We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room was small”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Ranked #76 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Cairns
Level Contributor
129 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Room was small”
Reviewed January 15, 2011

This was an emergency stay overnight due to flooding in western Victoria. I was grateful, they could accomodate us on short notice. The check in and check out were great, breakfast was included which was appreciated although the cost of the room I felt was exorbitant. The room was small for 2 people and the bathroom door opened onto the toilet. The airconditioner was old and extremely noisy and kept waking me up all night. Which was annoying.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mollymoo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2011
Thank you for sharing your impression of the hotel and that teh hotel was in someway comfortable for your needs.

Regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    842
    475
    165
    87
See reviews for
251
849
155
549
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2011

We went to Melbourne to visit Her Majesty's theatre and Rydges was the perfect place to stay. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aandvcoghlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2011
It was pleasing that you enjoyed your experience in Melbourne and you took advanatage of our unique location across the road from Her Majestys Theatre and the fantastic Mary Poppins production. Hopefully we will se eyou back again for other great shows coming in 2011.

Regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

ok place to stay for one night, close to chinatown and two live theatres ordered room service at about 11.00pm waited nearly one hour and when we got it the food was cold would have returned it but was fairly hungry,put the tray outside the door when finished still had some food left over,but was still in the corridoor when we went down for breakfast at 10.30am the next day and smelt, have stayed at rydges in other locations before and we both agree they just miss the mark of being a good place to stay, staff good at checking in and out and at locanda

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lenny58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2011
Thank you for your opinions of your stay at Rydges Melbourne. Most guests stay here for 2 or more nights, however it is always dependent on their reasons for being in the city. Room service over ngith or after 1030 is limited and depending on demand and what night ie. Friday and Saturdays for example can be quite busy with people who are out late in the city. Obviosuly we don't want guests to wait for an hour for thei meals and this is unusual as is the food being delivered not hot. The tray still being outside your room in the morning should not happen as housekeeping are aware to remove these when they get on the floor. Unfortunately during these quieter days some of the services that are common place can come off the rails with a leaner manning while people are on holidays, it is not a true example of how we operate, I apologise that this may have spoilt your stay in Melbourne and appreciate your comments.

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2011

I have travelled regularly overseas and within Australia, and don't understand why so many hotels choose beds as hard as the floor. Rydges have proved that comfortable beds are possible, and when compared with other hotels that also provide excellent service, food and cleanliness, it's the beds that make them stand out.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAC521958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2011
It was very pleasing to read of your experience with the Rydges Dream Beds, we certainly have recieved very favourable comments since they were manufactured and introduced into our properties. I totally agree that the most important thing in any hotel is a great bed for a comfortable nights sleep, it was a pleasure to see this occured with your stay.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2011

We arrived on Christmas Day having had some hassle getting from the airport. We had understood there was a free shuttle but that's not the case. Our standard room was dated and a bit scruffy and the shower flooded the bathroom floor. So we complained the following morning and were upgraded to a much better room with a great view - we got this because there had been a cancellation. Overall the reception staff were helpful and the restaurant team were great during one of their busiest weeks of the year.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShelaghNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2011
Pleasing to see your stay ended up being satsifactory after your initial disappointment. The hotel does not and has never advertised free shuttle service from the airport. Skybus offers the most cost effective way to get to city hotels from the airport unless there's a group that can split a cab.

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2010

We stayed at Rydges as part of a package deal and I was very unhappy with the hotel. We stayed for 3 days and our beds weren't made in the mornings, the milk wasn't replaced the day after use and when we called downstairs to get a replacement it took 55 minutes and 3 additional phone calls before the milk finally came up. I also found the room to be very stuffy so they probably need to look at their air conditioning.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dtb9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2011
It was disappointing to read of your impression on the general service at the hotel. With regard to making beds in occupied rooms, due to the need to get vacant rooms clean for people arriving from 2pm, the room attendants focus on these first, then clean occupied rooms afterwards, unless there is an urgent need to make someones bed, this is the general procedures in most hotels I have had experience with. I hope your next choice of hotel will better suit your needs.

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2010

Got to the rydges and the service was very good and the staff were polite and helpful. I stayed there for 7 nights over the australian open period. I checked into a Queen Spa Suite. Walking towards the lifts I saw and old side of the hotel and a new side of it. I got allocted in the old side and as I got in the lifts from 1930 i thought i would die. Passage smelt like glen 20 which was disgusting to say the least. Wall in need of a paint, new carpets need in passage way and also new lighting because its dark and gloomy. Now the rooms were terriable. Furniture from off the side of the street , broken fittings, stains on carpet etcc they said to me our suites have not been furnished and will not be getting and treatment anytime soon.

AVOID THIS HOTEL THE PHOTOS ON RYDGES.COM ARE NOT WHAT THE HOTEL ACTUALLY LOOK LIKE BEWARE!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David83882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2011
It was appreciated your comments on the stay at Rydges Melbourne, I assume from your comments you stayed last year for the Australian Open in January 2010, nearly a year ago. The hotel does not use Glen 20, the products for air freshnening are supplied nationally by a chemical supplier and are used commonly in many hotels. The lifts on the suite side you refer to although needing an upgrade that will hopefully occur sometime in 2011, are servicable and operate without incident. The colourful description and opinion of the suite furnishings and general look are taken on board, the rooms are comfortable, large and good value for money generally when compared against competitiors. The rooms are being upgraded in 2011 and plan should be underway in the near future.

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#35 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Chinatown
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
#97 of 159 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#34 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,996 reviews
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#77 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#15 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Melbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Property: Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Address: 186 Exhibition St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#71 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Melbourne Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Melbourne is conveniently located in Melbourne's CBD, in the heart of the Theatre precinct on Exhibition street. With over 290 guest rooms and 70 suites. Rydges Melbourne is home to Locanda Italian Steakhouse Restaurant and Bar, featuring the best steaks from nearby Yarra Valley, an good variety of pastas and other mouthwatering options. Located in close proximity to Bourke Street Mall shopping, a block away from the Paris End of Collins Street boutiques and in walking distance to Rod Laver Arena and the MCG, Rydges Melbourne is a great choice if you are wanting everything at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Rydges Melbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing