We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Melbourne City” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Ranked #85 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Melbourne City”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Nice hotel in general. Good positioning in the City Centre to be able to easily walk to many interesting places.
I stayed when i was in Melbourne for business.
The worst part was the air conditioning. Not an integrated system, but a separate unit which would be the heater in winter. Had to run it all the time as the room became stuffy quickly. No way to open any window for fresh air. Problem was the noise. Unbearable! The unit just blasts out, even at the lowest setting and was so loud it kept waking me during the night.
This is the second time i have stayed here and same issue, so it is not just an isolated case.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderers06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Ancora, Marketing Coordinator at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. Firstly, I would like to thank you for your continued loyalty to Rydges Melbourne. It was very pleasing to hear that you continue to enjoy the hotels prime location and the abundance of eateries and shopping strips that surround us. Regarding the room air-con, we apologise that the unit was noisy and appreciate your feedback. I will pass this on to the maintenance team and ensure this is looked in to. We do hope to welcome you back to Rydges Melbourne in the near future and ask that you please advise reception if you experience the same issue again so that we can sort it out immediately for you.

Many Thanks,
Joseph Ancora
Marketing Coordinator
Rydges Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    726
    420
    148
    80
See reviews for
199
714
133
459
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We had booked this hotel via Expedia - looked great online. We were paying almost $1000 Australian for three days. The room was a shock - so shabby and dated. scratched up. Bathroom was awful, scratch up tub, enamel missing, mold around the grout - Would not take a bath or shower in that room.

Bonnie on desk was fantastic - showed me another two rooms - but they were as bad if not worse.

Hat's off to Bonnie - we did not stay there - did not pay. She was very helpful. We moved to the wonderful Mantra for less money and wonderful quality

Room Tip: Don't bother with this hotel - you can find better for less money
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joayres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Ancora, Marketing Coordinator at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. It was disappointing to hear that your most recent experience with us was far from a pleasant one and I do apologise that we were unable to meet your requirements. We have since commenced work on the room type you have reviewed to ensure bath tubs are presented to a much higher standard. It was pleasing to hear that you were satisfied with the high level of service offered by Bonnie at reception, I will pass this feedback on to her for you. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to welcome you back to Rydges Melbourne and I ask that you contact me directly so that I can personally handle your reservation. Thank you once again for your feedback.

Many Thanks,
Joseph Ancora
Marketing Coordinator
joseph_ancora@rydges.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

The location for this hotel was so convenient and walking distance to pretty much everything you would need. Service and the friendliness of the staff was superb. The room was spacious and bright. The only drawback was there was very little drawer space and no safe in the room. Wireless was great and the restaurant in the hotel superb. I would definitely use this hotel again

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abetter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Ancora, Marketing Coordinator at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for providing such positive feedback. It was very pleasing to hear that you enjoyed the hotels prime location and the abundance of eateries, shopping strips and entertainment venues that surround us. It was also great to hear that you found our hard working team to be friendly and helpful at all times. I am glad to hear that you found the rooms to be spacious and well lit and I trust you enjoyed the magnificent views also. Thank you for your feedback regarding storage space in the rooms, I will be sure to discuss this with management on your behalf. Thank you once again for choosing Rydges Melbourne and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Many Thanks,
Joseph Ancora
Marketing Coordinator
joseph_ancora@rydges.com

Did you know you can purchase one of our Rydges Dream Beds to take home? Contact me to find out how!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

First impression was reception- although the lady was very friendly and professional it seemed all about the money.
The only above average thing was the bed although it was more of a double bed than a "queen" spa suite which the title suggests.
I was feeling ill one night so ordered toast to be sent up, it took 35mins and arrived cold- not worth the $10 I paid for two pieces of cold toast..
The house keeping was lousy, only making the bed, not cleaning up the used bath products or hanging up our bath robes. I've had much better experiences and I must say this is definitely not a 4 star hotel. Not happy with the $610 I paid for the two nights. Not worth it.
Then upon leaving we were told to wait while our room was checked before the bond was returned

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jenna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Ancora, Marketing Coordinator at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for your feedback Jenna. Firstly, I would like to thank you for your very honest review and apologise that your most recent stay with us was not as we would have hoped. I will pass on your feedback to the relevant departments regarding your check-in experience and housekeeping concerns, this is certainly not the impression we want to give people and I apologise that you were made to feel this way. It was pleasing to hear that you were happy with the very popular Rydges Dream Bed, they sure are comfortable! Jenna we do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Rydges Melbourne in the near future and I ask that you contact me directly so that I can handle your booking personally.

Many Thanks,
Joseph Ancora
Marketing Coordinator
joseph_ancora@rydges.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Awesome hotel, stayed here for business in an executive room. Room was spacious clean and the bed was one of the best I have slept on. Would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Melbourne. The food from the restaurant was of a high standard and coffee is some of the finer coffee I have tried

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank southwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Ancora, Marketing Coordinator at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. It was very pleasing to read that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us. It was also fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience at Locanda Restaurant as well as our very popular Rydges Dreambed (they sure are comfortable!). We do look forward to welcoming you back to Rydges Melbourne when you are next in town.

Did you know that you can purchase your very own Rydges Dreambed? Contact me via email for more information!

Many Thanks,

Joseph Ancora
Marketing Coordinator
Rydges Melbourne
joseph_ancora@rydges.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
554 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 513 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

This hotel is located right in the middle of Melbourne CBD, 2 minutes walk from Chinatown, so it's perfectly located to majority of Melbourne's main sights if you're a tourist. It's also surrounded by many restaurants so finding an affordable place to eat is fairly easy.
The hotel is very clean, the rooms are spacious with comfy beds. The rooms are equipped with safes and small fridges, as well as a TV. Bathroom was clean, roomy, and showers had good water pressure. The staff at the hotel was friendly, although we didn't have too much interaction with them.
I can't think of anything wrong with this hotel, and even the price wasn't too bad considering we stayed there over Christmas. I'd recommend it to others.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Bug81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

My partner and I spend the night at Rydges for our anniversary. The staff were exceptional, the room was comfortable and the cocktails and tasting plate that were part of our package was great. Also the breakfast was amazing!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littleangel4172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Ancora, Marketing Coordinator at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. Firstly, congratulations once again on your very special anniversary, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience with us. It was also fantastic to hear that you enjoyed the service and offerings in Locanda Restaurant as well as our delicious buffet breakfast (it sure is plentiful!). We look forward to welcoming you back to Rydges Melbourne in the very near future.

Many Thanks,

Joseph Ancora
Marketing Coordinator
Rydges Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
#100 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 1,653 reviews
Rydges on Swanston Melbourne
#96 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 207 reviews
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#46 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#63 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 772 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#15 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Melbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Property: Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Address: 186 Exhibition St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#78 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Melbourne Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Melbourne is conveniently located in Melbourne's CBD, in the heart of the Theatre precinct on Exhibition street. With over 290 guest rooms and 70 suites. Rydges Melbourne is home to Locanda Italian Steakhouse Restaurant and Bar, featuring the best steaks from nearby Yarra Valley, an good variety of pastas and other mouthwatering options. Located in close proximity to Bourke Street Mall shopping, a block away from the Paris End of Collins Street boutiques and in walking distance to Rod Laver Arena and the MCG, Rydges Melbourne is a great choice if you are wanting everything at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Rydges Melbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing