We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the high pressure shower!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure North Melbourne
Ranked #148 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Auckland - New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Love the high pressure shower!”
Reviewed January 8, 2005

We (a family of 3 adult) stayed for 3 nights around Christmas 2004. The photos on the promotional material (printed and on the web are a bit deceptive) There's no air-conditioning in the bathroom (only a open window to outside!). There was no bell boy.

Good location however, the staff were very friendly too. Price? probably just a touch expensive.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Superturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesNorthMelbourne, General Manager at Mercure North Melbourne, responded to this review, April 15, 2007
Thank you so much for your review, your feedback in regards to the wonderfult service you received from the staff is appreciated and has been passed onto the team to view. In relation to the bathrooms, these will look to be updated in the very near future. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    118
    123
    84
    75
See reviews for
88
86
32
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 28, 2004

I loved my stay. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, breakfast clean, simple but great. Rooms were clean, airconditioning did not dry the body out like some aircond in hotels tend to. Bathroom & toilet, not perfect with signs of age ie slight chipping of tiles & touches of mildew in the silicon. But the bathroom was clean and hot water pressure was magnificent. I stayed with my partner for the three night package and I received great value for money.
Thank you to all the staff at Rydges for not being overly intrusive but so very friendly & helpful when required. I had a lovely stay.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesNorthMelbourne, General Manager at Mercure North Melbourne, responded to this review, April 15, 2007
We love to get such positive feedback from our guests and your review when shared with the staff only promotes a stronger desire to ensure 100% guest satisfaction at our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 7, 2004

We have stayed at this hotel several times due to our child using the specialised services at the Melbourne Children's hospital. The hotel certainly offers discounted accomodation to families who are in this situation which is commendable. The hotel is easily located, has great access to a variety of areas and is value for money. They have been upgrading this area and one section of the hotel is better than the other. We will definately stay at this establishment again. We have found it clean and tidy although the toilets are a bit weird.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 24, 2004

I have never stayed in a worse hotel. Apart from most of the staff, who I must say were very nice and helpful and the fact that the bar and restaurant was usually empty, there were numerous problems associated with this hotel; most of which, the manager did not seem to want to know about. Almost every tile in the bathroom was craked. The curains felt grity to the touch. The windows were dirty with marks inside and out. The blankets felt and smelt dirty. I would not stay at any place owned by the company that owns this hotel.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesNorthMelbourne, General Manager at Mercure North Melbourne, responded to this review, April 15, 2007
As the new General Manager at this property, it is saddening to hear read such a review. However the positives now are that a lot has changed and been upgraded, from a new Executive Chef, to a refurbished restaurant and the rooms touch up in 2005 have gone a long way to see the product improved since your stay. We only hope that with all these great changes you will give us the chance to restore your faith in our wonderful hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Vibe Hotel Carlton
Vibe Hotel Carlton
#87 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Apartments on Flemington
#124 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
North Melbourne
British Apartments
British Apartments
#150 of 159 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rydges on Swanston Melbourne
#86 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Lygon Street
Best Western Plus Travel Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure North Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure North Melbourne

Property: Mercure North Melbourne
Address: | Corner Flemington Road & Harker Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3051, Australia (Formerly Rydges North Melbourne)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure North Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure North Melbourne is located on the edge of the CBD, just a short tram ride from the city of Melbourne. All of Melbourne's attractions are within easy access. The hotel offers 70 contemporary & comfortable rooms and suites, with King, Queen, Twin accommodation options available, all with en-suite bathrooms, LCD TV, Foxtel, Internet access, Fridge with mini bar, tea & coffee making facilities. The hotel has a small plunge pool, and offers complimentary access to local private gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mercure North Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges North Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Rydges North Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges North Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing