We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Ranked #77 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
mackay
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed at Rydges recently for 5 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had booked a Queen Suite and upon check-in were upgraded to a King Suite which was greatly appreciated with the extra space and walk-in robe. Even though we were on a lower floor we had no problem with noise etc. We loved the location with so much at our doorstep, Chinatown, theatres and great restaurants, especially Trunk just down the road. The staff were very obliging with all aspects. The only fault maybe was the fact that if the breakfast room was very busy a lot of the hot dishes weren't being refilled quickly.

We will definitely be staying here again soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justjanmky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thanks for the feedback. Hopefully by the next time you are back we'll have the kitchen facilities incorporated into the King Suites, so ideal for that extended stay corporate or leisure stay. Regards Troy Cuthbertson / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    840
    475
    165
    87
See reviews for
251
844
154
547
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mollymook, Australia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is just a standard business hotel, OK rooms are smallish and service is OK. But the location right in Chinatown is fantastic and surrounded but other good restaurants as well.

Well worth a stay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ZN9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Writing these reviews you certainly appreciate the fantastic location we have whether you are here for business or leisure. Thanks for the feedback. Regards Troy Cuthbertson / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

As a regular guest here I love the location of this hotel in the centre of CBD with Theatre land, China Town and Bourke street shopping, literally on your doorstep.
The staff in reception, the bar and also the restaurant are very helpful and friendly.
Negatives are the lack of sound insulation between rooms and corridors and also bathrooms are on the small side.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peteyp999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thanks for the feedback, I'll be sure to pass on your comments about my team. Regards Troy Cuthbertson / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stay often and always appreciate the convenience of the location. Furnishings in the rooms were grubby. Rydges seem to be constantly re furbishing but they obviously have a 'grub' clientele and they need to keep on top of cleaning the upholstery. Great place to stay if you are taking in a show, all major theatres within easy walking distance. You can get a fast snack in the bar, but let them know you are on limited time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farpavilions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thanks for your feedback. Regards Troy Cuthbertson / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This was my first time staying at Rydges in Melbourne and overall I had a nice time. There were a couple of annoying things like the pool and gym being closed for maintenance the whole time. The pool looked nice in the pictures so it was disappointing to not be able to use it. Also we were lucky enough to get a room on the 22nd floor (top level). Rooms were clean but the bathroom was TINY! The toilet is in an awkward position and water pressure on the 22nd floor was a struggle. There was air in the pipes (or some other problem) and the water didn't flow properly. We only stayed one night so I looked past it but if we were staying longer, it would have been very frustrating. There was no where near enough pressure to wash my hair.

But on a positive note, the beds are awesome, the views amazing, the location is great and the hotel lobby has a really fun feel. The onsite restaurant also has a great vibe. We had coffee in the afternoon and it was relaxing. When we got back that night, the bar was thriving. The next morning we had breakfast in the restaurant and it was amazing. All staff were friendly as well - some even making conversation besides the normal routine stuff.

Overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussiegal2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thanks for the feedback about our food and beverage outlets. We acknowledge the importance of this and have been working on it as a group for a few years now - sounds like we are getting it right. Regards Troy Cuthbertson / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Overall, the stay was only ok..
Except for the room.. The room was sooo dusty.. There were other people's hair left in our bathroom floor, bathtub and toilet.. A film of dust coated the bedside table, desk, mini bar cabinet area, floor skirting and the walls..

Other than that.. The staff were nice and friendly..
The lobby area was unique and welcoming..

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mimio86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Really dissapointed to hear your comments about the cleaning standards. This is unacceptable and will be addressed. Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback. Regards Troy Cuthbertson / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

My first experience of Rydges Exhibition Street was a positive experience! Lovely room, fabulous breakfast, wonderfully comfortable bed and very friendly staff!!! Only 2 suggestions for improvement...
1. Please address very noisy air conditioning
2. 1 staff member on front desk at 9am is inadequate ( although another staff member eventually appeared)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WPFJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Great to read you had a positive experience. Regards Troy Cuthbertson / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#37 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Chinatown
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
#95 of 159 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,979 reviews
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#80 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#13 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Melbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Property: Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Address: 186 Exhibition St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#71 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Melbourne Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Melbourne is conveniently located in Melbourne's CBD, in the heart of the Theatre precinct on Exhibition street. With over 290 guest rooms and 70 suites. Rydges Melbourne is home to Locanda Italian Steakhouse Restaurant and Bar, featuring the best steaks from nearby Yarra Valley, an good variety of pastas and other mouthwatering options. Located in close proximity to Bourke Street Mall shopping, a block away from the Paris End of Collins Street boutiques and in walking distance to Rod Laver Arena and the MCG, Rydges Melbourne is a great choice if you are wanting everything at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Rydges Melbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing