We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As expected. No Complaints”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Ranked #84 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Our room on the 22nd floor had a decent view of the surrounding buildings.

The room was reasonably priced and as expected. Clean enough, adequate amenities and comfortable.

The staff were very pleasant and greeted you with a smile and more than wiling to help.

The building is showing its age as is the room. However the furniture appeared to have been updated recently.

Our accommodation included buffet breakfast at the downstairs restaurant. The breakfast was pleasant and food was reasonable. No complaints at all but nothing to rave about.

Overall the stay was pleasant with no major complaints. Staff and service was fantastic but the building and rooms showing its age and could do with a refurbishment.

In terms of location, the hotel is well located close to the theatre and china town precinct. The nearest railway station is Parliament with access to the City Loop. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the City Circle Free Tram also near the parliament building. There are nearby places to eat and the Melbourne CBD Centre is a short 10 minute walk.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ethornton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa_Parker_Rydges, Executive Assistant Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

What a great view it is from the 22nd floor! The heated rooftop pool above level 22 is also pretty impressive.
Thank you for your feedback about the condition of the rooms. We have been refurbishing the rooms over the past twelve months.
I'm pleased you enjoyed the buffet breakfast, convenient location and most importantly, our fantastic service staff. They really do make a difference to your stay!
See you again when you're back in Melbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,556 - 1,562 of 2,327 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

A good value room in a good location. A clean room with a good sized desk to get your work done. Rooms are quiet and bed is comfortable. The lobby is quite welcoming too, especially in winter since there is a nice fireplace. As an added bonus, the hotel offers complimentary access to Fitness First, so if you are gym junky like me, a good workout is only 5 minutes away. Unfortunately, they haven't updated their guest services book to inform you that you must get an access card from the front desk to enter the gym. So I got a little extra exercise walking all the way to the gym, only to walk all the back to get this card!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chigroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at the Rydges Melbourne hotel last weekend. The prices were accelerated due to some events on in Melbourne so it was quite an expensive weekend.

The room itself was average, the bathroom design was silly and it was a squeeze to fit into the toilet (I am quite a small person too). We had constant issues with the shower and bathroom tap as the water seemed to spurt out in chunks.

We waited at least 15 minutes to get the lift each time we used it - most times there was a huge line up.

The breakfast bar was terrible, at least a 15 minute wait to get to the hot food, and you had to wait to get a glass to pour yourself a drink and find cutlery. Then you had the challenge of trying to find a place to sit. The barista also needs a lesson in customer service as a smile goes a long way.

I must say the location is great in the city. The hotel needs to sort out the service issues with the restaurant and the lifts it would be a big improvement.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mazzerat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa_Parker_Rydges, Executive Assistant Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

How lovely is it to walk into the foyer and sit by our fireplace on a wintery Melbourne day!

We regularly receive positive feedback on our Rydges Dream Beds (so much so, we are now selling them to guests). It's vitally important as a hotel to ensure sleep satisfaction is paramount. Sounds like you needed it after your double work out!

I will follow up with our Housekeeping team as to why your compendium did not advise of our Fitness First arrangement. I apologise for the added exercise.

Hopefully we'll see you again in Summer. You may not need the fireplace but the rooftop pool more than compensates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

First two nights were good, and even though clean and tidy, the rooms are in dire need of up-dating and refurbishing. Bathroom was tiny and furniture old and tired. Good central location and convenient to most of the City or public transport. Had it not been for the third night, which was my last. where a fire sprinkler was activated on the floor above and water began pouring through the ceiling of my room and the chaos that ensued, I would have enjoyed my stay a lot more and probably given a higher rating. This happened late at night and there were not enough staff on at this time to assist those who were affected and luckily for me, the fire crew were on my floor and helped me retrieve my belongings as the room was in total darkness and water coming through the ceiling from all angles. I was moved into a suite for that night however the Duty Manager on at the time seemed way out of his depth to handle the whole situation and acted more like he was inconvenienced and not the guests. A shame really as other staff were fantastic, friendly and helpful. Probably wouldn't stay here again as a result.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa_Parker_Rydges, Executive Assistant Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Thank you for reviewing us Paul. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us up until the fire sprinker incident. I apologise for the inconvenience caused to you on the third night. I am happy we were able to move you up to a suite for the night but appreciate the unsettling nature of the event. Thankfully we did not have to evacuate the whole hotel!
I'm sorry you did not feel our Duty Manager was empathetic to you on the night. Rest assured, he had our guests' safety as his priority. Working with the fire brigade and minimising guest inconvenience was his focus.
It is a shame this incident has soured your stay. I do hope you remember how fantastic, friendly and helpful all the other staff were and return to stay with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had the premier spa suite for 7 nights, was a lovely relaxing stay overlooking Melbourne CBD. The staff at the desk were incredibly helpful with any Question we asked about getting around and dining out with no problems. It was a wonderful experience and I would highly recommend itit if you do travel, you consider Rydges for a home away from experience without the .stress

Room Tip: Premier Spa Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa_Parker_Rydges, Executive Assistant Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Hi Mike,

I'm glad you had a relaxing stay in our Premier Spa Suite for 7 nights. A week away should be stress free!
I will pass on your feedback to our Front Office team. They do a fantastic job and are so passionate about our guests and Melbourne.

We look forward to seeing you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I stay here every month when I am in Melbourne on business and love it. One of the main reasons is that the staff all have gorgeous big smiles, whether it is at reception, in the dining room or housekeeping. The fresh apples near the entrance are a treat as is the huge gas fire in the cosy corner where you can sit and relax with the morning paper. Ann P

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa_Parker_Rydges, Executive Assistant Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Thank you for your review Ann.

It is wonderful to read such positive feedback on our staff. We invest heavily in recruiting and training our teams to ensure they deliver exceptional customer service. The secret is they actually do love their jobs and it shows!

We look forward to seeing you reading your paper by the fireplace in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We went to pink in melbourne and needed accomodation and Rydges had a great deal for 3 nites with breakfast for $149 per night...Awesome, so we stayed for 6...its in the middle of everythink and you can easy catch a taxi or go around the corner and up to catch the city circle tram or walk to Parliament Station....with a clean,comfortable room, bed was excellent as the pillows, staff are extremely helpful and lovely from the front office to the cleaning, to the resturant, everything was excellent. Lots of lovely little resturants, Pescado, spaghetti tree, china town is in the heart of it...do your self a fav and catch the horse and cart around at night, people love it, we ran out of time ......but we will be staying at the Rydges when in Melbourne....thankyou Rydges Melbourne, job well done....xxxps.....breakfast is very yummy

Room Tip: speak to staff about deals.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 22jenny22_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa_Parker_Rydges, Executive Assistant Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Booked for three nights and stayed for six! We really must have made a great impression on you.
Our location is pretty impressive with the array of restaurants, proximity to public transport and walking distance to see the amazing P!NK at Rod Laver Arena.

I'm glad all of our staff were friendly and helpful to you throughout your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#37 of 161 in Melbourne
2,452 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#38 of 161 in Melbourne
1,848 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#11 of 161 in Melbourne
1,613 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 161 in Melbourne
8,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Melbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Address: 186 Exhibition St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#77 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $107 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Melbourne Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Melbourne is conveniently located in Melbourne's CBD, in the heart of the Theatre precinct on Exhibition street. With over 290 guest rooms and 70 suites. Rydges Melbourne is home to Locanda Italian Steakhouse Restaurant and Bar, featuring the best steaks from nearby Yarra Valley, an good variety of pastas and other mouthwatering options. Located in close proximity to Bourke Street Mall shopping, a block away from the Paris End of Collins Street boutiques and in walking distance to Rod Laver Arena and the MCG, Rydges Melbourne is a great choice if you are wanting everything at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rydges Melbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing