We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“George and Mary visit Melbourne.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Ranked #81 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“George and Mary visit Melbourne.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Well worth the trip to Melbourne. Stay at a clean hotel, close to all your needs and entertainment. Very helpful staff, open plan entry makes one feel at home and at ease, ready to enjoy what is on offer. Rooms are large, tastefully decorated, with a view over the CBD. There are taxis and shuttle buses at the door. Plenty of cafes within walking distance from the front door. Nothing is to hard for the staff, and very courteous. Melbourne. A shoppers delight. A food fanatics pleasure. Plenty to see from this centrally located address in Exihition St. Tram, train and bus services to anywhere in Melbourne.

Room Tip: Close to the tram network (100m), eateries, shops (you have to visit the revamped Myers in Bourke St...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gandmsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Well scribed George and Mary, you have summed the hotel up beautifully. Thanks for taking the time to share your Melbourne experience, sounds like you had a great time. Regards Troy Cuthbertson / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    736
    423
    149
    81
See reviews for
205
726
136
467
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

I've been staying here quite a bit lately for work. So far I've stayed in an executive king room and a a room with two single beds. These rooms are in the older area if the hotel. The rooms are clean and comfortable however the furniture and bathroom are outdated. The vanity and bath have cracking and discolouration of the porcelain. I would not recommend the room service. I've tried it a couple of times and have been disappointed each time. My colleague was in a room in the renovated section, these rooms are mug nicer. Overall the staff are friendly and it's in a great location. I'm quite comfortable there for work but wouldn't stay there for leisure

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meredith24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestonManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts. The first stage of the suite refurbishment program is well underway and the feedback like shared by your colleague has been fantastic. Perhaps look at one of suites next time you are Melbourne, we have some great winter promotions available making the suites very affordable. Regards Troy Cuthbertson General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed during this easter long weekend.The hotel strikes you a bit old looking at the building but it is quite modern from inside. Service is just fantastic. We arrived couple of hours before the checkin time and still we got our room which was a queen suite. As soon as we reached our room we realisee that flush aint working. Maint guys were on site fairly quickly and after asessing the problem we werw straightaway upgraded to a bigger room which was a spa suite. Beds are comfy and rooms excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhavik_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestonManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Great to read the maintenance team get a mention. Thanks for the feedback I'll be sure to pass it onto the team. Regards Troy Cuthbertson General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The Rydges Melbourne has a great location but there is definitely room for some improvement. The rooms are out-dated and the service and house keeping is pretty lax. Don't expect the attention to details that you might expect from other places you might have stayed. It is a basic hotel so if that is what you are after then its an okay place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alasjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestonManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Much appreciated you taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay. My apologies that you felt the housekeeping service was lax. It's feedback like this that assists me in my job so again thank you. Regards Troy Cuthbertson General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This hotel is terrible, the room is the size of a shoe box, and the bathroom is so small, that if you have a shower everything gets wet! I travel to Melbourne lots and always stay at hotel rooms, and this room has been the worst. There is a pool on the roof that is supposed to be heated but is freezing. The beds are so soft you feel you are going to hit the floor. There are so many better hotels in Melbourne CBD for a lot cheaper.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philippa p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestonManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thanks for the feedback Phillipa. Size of bathroom in that room type is something we are considering with proposed upgrade program and with feedback like yours it helps in our planning. Surprised to hear about the bed, generally the feedback is about how can I buy one. Which we do sell to our guests. Regards Troy Cuthbertson General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I have stayed in Rydges Melbourne thrice since Jan'12 and have found this place as nice to stay. The rooms are comfortable and cozy. The hotel has a decent health center as well. The breakfast spread is good and the overall star attraction is the Locanda bar and restaurant with decent Italian food and some good collection of Aussie wines. The location is good as this hotel is closer to Chinatown. Melbourne is known as 'restaurant capital of Australia' and there are a lot of good restaurants in the vicinity. Another point that I liked is that you can connect up to 5 devices on the Wi-Fi in the room. The internet is charged at AUD 18 for 24 hours but if you register (for free) for Rydges Priority Guest program, you'll get 50% off. The hotel also offers one complementary drink per person during your stay.
The staff is warm and friendly. After my stay, I realized that I didn't get 50% discount on the internet due to some billing error. I had to just call up once to the hotel and they reimbursed the due amount in couple of days.
I recommend this hotel specially for business travelers as you can walk to lot of nearby offices, including Telstra on Exhibition Street.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suitcaser-007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestonManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you and great to hear you enjoyed our food & beverage options in the hotel. Our new 'Rise' breakfast concept is undoubtably one of the best breakfast offerings in Melbourne. We understand our offering needs to be good with so many cafes, restaurants and bars right on our door step. Regards Troy Cuthbertson General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Basic hotel, small rooms but well furnished, bathroom a bit small, expensive wi fi, but great location close to the best of everything that melbourne got to offer. Restaurant was very good,service and freshness of food.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 10Buzz66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestonManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Sorry to hear you felt the Wi-Fi was expensive. By becoming a Rydges Priority Guest member which is free to sign up to online or at the hotel gives you 50% off - only $9 for 24 hours. The new upgrade recently completed allows guests to connect up to many devices at any one time. Wi Fi is also FREE in the restaurant and bar. Regards Troy Cuthbertson General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
#93 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 1,722 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#46 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#16 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,234 reviews
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#59 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 783 reviews
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#36 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 3,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Melbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Property: Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Address: 186 Exhibition St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#75 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Melbourne Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Melbourne is conveniently located in Melbourne's CBD, in the heart of the Theatre precinct on Exhibition street. With over 290 guest rooms and 70 suites. Rydges Melbourne is home to Locanda Italian Steakhouse Restaurant and Bar, featuring the best steaks from nearby Yarra Valley, an good variety of pastas and other mouthwatering options. Located in close proximity to Bourke Street Mall shopping, a block away from the Paris End of Collins Street boutiques and in walking distance to Rod Laver Arena and the MCG, Rydges Melbourne is a great choice if you are wanting everything at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rydges Melbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing