We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure North Melbourne
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Melbourne on Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$134
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$201
$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$126
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
$92
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$83
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
Art Series - The Blackman(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$170
$127
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$240
$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$230
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (459)
Filter reviews
459 results
Traveler rating
28
132
132
89
78
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
132
132
89
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsopening windowstram linea bit tiredbar fridgehotel restaurantpublic transportbuffet breakfastcbdmelb
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
356 - 361 of 459 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I am a priority member and stay often at Rydges hotels. This was by far my most disappointing stay. The room was very neglected. The spa didn't work. The lift was claustrophobic but the stairs with the open windows (which our toddler tried to squeeze out of) posed such a danger that we had no choice but to squeeze into the lift. I question whether it is legal to have an open window like that over a high drop to a pool? Usually we take advantage of the late checkout as members but we couldn't wait to leave this hotel. There weren't enough pillows and the ones I retrieved had mould on the slips. The coffee and tea supplies were dismal, no biscuits and a call to the front desk did nothing to improve the situation although they did apologise for the lack of biscuits (apparently management is currently making a decision about providing them in the future)! It was really the least of our concerns but apparently the only one they had an answer for! The whole place strikes you as an old hotel re-branded Rydges with a coat of cheap lipstick applied to tart it up. You can see right through it. The good points are that the price at least recognises it's failings and its not a bad location although you can't walk to anything much.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank happyforeverafter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Typical hotel with everything you would expect in this price point.Shopped around and for 3 people, in the midst od summer, this was a good deal. Location was close to University of Melbourne, which is what we wanted. Parking was good. They offered a discounted breakfast if you pre-booked it. The rooms were clean, quiet, beds comfortable. Staff was helpful. Stayed on 3rd floor.
View out of the window was of someone's unkept back yard, but since we were gone all day we didn't care.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quiet- don't hear street noise. If you're going to eat breakfast there, prebook it for a savings
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank captaingr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Great location for visiting Melbourne, on Flemington Road and just by a frequent tram service by the Victoria markets and into the city. In many other respects fairly ordinary. This was our second stay. The rooms and bathrooms are clean and reasonably roomy. Join the Rydges club for some immediate benefits including reduced price, including on internet service which otherwise is very expensive, parking is expensive ($25 per day). Breakfast is also pricy, however there are many other options in the area (we like the Victoria Markets). The bar service at night is amateurish, a glass of port turned out to be a 30 ml "shot" in a whiskey glass on ice, amongst other errors. Service is so-so however Front Desk staff are friendly.

Room Tip: Get a room at the opposite end to the parking lot, rooms do vary in attractiveness. Join the Rydges Club for some immediate benefits and reduced prices.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed two non consecutive nights at this hotel because it is near to our sons house.the first night was ok, with a clean and comfortable bed but the room was in need of refurbishment. The second night was in a different room and we knew it was a twin bedded room as that was all they had available. We also realised that we were staying at the same time as the Australian Open Tennis tournament. However never accept room 211. It is next to the lift which is an old noisy one. The basin in the bathroom was cracked, paint was peeling off the shower room. It was not what I would define as a twin room as the second bed was a converted settee or similar with no bedside table. The fridge was also really noisy and iced up. What a disappointment. The only plus side was that the front desk reception staff were very professional and courteous.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank kizzwhizzy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel just before Chrisrmas, sent an email to the GM via the reservation email as the staff provided me with the wrong email of the GM, that was 2 weeks ago and you guessed right not a word, Why not??? my email was both positve and negative , the room and daily room service very good, front counter very good, Breakfast a joke, Melbourne the Coffee capital of Australia, and for Breakfast you get some instant or other Coffee in Urns disgusting to drink, Yet a big espresso machine is sitting there for staff to make there own coffee, However Lucy came to the recue and made the best short black,all good untill the next day when another waiting person told me that Machine coffee was $3.00 and will be charged, but the Urn is included in the Breakfast, Not good enough one would expect a good coffee and for that matter a pot of tea first thing in the morning, its not as the staff are runn of their feet, my request for poached eggs was not a problem, but when poached in vinegar not nice, the next morning I asked for an Omelette well that was something else, the last mornig of our stay the Breakfast chef had called in sick , Continental only, maybe that is a good thing as a permanent, considering the quality of the cooked, not to mention the fresh fruit most of it came out of a tin , but Why???? with al the Fantastic fresh fruit available, how much time would it take to put a freh fruit platter together???

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews