We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure North Melbourne
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Jasper Hotel(Melbourne)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (459)
Filter reviews
459 results
Traveler rating
28
132
132
89
78
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
132
132
89
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsopening windowstram linea bit tiredbar fridgehotel restaurantpublic transportbuffet breakfastcbdmelb
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
438 - 443 of 459 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2009

To be perfectly honest, after reading previous reviews on this Rydges property I was abit worried about staying there, however can safely say that the previous issues with this hotel are currently being rectified. Some friends and I stayed at Rydges North Melbourne earlier this year after getting an excellent deal online. I was expecting to find the place in ruins after reading some of the reviews below, however what I found was a hotel on the mend. The rooms were clean and tidy, (they look as though they have new bathrooms) Some elements of the hotel were tired like in previous reviews but apparently there is more refurbs later in the year. The staff were great, and the service exceptional. I look forward to staying here again and seeing the new renovations.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SydneyCassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, General Manager at Mercure North Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2009

Guest bathrooms were one of numerous improvements completed in March 09 and we are very happy with the results. Further works including carpet, elevator and restaurant refurbishment are scheduled later in the year. I have passed on your comments regarding staff and service to the team. Remarks such as these are not only satisfying but a great motivation in being recognised for all of their hardwork. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2009

Stayed overnight at the end of a long holiday in Victoria. We chose a King (bed) room. Arrived at 12.30 p.m. and were able to check in right away - always a nice surprise. Yes the building is looking at little old in some places - the lift in particular has perhaps seen better days - but the room was very comfortable and very quiet.

Bed was very comfy, bathroom was small-ish but clean. All the usual toiletries provided. Especially appreciated a better quality iron plus a spare blanket (often overlooked elsewhere).

Buffet breakfast was quite good - not a huge selection but everything was as hot or cold as it should be.

Staff were excellent - happy, very helpful, professional - and the location was quite good. It's not the most modern, luxurious hotel around, but well worth considering, and we'll almost certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicky1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, General Manager at Mercure North Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2009

Thank you for your feedback. The team at Rydges North Melbourne have worked very hard over the last 8 months to improve all aspects of the hotel, and comments such as yours are a great reward and motivation. Further refurbishment works are scheduled for the latter part of the year including carpet, restaurant, elevator and public area upgrades. I'm sure once completed, that 'tired' will be a comment of the past. Thanks again.
Rob.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2009

The location suited me as it is well served by trams, and it is also close to major hospitals. The place looks knocked about, with chipped paint on the lift and bathroom doors, and the curtains in the room were dirty. Breakfasts varied, presumably based on the occupancy rate, as one morning was a la carte and quite good, and the next day it was an average buffet. The curtains in the room were dirty and there is a general look of being run down. In spite of facing the street my second floor room was very quiet. The area is devoid of night life and the hotel restaurant is small and uninviting. My main reason for using Rydges is their priority club which has 20% off food and beverage (breakfast excluded) and it is worth checking out their special deals. Some of their other properties (eg Auckland and Christchurch) are much better than this establishment.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MikefromBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, General Manager at Mercure North Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2009

Following our recent upgrade of Guest rooms including bathrooms, HD LCD televisions and soft furnishings, Rydges North Melbourne will continue refurbishment at the beginning of the second quarter of 09/10. Included in the works are public area carpets, guest corridors, lift rejuvenation and rebranding, concept and service changes for the hotel Restaurant.
Cleanlines continues to be of the highest priority with scheduled spring cleans and annual dry cleaning continuing to ensure the standard of our new room product.
Thank you for our feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2009

I stayed a couple of nights and whilst the room was quite roomy and comfortable, overall I found the establishment only average. The breakfast was disappointing with limited choices and most of the hot dishes were quite cold (good coffee however). The hallways and foyer could do with a major spruce-up - the front glass doors and windows at the entrance needed a good clean and the hallway carpets need to be replaced. The staff however were lovely.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Passepartout55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, General Manager at Mercure North Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2009

Dear Coconutsmoothie,
Thankyou for the review of your recent stay at Rydges North Melbourne.
Your review title, 'could be better', is a statement we are working vigorously to remove from Rydges North Melbourne reviews. We have recently completed bathroom renovations and guest corridors have been painted (20/3). Public area carpeting will commence shortly and the restaurant and foyer is currently at concept stage for re-branding.
Our breakfast offering is continually changing as we strive to find a healthy balance between options and pricing. Our guest feedback suggests pricing as the more important of the 2 which impacts our ability for options. It is unfortunate that you feel choices were limited, we will keep this in mind for the future.
Thank you again for your review, we value all feedback as an important tool for continual improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2009

I stayed at the Rydges with my husband who was having surgery. The hospital was a less then 5 minute walk away, which was very handy.
The reception were polite and lovely, and although we had to wait 30 minutes for our room to be ready, they did provide us with a complimentry softdrink. (Any more then 30 minutes and I would have been annoyed, as we travelled 4 hours to get there,)
The room service ladies were absolutely fantastic, they were adorable and friendly and helpful.
As for the cleanliness of the room, it wasn't up to scratch. All surfaces etc. were ok, but the bathroom had mould in some places, and the curtains were in an absolutley disgraceful condition. They seemed to have dried up food on them, which was really quiet off putting because it looked like dried up snot.
Overall, friendly staff, yucky rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bellaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, General Manager at Mercure North Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2009

Dear Bellaaa,
Thankyou for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Rydges North Melbourne. I was very pleased to read of your service experiences here at the hotel and disappointed that we were unable to meet the same level of expectation with our cleanliness.
We have just completed refurbishment of all of our bathrooms (20/03) which has provided a dramatic improvement in presentation and cleanliness.
I hope that during your interaction with our Housekeeping team the above mentioned issues were rectified.
At times less regular services such as curtain dry cleaning, need special attention outside of scheduled cleaning. Unfortunately it is guests such as yourself who tend to point these incidences out.
thank you again for your feedback, I do hope to host you here at Rydges North Melbourne again, perhaps under nicer circumstances, and with the complete service Rydges North Melbourne is capable of.
Regards,

Rob McGufficke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews