We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD, NOT GREAT.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Ranked #86 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2010

After staying at the Hilton Sydney, I found the Rydges lacking and it was most certainly not a 4.5 star hotel (probably 3.5 stars by US standards). Rooms were a bit tired and small, the bed was great, but the pillows were cheap (certainly not fluffy down pillows like the Hilton) and gave me a stiff neck. The bathroom was cramped and the lighting in the room and bathroom was atrocious. Plus there's no safe in the room and no "do not disturb" sign (I made my own).Oh, and $30 a day for internet that's not even wifi but uses an ethernet cable!

The location, however, is great (next to Chinatown, theaters and restaurants, shopping) and it's reasonably priced but don't set your standards to 4.5 stars and you should be content.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tobeginwith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2010

Appreciate your detailed commentary of the stay at Rydges, I must say when comparing the hotel to the Sydney Hilton it certainly would not stack up well, as the Hilton had an approx $160m upgrade. In saying that items such as pillows, lighting and other detail we can certainly address and was surpised to read as the pillows are normally the fluffy down type you described that compliment the Rydges Dream Beds that are so popular.

Yours sincerely

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,144 - 2,150 of 2,359 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2010

We booked a premier spa suite , unfortunately the only thing premier about the room was it's size. The couch, chairs, tables and carpets were all stained. The wall paint was cracked and there was so much noise from Elizabeth st. that it was impossible to get a good nights sleep. The only thing going for this hotel at the moment is the location. My advice to Ridges Melbourne is refurbish and catch up with the rest of Melbourne.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank effenal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2010

Thank you for your comments relaing to your stay at Rydges in the Premier suite, certainly take on board the impression of the decor and I believe it is is being planned for a soft upgrade in the new year, which will hopefully improve some of the items you have noted.

Yours sincerely

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Staff were very helpful as it was our first time in Melbourne, we were given a map and advice on what to do and see.
The room was clean and the beds were the most comfortable we had ever slept in.
We were walking distance to restaraunts, pubs, trams and taxis were always out the front.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shanjakeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2010

Excellent to see you enjoyed your first experience in Melbourne. It's always pleasing to see the hotel contributed to a positive experience for people visiting the city for the first time and we were able to assist in directing you to the abundence of things to see and do while in the city.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

I travelled to Melbourne with my boyfriend to watch the mary poppins show. Rydges is the best location if you are going to the theatre. It is also great value for money. The staff were welcoming and helpful with directions. I was considering staying at the Langham from the good reviews of it on the website, but after seeing where it is located and staying at Rydges I am happy we chose rydges. The only thing we could fault is the restaurant down stairs is a bit expensive so we will find a cheaper dinner alternative next time. We will be going back to rydges coz I honestly believe its the best place to stay in Melbourne.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ohhlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2010

Appreciate your review on your experience in Melbourne. It was great to see you enjoyed the hotel and its ideal location in the heart of Melbournes Theatre district. There's also a great new show on called Hairspray at Princess Theatre just up the road, both this and Mary Poppins should be very enjoyable for people coming to Melbourne. It was disappointing to see you found the Locanda Steakhouse expensive, it does have a broad variety of meals on offer that should accommodate all requirements, including our excellent Bar snack menu with Pizzas and pastas.

Your sincerely

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

Have stayed 3 times and have always found service & facilities to be excellent.
Centrally located near Chinatown & Theatres. Good value for money

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrahamfromAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2010

Thank you for your positive review of the experience at Rydges Melbourne and that you enjoy both the hotel and its great location. The hotel also does its best to be competitive and offer good value deals for our guests. Hope to see you back again in the future.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

This hotel is situated in a wonderful location near two major theatres. It is also close to the City Circle tram so you can travel all around the city for free.
The service at Rydges was excellent & the staff were particularly friendly & helpful. The rooms & beds were very comfortable.
We enjoyed cocktails, dinner & a sumptuous buffet breakfast in the comfort of Locanda Restaurant. The Manager, Manny was absolutely so hospitable. He could not do enough for us. We have returned to this restaurant because we were so impressed by his service. A bonus with our package was free membership to a Fitness First Platinum Club which is situated just around the corner. For any gym junkies out there this is an amazing gym with excellent classes. It is 30 seconds walk to Chinatown so you have a huge variety of restaurants. We would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichelleIntermezzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2010

It was pleasing to read your review and your impression on the service at the hotel in particular with Mani in the Restaurant who is a great example of Rydges hospitality, we certainly appreciate the sincerity of individuals such as this that can make a guest stay feel special and ensure we get them back again for future stays. Our location is ideal for those wanting to taste the culture of Melbourne as you have nicely stated. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2010

Overall I was not impressed. I booked a night at the Rydges for my partner and I, and expected a decent, clean room for the price.

First thing I did was lay on the bed as soon as I stepped in the room and sank into it's softness ........ then kept sinking. Very uncomfortable nights sleep when two people keep rolling into the centre. Shame if it was one of the new 'Rydges Dream Beds'.

Everything in the room was coated in a film of dust. The heater also smelt like it was burning dust. The carpet was stained in patches and bleached in several spots. The TV did not work at all. The shower door was mouldy and there was no exhaust fan, so when we showered the whole room steamed up. The ceiling vent near the shower was full of clumps of dust, and it clearly has not been cleaned in years.

The towels looked like the ones I use on my dog, with tattered and frayed ends.
The noise from the street was extremely loud and came right into the room at early hours of the morning.
The guest services folder was EMPTY ........ kind of explains things.

On the upside, it was a quick check in and the buffet breakfast and restaurant staff were very polite.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2010

It was a terrible review of your stay at Rydges Melbourne and I am very disappointed that you had this type of impression from your stay here. I certainly do not take these comments lightly and have addressed with the housekeeping team and disciplinary action will occur with this as well. As you would appreciate the standard of the rooms is a direct reflection on the management of the hotel and I certainly take these things personally and apologise you encountered such a poor example of a Rydges room experience.

Yours sincerely

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#50 of 161 in Melbourne
4,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 161 in Melbourne
2,545 reviews
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#39 of 161 in Melbourne
1,901 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#13 of 161 in Melbourne
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Melbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Address: 186 Exhibition St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#80 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $114 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Melbourne Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Melbourne is conveniently located in Melbourne's CBD, in the heart of the Theatre precinct on Exhibition street. With over 290 guest rooms and 70 suites. Rydges Melbourne is home to Locanda Italian Steakhouse Restaurant and Bar, featuring the best steaks from nearby Yarra Valley, an good variety of pastas and other mouthwatering options. Located in close proximity to Bourke Street Mall shopping, a block away from the Paris End of Collins Street boutiques and in walking distance to Rod Laver Arena and the MCG, Rydges Melbourne is a great choice if you are wanting everything at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Rydges Melbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing