We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great quality rooms and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Ranked #86 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Whilst hotel looks a little tired from the outside, the rooms have been refurbished recently and are in great condition. We stayed in a suite with a fold out couch and a queen size bed, separated by a partition wall. The room was very large, and each section had its own TV. Hotel staff were very helpful during our stay, including giving me a free coffee whilst I did some work in the lobby before the family woke up. Well located for top end of china town or a visit to Mrs Parmas.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Harrison-act
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Appreciate the feedback, the newly refurbished suites are perfect for a midweek corporate traveller or families like yours looking for a little extra space. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,610 - 1,616 of 2,362 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in a Deluxe room. It was quiet and well appointed. The beds were comfortable and it was nice to come back after a hard days shopping and find the room tidied. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 45Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thanks for taking the time Anna to share your experience. Central we are, great for what ever your need to be in Melbourne for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

A lot of hotels are on a par with the rooms, location, breakfast etc. What made our stay here at Rydges so enjoyable was the great service. We had already booked an Exec King Room, but were delighted to be upgraded to a Queen Room with Spa. Check in and out was great, and fast! and the front of staff were delightful, we were made to feel like visiting Royalty. Fantastic location, as I wanted to go to the Royal Exhibition Building the next day and it was well within walking distance. Close to the CBD as well and Her Majesty's Theatre is across the road. I quite liked the room layout and the two way entry into the ensuite. Overall very pleased.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thanks for your feedback Angela, glad we had the opportunity to make you feel like 'Royality'. Service is key and we certaiunly do pride ourselves on it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed there for 9 nights in June with the wife and little one in a Executive King Room. I Requested a room away from the lifts and as high as possible to try to eliminate some of the city noise. Also requested a microwave in the room for the little one. Nothing was too much trouble when booking.

Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly staff and the check-in process was seamless.

Location: Fantastic location, close to Bourke St Mall and the free city tram stop is only a block away. Great location if you like Asian food aswell :-)

View: Awesome view overlooking Parliament house and out to the Dandenong Ranges.

Room: Quite large and well fitted out with modern enough TV and Furniture, although in need of an upgrade in the not too distant future.

Bed: Very Comfortable. Would buy one if I knew where to purchase them from.

Cleanliness: Needs work. Mould in the bathroom and Dust everywhere. Sheets were also quite dirty aswell.

Bathroom: Small and cramped and like mentioned on the dirty side. Also the gap between the toilet, wall and shower was very small. Felt like I was on a portaloo at times.

Housekeeping: Efficient enough and the room was always made up upon room (even after short trips). Too noisy though during the night. Our room was located next to a store room and they were clunking around at all hours of the night oblivious to the their trying to sleep.

Parking: Cheap enough at $20 odd a night. The friendly staff down the carpark made getting the car out a breeze.

Facilities: Pool and Spa were undergoing refurbishment so can't comment. Maybe next time!!

Staff: Most were very friendly and helpful, however on the one occasion the front desk was unattended and a group of employees were standing around near their staff entry talking. A male staff member looked over, seen me standing their and totally ignored me. It took another staff member a good 3-4 minutes to attend to me. First rule of customer service: Don;t ignore the Customer!

Overall: Pleasant stay, great location and cheap enough rate per night means I would possibly consider another stay if the right deal was on offer at the time of travel.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the lifts. I had a Eastern corner view with great views of Parliament House...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brettg1719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thanks Brett for sharing a very good review of all aspects of your stay. Certainly a few areas that need attention but in the main it sounds like you had a great experience. The beds certainly are for sale. As it's hard to identify your contact details of your stay from your Tripadvisor profile, feel free to call Julian at the hotel if you wanted to access the great prices we have available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Rydges is a typical business hotel and nothing special that sets it apart. The room we were in was exceptionally tiny and was very disappointing. Again, expensive wifi room rates but at least you could log on in the bar. The breakfast was fab though and the staff were very helpful

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thehonestreview1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Appreciate your feedback Paul. The hotel is full most weekends of the year so we also have a high volume of leisure guests stay with us. The property, service and it's location to everything you'd want to do in Melbourne makes us a great choice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Small rooms and tiny bathroom. Modern but worn out lobby playing jarringly loud music - all the time. We booked this hotel specifically to try the Dream bed. Ugh, my 16yr old mattress at home gives me a better night's sleep. Breakfast buffet tired and cold. And again with the loud music. Maybe the hotel has more appeal for the 20 something crowd. Staff and service good. Despite a good pricing deal I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cupcakemia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

I'm disspointed to read the reference to backpacker, you must have stayed in some really nice ones along your travels. I'm disspointed to also read about your dream bed experience, I'm actually just in the process of selling one to a guest who listed a great review about our Dream beds only 3 days after yours. Anyway thanks for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We've had a really good stay here - with a very spacious room (probably the largest room I've had to date but I think our room was larger than others) and excellent view of the parliament and beyond. When we arrived our room wasn't ready so they gave us vouchers for free drinks. We also had a personal handwritten card to welcome us to the hotel.

Excellent housekeeping - there were a few days when I was sick and we stayed in before going out and when we got back our room was cleaned. Their housekeeping service is second to none and work until really late.

Breakfast buffet was good with a wide range of selection.

Location is excellent - close to Bourke Street and Collins Street where most of the trams are, directly across Chinatown and Parliament station (about a 5 minute walk), 10 minute walk to Melbourne Central.

Room Tip: If you want a the larger rooms, pick ones at the far end of the building (Parliament side) but I'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebeccaDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thanks for the feedback Rebecca. Sounds like you still managed to have a great experience although sick on a few mornings. Hope you are feeling all better now.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#50 of 161 in Melbourne
4,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#35 of 161 in Melbourne
2,551 reviews
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#37 of 161 in Melbourne
1,905 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#13 of 161 in Melbourne
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Melbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Address: 186 Exhibition St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $116 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Melbourne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Melbourne is conveniently located in Melbourne's CBD, in the heart of the Theatre precinct on Exhibition street. With over 290 guest rooms and 70 suites. Rydges Melbourne is home to Locanda Italian Steakhouse Restaurant and Bar, featuring the best steaks from nearby Yarra Valley, an good variety of pastas and other mouthwatering options. Located in close proximity to Bourke Street Mall shopping, a block away from the Paris End of Collins Street boutiques and in walking distance to Rod Laver Arena and the MCG, Rydges Melbourne is a great choice if you are wanting everything at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Rydges Melbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing