great feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. I have passed on your positive comment about the service you received from the Team. I would be happy to hear from you to update your profile to ensure you are allocated a room that will be quieter for you for any future stays.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

Arrived at the Vibe Savoy at approx 9.25pm. Check in quick and friendly. Got up to room and it went down hill from there. It was so hot that sleep was impossible. Felt very unre-freshed for a 6am meeting and had an awful 3 hour drive home after a long day and no sleep. It would be so much more cost effective to simply turn the heating down, not to mention earth friendly!
Parking is $30 per day, very steep. Car parked off sight and it can take up to 15 minutes for the concierge to collect car when requested due to business at the desk. This is an expensive and frustrating arrangement.
Would also be good if the hotel, which is a business conference venue too had free wi-fi for guests instead of the comlex user pays arangements they have in place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. I was disappointed to hear that your stay was not to your expectation. The valet service the hotel provides for guest car parking is adjoined to the hotel and one of the least expensive in our vicinity, so I was surprised there was delays for you with this service. The rooms are air conditioned and with individual selectors, however part of our preventative maintenance program, we will revisit to ensure all are in working order moving forward.
We do thank you for providing your feedback and allowing us an opportunity to refine our services, and trust your overall experience will not deter you from staying with us again.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#63 of 160 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,303 reviews
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 160 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Property: Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Address: 630 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vibe Savoy Melbourne
Hotel Vibe Savoy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing