We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure North Melbourne
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Novotel Melbourne on Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$130
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$240
$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$89
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$137
$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$96
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$195
$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$85
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$74
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$137
$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
$290
$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (459)
Filter reviews
459 results
Traveler rating
28
132
132
89
78
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
132
132
89
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsopening windowstram linea bit tiredbar fridgehotel restaurantpublic transportbuffet breakfastcbdmelb
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
376 - 381 of 459 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2012

After conferencing in the CBD - was not to chuckles about paying $300 for a friday night bed in order to catch up with friends for the weekend. Booked the hotel based upon the brand and the breakie being included plus a welcome drink for $140.

The hotel is old but clean. The staff are helpful and pleasant. The lift is $%#@$ed. It broke down early friday eveing and being on the second floor we got some free exercise.

Sleep quality whilst a bit traffic noisey we slept in and missed the 10,00am breakfast call. The rooms have open widows and no air con - so Jan - Mar heatwaves could be a problem.

There are a number of hospitals near the local which is obviously it;s main custom.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GILLRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcavanagh, General Manager at Mercure North Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

We do represent pretty good value, especially with our inclusive packages.

Our lift did have an outage over the weekend which has been rectified - everyone got a stairmaster work-out - the reception team certainly got fit over the weekend carrying bags up and down.

All rooms DEFINITELY have air-con, there is an individual remote on the bed in all superior rooms and a wall control unit in standard rooms - summer heat is not a problem - and we also have opening windows to allow for fresh air which is nice in the evenings.

If you prefer a quieter room ask the reception on check in for one facing the rear of the hotel we can usually always accommodate - having said that the majority of guests don't mention the traffic noise, the hotel is set back from the road a fair way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We had a great stay. Especially for access to the sports venues and public transport. The room was excellent and very peaceful. The staff were efficient, friendly and helpful. Would recommend to anyone wanting to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SobiaSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcavanagh, General Manager at Mercure North Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

With the tram running right past the front door you can be in the CBD in just a few minutes - and connect or stroll down to the MCG / AAMI park / Tennis centre or the Docklands - making the location a perfect base for a weekend visit.

You get to save on city parking rates too which can hurt,

During the holidays it s a great spot for kids too you can get to Melbourne zoo in around 8 minutes on the tram, or down to Melbourne Aquarium - its all on the doorstep.

We are offering 'kids eat free' deals too during the holidays which represents great value for families.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

just stayed the one night. the hotel is in a great location for what we needed. very close to the major hospitals ( royal childrens, royal melbourne, royal womens ). loads of parking, can leave the car for whole day post check out for a small fee ( much cheaper than parking on the streets in north melbourne and not have to worry about moving the car every 4 hours). rooms are great, clean and modern, however did get a smaller room this time but on my last visit has a great large room, which had lots of floor space and plenty of seating. nice small bar and restaurant area to relax, food is of great quality. Has got a nice little pool to use. staff are very friendly and help you to relax in the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank graham w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcavanagh, General Manager at Mercure North Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

The superior rooms are more spacious than the standard, great value if you are staying more than a night or two.
Parking is one of the benefits over staying anywhere in the city, $12 per night sure beats $40 or $50 at hotels in the CBD - and you can get the tram into town in 5 minutes so the location really works well.
Its warming up in Melbourne so the pool will get more use in months to come - perfect for school holiday trips - kids eat free too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

The welcome was nice on the cold, bleak, rainy Saturday morning that I arrived and I was pleased I could check in, dry off and get warm before venturing out again. The foyer and restaurant areas are OK and have had a make-over sometime in the last few years but the same cannot be said once you get into the lift.
The rooms are exactly as previously described - they are small with no frills and carpet that seriously needs replacing but overall - the place is in screaming need for renovation. The beds are not as comfortable as other Rydges hotels but the linen is crisp and clean. The bathrooms are very basic and old and the towels could also do with upgrading as they are a little on the thin side.
Check out was a long process as there is only one person on duty on a Sunday morning at the peak time when everyone is leaving. I am not sure if this happens every day!
The hotel is a good distance from anything but the hospital however the tram stop at the end of the street is very convienient and there is an IGA that isn't too far away. But it is best to buy a day pass for the tram because you will need it if you want to go into the city or Queen Victoria markets or to a restaurant in the evening to eat (and taxis wouldn't like the short distance).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jmkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcavanagh, General Manager at Mercure North Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

There has been a lot of updates over the past 12 months or so, particularly as noted int he restaurant, foyer, public areas (conference rooms etc), its certainly a comfortable and appealing set up.
Rooms are presented well with a modern bedding arrangement, white linen triple sheeted, and the new LCD TVs update the look. All the amenities you need are there; full mini bar, tea/ coffee making, iron/board & toiletries.
Generally check out runs pretty smoothly, delays can be frustrating I know, particularly on weekends when everyone wants to check out at once. We are reviewing manning where possible minimize bottlenecks.
The local area has a number of great dining options - just ask the reception team for recommendations. North Melbourne village - the Errol St precinct has a couple of Melbourne's best spots, around 5-8 minutes walk from the hotel, with warmer evenings and more light its certainly a viable option. Jump on to thatsmelbourne website and check out the North West section for some great ideas.
Trams are the best way to get around Melbourne - there are a number of great attractions within easy reach (Markets, Zoo, Docklands for footy and shopping), the hotel is well placed to take advantage of all the Melbourne is famous for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We have stayed at this motel approx 5 times over the past 4 years, as it is across the road from Royal Childrens hospital where we travel from NZ. We have found the rooms comfortable, restaurant, very good. excellent pressure in the shower. The location is great for the activities we done- victoria markets, and trips into town- approx 2 min walk to catch a tram. Staff are friendly and helpful. Supplies such as tea, coffee are happily topped up if required.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndySouthland_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcavanagh, General Manager at Mercure North Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Thanks for your note - always a pleasure to hear from our regular guests!
You will have noticed a few changes over the past 12 months, we've done a lot of work in public areas, and recently revamped our breakfast offering. Its still got all your favourites and standards, but its a bit fresher, brighter, with some yummy additions to get your day started right!
Location, yep perfect for accessing the city and local attractions and the tram is a huge bonus.
We get a lot of mentions about the lovely staff, must be something in the water!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews