We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fantastic Staff - Room Awesome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Ranked #78 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
west australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic Staff - Room Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We checked in at 1am and everything was handled with speed and a nice smile,nice to see at that time of the morning. We had a queen suite it was fantastic clean and bathroom huge unlike some in melbourne,Bar fridge was well stocked,and lovely toiletries supplied. Bed was really comfy,we did have a drink in the bar but did not eat there as we were all ready committed. Thank you for a memorable stay.

Room Tip: suite 408 was quiet and away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazzaWestAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Ancora, Marketing Coordinator at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your extremely positive review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at Rydges Melbourne and the friendly service provided. It is fantastic to hear that the room and bathroom met your expectations, the suites certainly are spacious! We hope to welcome you back next time you are in Melbourne.
Many Thanks,
Joseph Ancora
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    766
    444
    151
    83
See reviews for
215
760
140
494
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel as we were going to the Grand Final. (Fremantle you won on the ground but not on the score board ).Staff were friendly. Room was comfortable. Close to bars and restaurants. Also near China Town. Didn't use any of the facilities or restaurant/bar within the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CWGSperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Ancora, Marketing Coordinator at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed Rydges Melbourne's close proximity to the MCG and other sporting and entertainment centres. We hope to welcome you back in the near future so that you are able to enjoy the fantastic dining and leisure services that the hotel offers.
Many Thanks,
Joseph Ancora
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bairnsdale, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Easy to get to when driving from East Gippsland. Handy to MCG, City Centre, Chinatown and Melbourne Central. Onsite parking. Loyalty scheme that is worthwhile, can accrue free night quite quickly. Easy walking distance to Fedearation Squre and Exhibition Building. Parking charges seem a bit erratic though.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa_Parker_Rydges, Executive Assistant Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to see you enjoyed the convenient location of the hotel. Our loyalty program is fantastic as it gives you immediate rewards and savings and best of all it's free! I hope you took advantage of the complimentary late check out whilst you were here.
I will follow up with our front desk team regarding your comment on the car parking charges. They should not be inconsistent.
We look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camperdown, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

we loved the room for our family of 5, very large heaps of room and we felt like we could stay a week. the pool is great my kids loved it. its just a stroll to the MCG which is why we stayed here. on our sleep we found lots of noise of the street, and it was hard to sleep. Staff are very friendly and i would recommend the hotel, just not sure if i would stay again in the premier spa suite.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abbeymay0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa_Parker_Rydges, Executive Assistant Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thanks for the great feedback. We love having families in the hotel. Our premier spa rooms are ideal for families who need a room with lots of space. The rooftop heated pool is perfect to entertain the kids especially when we have such amazing Spring weather as we've just had.
I'm sorry you found the room noisy and had a disrupted sleep. I will ask our Maintenance Manager to inspect the Premier Spa rooms.
It is pleasing to read our staff were friendly. We regularly receive great feedback on their friendliness and willingness to help.
We look forward to welcoming your family back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel is in an ideal location. The real is an inviting fireplace that is perfect to enjoy a wine near in the big comfy chairs. The breaky buffet was perfect with fresh juices and omelets made to order as part of the buffet deal. Adding to this, the staff are so very friendly and pleasant. The only negative thing is that rooms can be very noisey. I was woken around 5.30 each morning by rubbish trucks. Given that I was there working, it made for a tiresome day at the office. I suggest raising this at reception to ensure you are not located in one of the noisier rooms. It is a perfect place to stay otherwise. Ignore my comment about the spa. I just can't seem to remove the highlighting from it that I accidentally clicked on to. :)

Room Tip: I suggest checking to ensure you don't get a room affected by the early morning rubbish trucks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa_Parker_Rydges, Executive Assistant Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. A wine by the fireplace is a very popular choice with our guests. It certainly is a relaxing way to spend your downtime after work.
I'm pleased you enjoyed our amazing breakfast buffet. There are plenty of healthy choices to start your day.
I'm sorry you experienced noise from the garbage trucks early in the morning. Whilst we cannot control our neighbours rubbish collection times, we have changed our pick up time to 6am in the hope this will minimise sleep disruption to our guests.
We look forward to seeing you back by the firplace in the near future. (Although it's spring, it is still Melbourne)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at the Rydges Melbourne Hotel for six nights - check in very quick - no time at all we were in our room. Room very well equipped with everything you could possible want - even a washing machine.They had a really well equipped gym, swimming pool, sauna.
Breakfast in the hotel was really great value - only 20 dollars each for a really good selection of quality food.
The restaurant staff were so friendly and helpful . Fruit was left in the lobby for guests to help themselves.
Great selection of shops nearby, everything very central. Bus station very close - went to Bondi Beach from there. Very quick cheap travel. Also went on the free hop on buses - great way to get around and see as many places as possible.

Room Tip: We were on the 17th floor but could still hear the traffic - I think it would be a problem if you ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan and Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa_Parker_Rydges, Executive Assistant Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
It's great to see such positive comments from a Senior Contributor. We're pleased your stay with us was fantastic.
Our facilites are wonderful and our restaurant staff are a cheery and helpful team. The extensve offerings on our breakfast buffet certainly would have been a great start to your day of sightseeing.
The location of the hotel would have been one of the greatest advantages of your stay. As you mentioned you are in the centre of the city with all tourist attractions and shopping at your doorstep.
We hope you come back to see us when you next return to Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Room rates here vary massively and I have stayed here many times when they are not at a premium. The suites start from just over $200 p/n which is really good value and most seem to have been refurbished recently. I haven't stayed in the standard rooms as the price difference when I have used this place has always been around $30-40 p/n. The bar here is good and attracts a number of people for pre theatre drinks which helps give it some atmosphere. The lunch (bar) menu is reasonable but the dinner menu seems overpriced. There are lots of fantastic places to eat in Melbourne so would suggest stepping outside the hotel for food and experiencing Melbourne. Some fantastic restaurants around the lane ways.
Hotel staff are helpful and really friendly. Nice Lobby with a fireplace and sofas for those colder months. I would recommend the higher floors and away from the bins as they seem to get emptied around 4am which can be a painful if you end up on the wrong side of the building. Breakfast is really good if you can get it included in the room rate otherwise again I'd step outside the hotel and try the local options given the price.

Room Tip: Join their priority club. It's free and gives you an instant 10% discount. It also entitles you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa_Parker_Rydges, Executive Assistant Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thanks for your review. It's great to see you are a regular guest having stayed in our refurbished suites. The room rates do vary depending on room availability and special events in the city. I'm pleased you see value for money in our suite prices.
Our food and beverage offerings are of high standard to compete with our neighbours. You will find our dinner menu includes the best local produce available but still offers great value for money. You can't go past the breakfast buffet with such a large variety of healthy and indulgent options.
I'm pleased you found our staff to be friendly and helpful.
We have changed our rubbish collection time to 6am to minimise sleep disruption to our guests.
We look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#39 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Chinatown
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
#95 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,855 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#36 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,672 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#11 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Rydges on Swanston Melbourne
#97 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Melbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Property: Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Address: 186 Exhibition St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#74 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Melbourne Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Melbourne is conveniently located in Melbourne's CBD, in the heart of the Theatre precinct on Exhibition street. With over 290 guest rooms and 70 suites. Rydges Melbourne is home to Locanda Italian Steakhouse Restaurant and Bar, featuring the best steaks from nearby Yarra Valley, an good variety of pastas and other mouthwatering options. Located in close proximity to Bourke Street Mall shopping, a block away from the Paris End of Collins Street boutiques and in walking distance to Rod Laver Arena and the MCG, Rydges Melbourne is a great choice if you are wanting everything at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rydges Melbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing