We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location - excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Ranked #78 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth
Level Contributor
182 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great location - excellent hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

We were booked into this hotel for six nights in April. We booked some months in advance. On arrival we enquired about an upgrade and were offered a King Spa room for $50 per night which we accepted.
The room was excellent - very spacious and comfortable.
The staff especially Bonnie were terrific. They could not have been more helpful.
We have booked our next visit in July based on our experience of this visit.
I hope they have the AFL channel connected by then.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrickyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Great choice Tricky on the suite with small upgrade fee. The 70 suites we have in the hotel have only just finished being refurbished. They are a great option if you are in Melbourne for as many nights as yourself and are looking for a little extra space. I have also just fired off an email to our Foxtel account manager to look at getting Fox Footy added to the channel selection. Regards Troy Cuthbertson / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    828
    472
    163
    86
See reviews for
246
832
151
538
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon,
Level Contributor
66 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed 3 nights at the Rydges in Melbourne. The hotel was clean and well presented. The bed was very comfortable. Bathroom was awkwardly small. The lobby was not very inspiring but generally it was a good experience and I have no complaints, no problems and a good night sleep.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denirokeane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Appreciate the feedback. A good night sleep is very important and I'm glad that you had that in one of our specially designed Rydges Dream Beds. Regards Troy Cuthbertson / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daylesford, Australia
Level Contributor
256 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 363 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

I spent two nights at this hotel, primarily to attend the ANZAC Day traditional AFL clash at the MCG. Check in and out was seamless and friendly, in fact the staff at reception were even better than my previous visit last year - nothing was too much trouble, which their guests really appreciate. However, I discovered on both nights in my clean, well-appointed room on the 22nd floor, that I could watch Rugby, Golf, Boxing or 70s Cricket, but I could not watch any AFL shows. Melbourne is the home of AFL footy and you would expect your hotel to offer the FOX Footy channel at least - I could have gone to the bar and watched the game on the big screen, but I was tired and didn't want to have to do that. P.S. The breakfast staff have obviously gone to a different training school from reception - they spent their time talking to each other, hovering by tables waiting for diners to eat their last mouthful so they could remove the plates, and looking bored. Meanwhile those of us who hadn't eaten there before found the name cards on the hot dishes were incorrect, we all mistook the cold water thermoses for hot water and made cups of cold tea until we realised our mistakes, we all searched for glasses for juice and tried to master the toasters that can't be manually stopped when the toast starts to burn. These are areas where the breakfast staff could have been helpful!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thanks Karen for sharing your experience, hopefully you were a Bombers supporter for the big ANZAC day clash. I appreciate the feedback on breakfast, I have worked through your comments with our Food & Beverage Manager to ensure the small little issues are addressed. Regards Troy Cuthbertson / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights as part of a mystery tour with Virgin. I'm a really light sleeper so the location did scare me a touch as it's right in the middle of shops and really close to a couple of theatres. I needn't have worried though, the bed and pillows were so comfy I feel asleep immediately each night.
Rooms were very clean and nothing too much for the staff who were always happy and cheerful. Only complaint was that the bath definitely needed replacing

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ohippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thanks for the mention of our awesome staff, I'll be sure to share it with the team. Reads like you had a great 4 nights in Melbourne, glad we could be part of your Melbourne experience. Regards Troy Cuthbertson / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Very convenient to my Melbourne office, theatres and restaurants. Rooms are certainly not new but overall, this hotel is great value for money. Have used the pool and the restaurant facilities and all was good. Am in Melbourne every month or two and stay here more times than not.

Room Tip: The spa rooms a definitely better than the standard rooms and worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thanks Mike sounds like you are one of our many regulars, we appreciate your return business. Look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Melbourne. Regards Troy Cuthbertson / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night in a Delux Queen room recently. The room was spotless, a bit on the small side, but quiet and comfortable. I did think that the room was a bit tired and needed a refurb and then noticed in the elevator that they offered refurbed rooms for an extra $50. So I guess they are in the process of doing them up. However, we got a great deal (approx $140AU with breakfast on a Sat night) so I'm not complaining. The breakfast, by the way, was excellent. The buffett comtained everything you could want and it was nice a fresh and the chef on hand to cook for you was a nice touch. The best thing about this hotel though was the location. Right in the middle of Melbourne's theatre district, and Chinatown, and trams everywhere to take you wherever you need to go.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zedtrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Sounds like you had a great weekend in Melbourne, it's hard not to! As you mentioned the location is perfect for all you want to do for a great Melbourne experience. I'll pass on your feedback to the restaurant team, The breakfast at the hotel is an experience more than a meal to start the day. Regards Troy Cuthbertson / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Nice big room. Cute rooftop pool perfect for late-afternoon dip. Quite walkable to many Melbourne sights. Wish internet was included. Also had issues with the air conditioning continuing to cut out, which made sleeping a little uncomfortable. But overall a good experience...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ash C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thanks for your feedback Ash, great to hear you made time to enjoy the heated roof top pool. Even if you are not up for a dip you get a great view of Melbourne from the 23rd Floor. In regards to internet my recommendation is to sign up FREE to our Rydges Priority Guest membership and you receive not only 50% off internet but 10% off our best available rate, so you end up in front. Regards Troy Cuthbertson / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#38 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Chinatown
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
#95 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,914 reviews
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#76 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#15 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Melbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Property: Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Address: 186 Exhibition St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#71 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Melbourne Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Melbourne is conveniently located in Melbourne's CBD, in the heart of the Theatre precinct on Exhibition street. With over 290 guest rooms and 70 suites. Rydges Melbourne is home to Locanda Italian Steakhouse Restaurant and Bar, featuring the best steaks from nearby Yarra Valley, an good variety of pastas and other mouthwatering options. Located in close proximity to Bourke Street Mall shopping, a block away from the Paris End of Collins Street boutiques and in walking distance to Rod Laver Arena and the MCG, Rydges Melbourne is a great choice if you are wanting everything at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Melbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing