We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, very helpful team”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Ranked #83 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Spent 2 nights in Melbourne for work and found Rydges to be a great location, well priced and providing excellent customer service. From the restaurant and bar, to the well furnished rooms and friendly, helpful service, this hotel fits the bill all round. In my checkout rush, I left behind a pair of shoes which the wonderful housekeeping staff despatched to me in an express post bag, and waived the charge!!
Above and beyond the call of duty. Thank you Rydges..!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestonManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thanks for the feedback Chris. Great to hear you had a great experience at the hotel while here on work. I trust the shoes made it home. Regards Troy Cuthbertson General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,597 - 1,603 of 2,273 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

Excellent hotel in a great location. The desk clerk was really good and although there were a number of persons booking in at the time ensured that they were catered for and took me to a seating area and showed me on the street map all the interesting places to go with the time I had spare. This really helped and it is a pity I did not catch his name as I would have liked to put in a good word for him.
Rooms are very well laid out and the beds are so comfortable. I like the the choice of pillows as this makes a big difference in a good nights sleep.
Breakfast is very similar to other high quality hotels. Service is superb
Hotel is very close to the major shops and next to the Chinese quarter. Lots going on around the hotel but the hotel is quiet.
I would certainly return when in Melbourne

Room Tip: High floors to get the views of the City
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlieCobra60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestonManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Looks like you had a great experience in Melbourne, glad we could be apart of it. As you mentioned location is a real plus with the restaurants, theatres, bars, public transport and major sporting venue's on our door step. Look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Melbourne. Regards Troy Cuthbertson General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Ideally located for Business in Melbourne CBD. Walking distance from every office building you are likely to visit; or a short taxi ride (against the traffic flow) to South Yarra. Everything is fresh and modern, except the AirCon Units which are noisy.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlainWanderings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestonManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Great to hear you enjoyed your business travels to Mebourne Alain. Thanks for the feedback on air con units, I've had a couple of these since starting as new GM and you can be assured they are on the hit list of review. Regards Troy Cuthbertson General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I've had a number of opportunities to stay at Rydges Melbourne recently. I feel the hotel provides great value in the way of providing very comfortable rooms (the beds are extremely cosy and a selection of pillows are provided), a great location and a throughly enjoyable food experience. Apart from these factors, the staff are what set this hotel apart. Bonnie at the front desk always goes the extra mile to assist in making my stay as comfortable as possible and Vikas in the restaurant always exceeds my expectations. Both of these employees are an asset to the hotel.

Room Tip: Standard Queen and King rooms have the shower inside the bath tub which I find frustrating. The suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestonManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thanks Tom, both Bonnie and Vikas were rapped to read your feedback about them. Both are fantastic members of the team and well respected. Regards Troy Cuthbertson General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We recently stayed here on a short break to Melbourne. Excellent location to enjoy all the Melbourne has to offer. We decided to upgrade to a newer larger room - it was beautiful, spacious and very comfortable. The Reception staff were all lovely, professional and very helpful. We originally decided to stay here because of the loyalty scheme, but even without that I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Go for the upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenko111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestonManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thanks Karen, looks like you upgraded into one of our newly refurbished suites - good choice. These have only just been finished and are receiving great reviews just like yours. I'll be sure to pass on your positive feedback about the reception team. Regards Troy Cuthbertson General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I loved the service from hotel staff and the hotel's location is good too.
I stayed level 22 with nice surrounding view of Melbourne CBD.
However, I hoped they could fix the toilet flush though. Apart from that toilet flush, I didn't have any bad experience with this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestonManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thanks for the feeback Peter, glad you enjoyed the service and location of the hotel central to all you'd wat to do and see in Melbourne. Thanks for the heads up on the toilet flush I'll be sure to check this has been actioned.
Regards Troy Cuthbertson, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Location central location- close to China town, restaurants and theatre. the hotel room although basic, was very comfortable and clean. When checked in/ out staff were very friendly and made the process very easy. Pricing very reasonable for CBD accommodation and I have no issues with staying there again.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank kym3350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestonManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thanks Kym, glad you had an alround great Melbourne experience and we were able to be a part of that. Regards Troy Cuthbertson General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#38 of 162 in Melbourne
1,788 reviews
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 162 in Melbourne
2,359 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#14 of 162 in Melbourne
1,109 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Chinatown
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
#102 of 162 in Melbourne
2,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Melbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Address: 186 Exhibition Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#74 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $121 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Melbourne Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Melbourne is conveniently located in Melbourne's CBD, in the heart of the Theatre precinct on Exhibition street. With over 290 guest rooms and 70 suites. Rydges Melbourne is home to Locanda Italian Steakhouse Restaurant and Bar, featuring the best steaks from nearby Yarra Valley, an good variety of pastas and other mouthwatering options. Located in close proximity to Bourke Street Mall shopping, a block away from the Paris End of Collins Street boutiques and in walking distance to Rod Laver Arena and the MCG, Rydges Melbourne is a great choice if you are wanting everything at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Rydges Melbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing