We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure North Melbourne
Ranked #150 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

The room itself was adequate - clean, comfortable, and met my needs for the 2 nights I was there. I was travelling on business and had an early start and long day ahead of me so I was not impressed when woken in the middle of the night (approximately 1:30 am) by a VERY noisy tour group checking out. Said group did not appear to have ANY comprehension that it was the middle of the night or that other guests were trying to sleep. I put a call through to reception only to be told it was a tour group and the noise would die down "soon". Thirty minutes later and the noise continued, only to be topped off by another guest who's frustration had led to her opening her door to YELL at the departing group every few minutes. Another call to reception to report pending riot on the first floor only to be brushed off again. At this point I felt like I was staying in Fawlty Towers! Staff did not care one iota about the situation. The noise lasted over an hour and I was exhausted come morning. What made the situation worse was that it appeared that such tour groups regularly checked out in the middle of the night. Why not place them all on the same floor away from other guests, or at least ask them to keep the noise down when some one does complain?!?!?! Despite the fact that room was clean and comfortable, and the meals were of a good standard I would warn anyone against staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jake R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    119
    128
    86
    75
See reviews for
91
91
32
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Avoca Beach, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Reception were efficient and friendly. Breakfast staff helpful and coffee ok. Room, nothing special but adequate. Good location if headed to hospital, uni of Melbourne or north side of city. Good running tracks across the road. No gym. Pool tiny

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ANZman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed there recently with two others. Our room was very cramped, but was clean. It was definitely in need of an upgrade, but I was assured that this was being planned. The room was on the first floor facing the street and was quite noisy. The staff at reception could not have been more helpful and friendly. They were able to give advice about the trams and printed off information about other attractions for me. I didn't use the restaurant so have no comment to make about this area of the hotel. I don't think the air conditioner worked in the room, so I had to have the window open which made it noisier than it should have been.
My main gripe about the hotel was the cost of WIFI, which at 75c a minute (capped at $29.00 per day) was daylight robbery. Fortunately I found a cafe just down the road which had free WIFI so I was able to use that to keep up with business emails. This was a major headache for me and I really think the provision of cheap or free WIFI should be mandatory in a large hotel chain.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alimay47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithton, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Whilst our grandson was in RCH this was an ideal stopover....we also loved our Restuarant meals.....and the convenience of proximity to the hospital. Trams close by was an added bonus for a quick trip to the city

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Marian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Hotel_Team, General Manager at Mercure North Melbourne, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Its is wonderful that you have taken the time to pen your appreciation. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you back with us again.

Kind Regards,

Wayne Woods
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
North Melbourne
British Apartments
British Apartments
#153 of 160 in Melbourne
30 reviews
Apartments on Flemington
#126 of 160 in Melbourne
115 reviews
Mercure Melbourne Albert Park
#104 of 160 in Melbourne
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Naughtons Parkville Hotel
Naughtons Parkville Hotel
#116 of 160 in Melbourne
38 reviews
Parkville
Vibe Hotel Carlton
Vibe Hotel Carlton
#89 of 160 in Melbourne
947 reviews
Seasons Heritage Melbourne
#117 of 160 in Melbourne
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure North Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure North Melbourne

Property: Mercure North Melbourne
Address: | Corner Flemington Road & Harker Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3051, Australia (Formerly Rydges North Melbourne)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#117 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure North Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure North Melbourne is located on the edge of the CBD, just a short tram ride from the city of Melbourne. All of Melbourne's attractions are within easy access. The hotel offers 70 contemporary & comfortable rooms and suites, with King, Queen, Twin accommodation options available, all with en-suite bathrooms, LCD TV, Foxtel, Internet access, Fridge with mini bar, tea & coffee making facilities. The hotel has a small plunge pool, and offers complimentary access to local private gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure North Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges North Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Rydges North Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges North Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing