We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable hotel in a very handy location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Ranked #78 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel in a very handy location”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

The hotel upgraded me to a queen suite which was very generous of them, this was a lovely large room with a seperate bed area. It was great for my work trip as I could work in the lounge area and get away from work in the bed area. The bathroom was large with a bath which I enjoyed. The overall decor is a neat and tidy but a little tired.

I had room service on the first night, the pork belly starter was a bit bland and disapointing especially for the price, whereas the burger and chips was decent in flavour and value. The next day the tray had been moved outside the room but not collected. Also I had only used the shower gel but they gave me a new shampoo, conditioner and skin cream but not a new shower gel, maybe they were out.

Room Tip: I had a room on the north side and there was a bit of noise from the street and the people outside t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozrower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    840
    475
    165
    87
See reviews for
251
844
154
547
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Enjoyed a mid week break in a Queen suite which was a good size room with very comfortable bedding and a good size bathroom.

Hotel staff very friendly and the hotel is located in a perfect position for the various shows .

Nice bar meals and a good quality breakfast .


Hotel was very good value

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnM4115XZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We had a nice 2 night stay at Rydges Melbourne. Our room was good & the beds were comfortable. It's situated in a good location. We were offered to have our room cleaned but we were still getting ready so we declined. It would have been nice if the cleaners came a bit later. Overall we were happy & would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MicheleDamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bairnsdale, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Regular visitor due to easy vehicle access from East Gippsland and basement car parking. Good location for major city sites and theatre precinct. Normal no nonsense service but could loosen up on the drink vouchers. One free drink per stay is a bit tight for a regular guest.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Room was ok but needs freshening up seemed a bit tired. The bed was extremely comfortable which helps a good nights sleep. The bathroom was so little with the toilet squeezed into such a small space that we had to be careful when using the toilet as one could easily injure yourself on the toilet roll holder. We liked being able to walk to the theatres and Chinatown. Very convenient for tram travel. The air conditioner/heater was extremely noisy and we couldn't sleep with it on.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed here two nights last Wednesday and Thursday nights. We stayed in a deluxe queen room and it was a nice room, clean and tidy. As like other guests have said, the bathroom is small, but it is manageable. On check in staff were a little rude and distant, not the friendly welcome I am used to. All services we used were great and the food especially breakfast is yummy. One small gripe I do have in relation to food and drinks would be have longer hours for the barista, however there is a coffee shop up the block which is opened 24hrs and is called pie face, it was my saviour at night. After check out I noticed we were over charged and when I rang back they said it would be reaccredited to our account but went I said we were returning in 2 days we agreed that drink vouchers to the value would be placed on our room key. Our latest check in was awesome, friendly staff and I didn't feel rush away as I did before. To our surprise we were not given the drink cards but a upgrade to a suite with spa plus free parking. When I saw the room my mouth dropped, we were over the moon. Rydges you are back in my good books I would return to your hotel any day.

Room Tip: Stay away from the lift and if the budget can afford it go and stay in a spa suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Good size room for family and great bathroom. Centrally located to China town, theatre and shopping. Did ring room service as despite booking for four people only had three pillows and room service didn't deliver at all despite two night stay but we did arrive very late so staff was low - hence only criticism was service

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F1476LPAnne_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#37 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Chinatown
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
#97 of 159 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#77 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#13 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Melbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Property: Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Address: 186 Exhibition St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#72 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Melbourne Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Melbourne is conveniently located in Melbourne's CBD, in the heart of the Theatre precinct on Exhibition street. With over 290 guest rooms and 70 suites. Rydges Melbourne is home to Locanda Italian Steakhouse Restaurant and Bar, featuring the best steaks from nearby Yarra Valley, an good variety of pastas and other mouthwatering options. Located in close proximity to Bourke Street Mall shopping, a block away from the Paris End of Collins Street boutiques and in walking distance to Rod Laver Arena and the MCG, Rydges Melbourne is a great choice if you are wanting everything at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Rydges Melbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing