We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Ranked #86 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2013

A lot of hotels are on a par with the rooms, location, breakfast etc. What made our stay here at Rydges so enjoyable was the great service. We had already booked an Exec King Room, but were delighted to be upgraded to a Queen Room with Spa. Check in and out was great, and fast! and the front of staff were delightful, we were made to feel like visiting Royalty. Fantastic location, as I wanted to go to the Royal Exhibition Building the next day and it was well within walking distance. Close to the CBD as well and Her Majesty's Theatre is across the road. I quite liked the room layout and the two way entry into the ensuite. Overall very pleased.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thanks for your feedback Angela, glad we had the opportunity to make you feel like 'Royality'. Service is key and we certaiunly do pride ourselves on it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,563 - 1,569 of 2,312 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed there for 9 nights in June with the wife and little one in a Executive King Room. I Requested a room away from the lifts and as high as possible to try to eliminate some of the city noise. Also requested a microwave in the room for the little one. Nothing was too much trouble when booking.

Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly staff and the check-in process was seamless.

Location: Fantastic location, close to Bourke St Mall and the free city tram stop is only a block away. Great location if you like Asian food aswell :-)

View: Awesome view overlooking Parliament house and out to the Dandenong Ranges.

Room: Quite large and well fitted out with modern enough TV and Furniture, although in need of an upgrade in the not too distant future.

Bed: Very Comfortable. Would buy one if I knew where to purchase them from.

Cleanliness: Needs work. Mould in the bathroom and Dust everywhere. Sheets were also quite dirty aswell.

Bathroom: Small and cramped and like mentioned on the dirty side. Also the gap between the toilet, wall and shower was very small. Felt like I was on a portaloo at times.

Housekeeping: Efficient enough and the room was always made up upon room (even after short trips). Too noisy though during the night. Our room was located next to a store room and they were clunking around at all hours of the night oblivious to the their trying to sleep.

Parking: Cheap enough at $20 odd a night. The friendly staff down the carpark made getting the car out a breeze.

Facilities: Pool and Spa were undergoing refurbishment so can't comment. Maybe next time!!

Staff: Most were very friendly and helpful, however on the one occasion the front desk was unattended and a group of employees were standing around near their staff entry talking. A male staff member looked over, seen me standing their and totally ignored me. It took another staff member a good 3-4 minutes to attend to me. First rule of customer service: Don;t ignore the Customer!

Overall: Pleasant stay, great location and cheap enough rate per night means I would possibly consider another stay if the right deal was on offer at the time of travel.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the lifts. I had a Eastern corner view with great views of Parliament House...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brettg1719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thanks Brett for sharing a very good review of all aspects of your stay. Certainly a few areas that need attention but in the main it sounds like you had a great experience. The beds certainly are for sale. As it's hard to identify your contact details of your stay from your Tripadvisor profile, feel free to call Julian at the hotel if you wanted to access the great prices we have available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Rydges is a typical business hotel and nothing special that sets it apart. The room we were in was exceptionally tiny and was very disappointing. Again, expensive wifi room rates but at least you could log on in the bar. The breakfast was fab though and the staff were very helpful

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thehonestreview1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Appreciate your feedback Paul. The hotel is full most weekends of the year so we also have a high volume of leisure guests stay with us. The property, service and it's location to everything you'd want to do in Melbourne makes us a great choice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Small rooms and tiny bathroom. Modern but worn out lobby playing jarringly loud music - all the time. We booked this hotel specifically to try the Dream bed. Ugh, my 16yr old mattress at home gives me a better night's sleep. Breakfast buffet tired and cold. And again with the loud music. Maybe the hotel has more appeal for the 20 something crowd. Staff and service good. Despite a good pricing deal I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cupcakemia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

I'm disspointed to read the reference to backpacker, you must have stayed in some really nice ones along your travels. I'm disspointed to also read about your dream bed experience, I'm actually just in the process of selling one to a guest who listed a great review about our Dream beds only 3 days after yours. Anyway thanks for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We've had a really good stay here - with a very spacious room (probably the largest room I've had to date but I think our room was larger than others) and excellent view of the parliament and beyond. When we arrived our room wasn't ready so they gave us vouchers for free drinks. We also had a personal handwritten card to welcome us to the hotel.

Excellent housekeeping - there were a few days when I was sick and we stayed in before going out and when we got back our room was cleaned. Their housekeeping service is second to none and work until really late.

Breakfast buffet was good with a wide range of selection.

Location is excellent - close to Bourke Street and Collins Street where most of the trams are, directly across Chinatown and Parliament station (about a 5 minute walk), 10 minute walk to Melbourne Central.

Room Tip: If you want a the larger rooms, pick ones at the far end of the building (Parliament side) but I'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebeccaDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thanks for the feedback Rebecca. Sounds like you still managed to have a great experience although sick on a few mornings. Hope you are feeling all better now.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The hotel is well located on the eastern edge of the CBD, giving easy access to Melbourne's main sights and just a block away from the tourist tram route. Rooms were on the small side and ours did not have an in-room safe. We also had a small shower room with a curtain enclosure that didn't reach the floor (so the floor would generally get wet), and insufficient shelf space for toiletries.

There is a public car park under the hotel which hotel guests can use. We found space (despite the hotel and city being busy thanks to the Lions tour), but had to leave keys with the staff on one of the nights so they could double park and shuffle the cars.

We found a number of good restaurants on Little Collins Street, which is near the hotel.

The public areas of the hotel were OK, with a fire in the reception area and a large breakfast room / bar. Food not as good as Brisbane Rydges but better than Rydges World Square in Sydney.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coddfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thanks for your feedback. Sounds like you have stayed in a number of Rydges hotels. We appreciate your support of the brand - thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

As one of the key hotels used in Melbourne to support the Lions Rugby tour in 2013 we saw this hotel operating under slightly extreme circumstances - am pleased to say it coped very well. As with most Rydges this is not a spectacular hotel but reasonably kitted out with most bases well covered. Staff were very pleasant and efficient - not even put off by the seeming hundreds of rugby fans descending upon them.
Excellent location for seeing the sites of Melbourne - close to the rather ramshackle Chinatown but nowhere on the main "tourist trail" is far away.
All in all an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thanks Peter, I trust you also were in Melbourne for the Lions game. It was another great week in Melbourne hosting a big international event. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#34 of 161 in Melbourne
2,414 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#39 of 161 in Melbourne
1,818 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#11 of 161 in Melbourne
1,602 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 161 in Melbourne
8,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Melbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Address: 186 Exhibition St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#77 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $119 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Melbourne Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Melbourne is conveniently located in Melbourne's CBD, in the heart of the Theatre precinct on Exhibition street. With over 290 guest rooms and 70 suites. Rydges Melbourne is home to Locanda Italian Steakhouse Restaurant and Bar, featuring the best steaks from nearby Yarra Valley, an good variety of pastas and other mouthwatering options. Located in close proximity to Bourke Street Mall shopping, a block away from the Paris End of Collins Street boutiques and in walking distance to Rod Laver Arena and the MCG, Rydges Melbourne is a great choice if you are wanting everything at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rydges Melbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing