We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very relaxing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Ranked #79 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Very relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed here for one night and had a lovely room up on the 19th floor. The rooms have been refurbished and had a new feel to it. We could not fault the room or the view of the city. I had rung to confirm our stay and Kendal from the reservations team said she would look after us and ensure we had a nice room in which we did, so a big thank you!
The buffet breakfast was ok, the service was poor and there seemed to be a lack of plates and glasses available but it did not ruin our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Starfysh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    810
    463
    161
    84
See reviews for
236
806
150
530
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (522)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed there as a group. Our friend is a loyal member so we got a discount and a 1pm checkout. Rooms were clean and nice, bathroom is quite small though. I would have loved the shower to have more pressure. Breakfast was divine, buffet breakfast always hits the spot. Parking is reasonable at $29 a night.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Suz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

My wife and stayed here for 2 nights while we spent a weekend in the city. Had joined up with priority which gave us a late checkout and discounted meals. At Check in we were given no information about priority or the fact that we had breakfast and parking included. Room was small but ok with great views. Bathroom was so small it was ridiculous. Sheets had a hole in them. Hotel was very quiet. A vacuum cleaner with cord was left in the hall way for over a day, food in the restaurant was nice and breakfast was fantastic. No priority checkout and checking out was very busy. Overall ok but would not be in my choice for another weekend in the city.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daylesford, Australia
Level Contributor
457 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 964 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Rydges in Exhibition is a great location - the rooms are large and well appointed - the front desk staff are great - the Priority system works - the bar is good BUT alas the cleaning is poorly managed and a bit slap-dash in timing and completion. How hard is it to get a good cleaning manager and to see cleaning as a primary indicator?

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra, the 2 room suites are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RetiredWazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here for business at least twice a year for there last few years. My last two visits, both week long stays were disappointing, despite the fact that the rooms have recently been renovated. There were a number of positives - breakfast continues to be excellent with plenty of choice, especially in hot foods. It is probably the best thing about the hotel. Wifi had been made free for guests and works well throughout the hotel. The front desk staff were extremely helpful.

But... They simply don't employ enough staff and the shortages show in the restaurant, or in the non existent concierge services such as assisting with luggage. The cleaning of our room each day was atrocious and/or pathetic - the most minimal effort I have seen for some time.

The hotel chases the conference and bus tour market as well as being the hotel for overnight qantas staff so it was always full and busy making the lobby quite crowded.

The most off putting aspect of the hotel was that they now have a $500 credit limit so once you have stayed two nights, your credit card is automatically charged. If you are staying for a few days, you get multiple interim bills. They do this as apparently too many guests don't pay their bill but what does that say about the clientele the hotel is attracting.

For a hotel that says it is 4 star, this behavior creates the perception that is really only a 2 star hotel. With plenty of options in Melbourne I wouldn't recommend it anymore and will look for alternatives.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rod4178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockingham, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a shopping and footy weekend with 2 couples. Rooms were clean but small and poorly designed. Bed was too soft and caused back pain in the morning. I stayed in Rydges Preston last year and found the room there much better. Convenience to shopping, food and sporting venues was brilliant. Service was fantastic and food/drink on site was great value. I'd stay again for a similar weekend but would love to see some refurbishment soon. Thank you.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Roscope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stayed at Rydges for three nights in April. Staying due to work purposes. Second time staying in the last few years. Always a nice stay. Executive King room quite large with a couch and the bed. Tiny bathroom though, toilet right near the door and small access to get in and out of the shower. Easy walk to Chinatown and any of the trams which will get you around the city.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LilithMorgan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#37 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
Chinatown
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
#93 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,046 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,806 reviews
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#78 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#13 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Melbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Property: Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Address: 186 Exhibition St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#73 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Melbourne Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Melbourne is conveniently located in Melbourne's CBD, in the heart of the Theatre precinct on Exhibition street. With over 290 guest rooms and 70 suites. Rydges Melbourne is home to Locanda Italian Steakhouse Restaurant and Bar, featuring the best steaks from nearby Yarra Valley, an good variety of pastas and other mouthwatering options. Located in close proximity to Bourke Street Mall shopping, a block away from the Paris End of Collins Street boutiques and in walking distance to Rod Laver Arena and the MCG, Rydges Melbourne is a great choice if you are wanting everything at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Rydges Melbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing