We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect weekend getaway in the CBD” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Ranked #81 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect weekend getaway in the CBD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I bought the CityHigh package for a great price for my boyfriend's birthday and we had a great stay on the weekend. Although the staff weren't overly friendly, the complimentary parking was straightforward and we checked in straightaway. We really liked our Deluxe Queen Room - it was a good size and the armchair was a good alternative than having to sit on the bed all the time to watch tv/read the newspaper. The aircon was a godsend (and not that noisy!) given the hot weather and the curtains shut out the light brilliantly (so much so, that we napped on the Sunday until midday!). The bathroom was a little small but as there are two additional mirrors (incl a full length one) in the main room, this wasn't an issue in getting ready for example. We had a great couple of hours by the pool but agree with a previous reviewer that it's a shame we couldn't enjoy a drink up there given the no-glass rule. The included 2 course dinner was really nice, as was the complimentary bottle of house red, but the service was very poor. Gave us something to have a giggle about but given the lovely romantic location, it did take away from the experience. Bed was incredible comfortable, buffet breakfast was amazing and we really appreciated the late checkout of 1pm. Brilliant location and perfect to complement our White Night adventures in the city.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 22nd floor and the aircon unit wasn't noisy. We had a room a decent distanc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PGibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    736
    423
    149
    81
See reviews for
205
726
136
467
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Was extremley dissapointed with the room. Was not good value for money. Website advertises it alot better than it actually is. I stayed in the queen spa suit and website advertises it as huge room with spabath. The room was tiny and really dissapointing. I have stayed at this hotel before in a standard room and the quality of that room was alot better. Really dissapointed i wasted my money

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahgpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
349 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 634 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Although the hotel is near the tram, it's already close to everything - business facilities, food, shopping and the theatre. Queen Victoria Markets and chinatown areboth nearby.

The rooms are small, but the beds are VERY comfortable. I stayed in a deluxe queen room, which is probably bottom range but was still well appointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dromomaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great place to stay, cleanliness of the rooms was to a high standard. Bathrooms are fairly squishy but not bothered by it. Great location as it was so easy to get anywhere within the city.
Overall had a great stay and made the weekend for my partner and I that much more special.

Room Tip: Just had a basic queen room had asked for a higher floor as the view is better higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for one night and the hotel was perfectly adequate for that, but the room was quite small and the finishes were a little tired. The airconditioner was effective for such a hot day but noisy. The saving grace was the great location within walking distance of so much that Melbourne has to offer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anne239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great spot to explore Melbourne. We found it safe to walk at night and close to all transport. Chinatown is just around the corner and the Chinabar Signature buffet is a real treat. Great shopping is only a few blocks away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaway2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

More modern than I had expected. A great location, in the middle of the theatres and Chinatown, 5 mins from Parliament station and only 10-15 minutes to walk done to the lanes and Flinders. Great location for taxis or on foot to many local attractions. The local area has lots to eat; great cafes, restaurants and Chinese food is around the corner.

The beds are comfy even for single beds in the twin rooms. All that you would expect for a city trip and business hotel. I would return if I needed to be in the city, it is all you need for a night or two.

The only feedback is the lack of toiletries; No showergel, only soap and the noisy old Air con wall unit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
#93 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 1,722 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#46 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#16 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,235 reviews
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#59 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 783 reviews
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#36 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 3,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Melbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Property: Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Address: 186 Exhibition St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#75 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Melbourne Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Melbourne is conveniently located in Melbourne's CBD, in the heart of the Theatre precinct on Exhibition street. With over 290 guest rooms and 70 suites. Rydges Melbourne is home to Locanda Italian Steakhouse Restaurant and Bar, featuring the best steaks from nearby Yarra Valley, an good variety of pastas and other mouthwatering options. Located in close proximity to Bourke Street Mall shopping, a block away from the Paris End of Collins Street boutiques and in walking distance to Rod Laver Arena and the MCG, Rydges Melbourne is a great choice if you are wanting everything at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Rydges Melbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing