We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below Mediocre Rydges Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Ranked #78 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Below Mediocre Rydges Hospitality”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

My family came over from Malaysia and stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. We were pretty disappointed to say the least. First of all, we requested for a set of connecting rooms but did not get one even though we were convinced during booking that we will get it. It was difficult for my family of five to spend time with each other having to walk across the corridor to go to each others' rooms. Second of all, the reception staff were NOT the most welcoming people. As someone who has stayed in hotels in Washington DC, Pittsburgh, Singapore, Hong Kong, New Zealand and London, I have to say that Rydges Melbourne's staff was the least welcoming and least hospitable! It was as if they didn't want us there! Thirdly, they forgot to make-up one of our rooms during one of those nights and when I called Reception, they were not very reassuring in terms of sending one of their staff up to clean up immediately. I am not sure if this was due to the high labour costs in Australia. Fourthly, there were inconsistencies in terms of facilities available in both rooms. One room had a safe while the other did not and we paid the same price for both! To make things worse, the only safe available was low in battery and when I called reception to fix it, their reply was: 'We can't guarantee that we can fix it during your stay'. What sort of answer is this? Rydges staff are digging their on graves in terms of marketing themselves. Fifthly, the televisions were lousy! It took 3 seconds to change from one channel to another. Ironically, both rooms' television sets were consistent in this case! Finally, when we checked out, they did not even say things like: 'We hope you enjoyed your stay' or 'Come back soon'. They probably anticipated we will never ever do that again!
In conclusion, I think Australia/ Melbourne/ Rydges needs to buck up if they want to strive to be competitive in the international hospitality arena. From this experience, it gave me the experience that they don't give a damn! NO free newspapers, NO free breakfasts, and NO free or discounted parking for hotel residents! It is bad enough that Melbourne/ Australia is the MOST EXPENSIVE places to visit/live. This made matters worse! BUCK UP!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Ancora, Marketing Coordinator at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review K C. I do apologise that we were not able to provide you with an enjoyable stay and we do sincerely appreciate your feedback regarding this. It is not at all acceptable that you were made to feel as though staff were not welcoming or hospitable and I will personally discuss this with relevant management to ensure this is addressed promptly. I am also sorry that you were not made aware of our complimentary newspapers located on the ground floor. We do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family back to Rydges Melbourne so that we are able to provide the exceptional level of service that we pride ourselves on. Please contact me personally prior to booking so that I am able to handle your reservation. Wishing you and your family all the best for new year.

Many Thanks,
Joseph Ancora
Marketing Coordinator
joseph_ancora@rydges.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    868
    489
    172
    94
See reviews for
268
876
160
569
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here overnight when we saw Grease across the road at Her Majesty's theatre. Great location for the theatre- a few hundred metres away. We got a great deal on wotif and whisker the room and bathroom were small (especially the bathroom) it was perfect for an overnight stay. The buffet breakfast had heaps of choices and they layout if the restaurant made it feel less busy that the breakfast at many others.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Ancora, Marketing Coordinator at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for your feedback Gillian. It was very pleasing to read that you enjoyed Rydges Melbourne's close proximity to Her Majesty's theatre (just across the road!) and a number of many other entertainment and sporting venues. It was also great to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable rooms as well as the delicious offerings at the Rise Buffet Breakfast. We do hope to welcome you back to Rydges Melbourne when you are next in town.

Happy new year and best wishes for the year ahead.

Many Thanks,
Joseph Ancora
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

worse place i have ever stayed,apart from an english hotel accross the road, with people fighting, yelling until the early hours.not sound proof windows, street cleaners start at 5 am.
room old, not what booking.com had stated,we were meant to have a spa in the room and a bath.
the fold out bed was like sleeping on a rack, no support, the quilt with the queen bed had more spaces in it than filling, air conditioning was freezing hard to change.
had to ask for tea bags etc we bought our milk as they didnt replace the tiny amount they gave. pool on top,gym = 2 bikes +1 walker

Room Tip: dont go here pick another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosieposie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Ancora, Marketing Coordinator at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review Rosie. It is very disappointing to hear that you were not pleased with your most recent stay with us. I have passed on your concerns regarding room issues to our maintenance team. I will also discuss the housekeeping issues (milk,tea) with our management team as this is not acceptable. Rosie I do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Rydges Melbourne in order to rectify the issues raised on this occasion. Please contact me prior to making a booking so that I can handle your reservation personally. Wishing you all the very best for the year ahead.

Many Thanks,
Joseph Ancora
Marketing Coordinator
joseph_ancora@rydges.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend get away, was nice and close to all Melbourne attractions, only complaint was parking, having to pay to get your car out was annoying, however we utilised public transport, and had an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicity R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Ancora, Marketing Coordinator at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for your review Felicity. It was very pleasing to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. The location of Rydges Melbourne is certainly a big plus and I am glad you were able to experience the great surrounds of the hotel. Regarding car parking, unfortunately the car park is not owned by us (we are just lucky enough to have a car park beneath us) so unfortunately we are unable to change the parking policies, however I will pass this on to car park management for you. We do hope to welcome you back next time you are in Melbourne and wish you all the very best for the year ahead.

Many Thanks,
Joseph Ancora
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netanya, israel
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

After staying at the Rydges World Square in Sydney the expectations were to enjoy a similar
experience in Melbourne.. Regrettably it wasn't the case. Although very well located as well,. a block from Burke street, one of Melbourne CBD'S main streets, and just across from the entrance to the China town it proved that location alone isn't enough. Rooms, at least on the 16th floor where I have stayed were smaller and the bathroom (room # 1613) a cubicle in which the door had to be opened halfway in order to reach the toilet seat.. There was hardly any space to place one's shaving and cosmetics kit.For one night it could be tolerated but when you stay longer it becomes irritating.Believe that the hotel could offer new electronic safes , rather than "old boxes" which necessitate carrying additional key+holder and warning that loss of same carries a fine..Breakfasts were decent though. Free Wi-Fi limited to the lobby.

limited to the lobby.

Room Tip: If you are not happy with room just insist of being relocated. A couple in group did so and was move...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Ancora, Marketing Coordinator at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for your your review David. It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed the hotel's central location and close proximity to a great selection of eateries and entertainment venues. We appreciate your feedback regarding the room size. We have recently renovated a selection of our suits and hope to welcome you back in the near future to enjoy a more spacious room. Thanks again for your review and wishing you a happy and safe new year.

Many Thanks,
Joseph Ancora
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Great service, friendly helpful staff. Totally enjoyed our stay. Breakfast is like the continental buffets breakfasts in good hotels in Bali. Fresh, lots to choose from, great coffee,
Rooms spotless, have all you need without microwave oven. Very comfortable bed. Slept all Night...
Restaurant staff friendly and compliments to the chef.
In all, could not fault. Will be our choice of places to stay in the future.
Well done Ridges Hotel. Thank you.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank jeanetteBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Ancora, Marketing Coordinator at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for your very positive feedback Jeanette. It is great to hear that your recent stay with us was a very enjoyable one. I will certainly pass on your compliments to both the Chef and his team as well as the hard working Restaurant staff. We do hope to welcome you back to Rydges Melbourne in the near future.

All the best for the year ahead.

Many Thanks,
Joseph Ancora
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We stayed at the Rydges in October 2013 and the I am convinced the professional pictures provided by Rydges on this site, do not reflect the property I stayed at. The property is "ok" but very dated (specifically, the bathroom). The bathroom had a funny smell to it- luckily, the smell did not exist in the room itself. The lobby is small but nice. The bar staff were incredibly nice. We were in Melbourne over a weekend so the parking was free... which was a bonus. There are very few restaurants in walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#37 of 160 in Melbourne
1,723 reviews
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 160 in Melbourne
2,228 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#9 of 160 in Melbourne
1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#76 of 160 in Melbourne
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Melbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Property: Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Address: 186 Exhibition St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#73 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Melbourne Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Melbourne is conveniently located in Melbourne's CBD, in the heart of the Theatre precinct on Exhibition street. With over 290 guest rooms and 70 suites. Rydges Melbourne is home to Locanda Italian Steakhouse Restaurant and Bar, featuring the best steaks from nearby Yarra Valley, an good variety of pastas and other mouthwatering options. Located in close proximity to Bourke Street Mall shopping, a block away from the Paris End of Collins Street boutiques and in walking distance to Rod Laver Arena and the MCG, Rydges Melbourne is a great choice if you are wanting everything at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Rydges Melbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing