We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good location but a bit tired” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Ranked #77 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good location but a bit tired”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for one night and the hotel was perfectly adequate for that, but the room was quite small and the finishes were a little tired. The airconditioner was effective for such a hot day but noisy. The saving grace was the great location within walking distance of so much that Melbourne has to offer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anne239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    766
    443
    151
    83
See reviews for
215
760
140
492
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great spot to explore Melbourne. We found it safe to walk at night and close to all transport. Chinatown is just around the corner and the Chinabar Signature buffet is a real treat. Great shopping is only a few blocks away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaway2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

More modern than I had expected. A great location, in the middle of the theatres and Chinatown, 5 mins from Parliament station and only 10-15 minutes to walk done to the lanes and Flinders. Great location for taxis or on foot to many local attractions. The local area has lots to eat; great cafes, restaurants and Chinese food is around the corner.

The beds are comfy even for single beds in the twin rooms. All that you would expect for a city trip and business hotel. I would return if I needed to be in the city, it is all you need for a night or two.

The only feedback is the lack of toiletries; No showergel, only soap and the noisy old Air con wall unit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
212 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

The staff at the reception and breakfast were the best. Absolutely polite and professional. The stay was faultless. Check out and check in was proficient and staff was always friendly with a smile. One of them went out of the way (sorry I didn’t ask for his name) to check on a colleague who was not answering his mobile and room phone. All my queries and constant checking were dealt with with a smile (and I did have quite few questions).

I thought the bathroom was a bit cramp but I was happy with the size of the bedroom and the views to the Parliament House and City.

Breakfast was just fantastic. Plenty of choices of items and the fruit juices was a change from the standard ones. Loved the smoothies. Loved that 3 newspapers were available.

Loved the green apples in the lobby. I had ½ price internet as a Priority Guest member.

Location is top notch. Restaurants, cafes, theatres and convenience shops were within seconds away.

I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Love_Life_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Rydges is in a good location very close to China Town, shops and many places to eat. The reception staff are extremely helpful and welcoming and overall the atmosphere of the hotel is very upbeat. The rooms are very comfortable (if a little dated and somewhat noisy) and the breakfasts are good. Overall a very good choice for a visit for work or holiday.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed at Rydges on Monday 18th Feb.

After 2 stays at this hotel my husband and I have decided it to be our home away from home when in Melbourne. We love the location on Exhibition Street. China Town is across the road where there are many places to choose from to eat at. Aside from China Town, there are plenty of other food places to choose from also.

We paid $188 for a basic bottom end queen bed room. The room itself is spacious enough but we find the bathroom to be very small, can live with a small bathroom area though and that would not stop us staying at the hotel again. Bedroom and bathroom both clean which is high on the agenda for us. Bed was very comfortable also.

It was 35 degrees in Melb on Monday and we had a swim in the rooftop pool. It's a nice pool area with a great view out over Melbourne and surrounds. At the doorway and entrance to the pool area there is a sign saying 'no glass'. Can understand some safety reason for not having glass in a pool area but it would have been great to be able to sit at the pool rooftop area and enjoy a beer or two on a hot day.

Our room price incl the buffet breakfast. It's an ok buffet with a fair amount of choice but I wouldn't call it a great buffet. Food is cooked and is left sitting in warmers and the bacon soaks in a pool of oil. The hash browns go soggy being cooked ahead of time. There are healthy muesli and yogurt options to choose from, as well as bread, toast and cheese and pastries to choose. Percolated coffee and pots of tea are available but were a bit on the cold side. Coffee machine coffees are extra but made to order and hot. Free newspapers, The Age, Financial Review, The Australian and The Sun available at breakfast also.

All the staff were lovely at Rydges, easy to get along with and wanting to accommodate without being over the top. I had phoned Monday morning asking to come in about 10am and park the car. Our checkin time was 2pm and I didn't ask or expect an early check in into the room, just wanted to get the car in off the street. Simon who took my phone call said no worries about parking the car and also offered us an early check in time. We were in our room by 10am. (Thank you Rydges)

As earlier mentioned, Rydges for us is our home away from home when in Melbourne.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Bonnie, is always genuinely interested in people always remembers the things that enjoy doing in Melbourne. Ian, who works behind the bar @ Bella Bar is always up for a chat and an awesome conversationalist. I am Qantas crew and love using the crew bike... Thanks for all your consistent effort. Grant Jolliffe

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grantjolliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#40 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
Chinatown
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
#96 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,854 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#36 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,671 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#12 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
Rydges on Swanston Melbourne
#95 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Melbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Property: Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Address: 186 Exhibition St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#73 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Melbourne Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Melbourne is conveniently located in Melbourne's CBD, in the heart of the Theatre precinct on Exhibition street. With over 290 guest rooms and 70 suites. Rydges Melbourne is home to Locanda Italian Steakhouse Restaurant and Bar, featuring the best steaks from nearby Yarra Valley, an good variety of pastas and other mouthwatering options. Located in close proximity to Bourke Street Mall shopping, a block away from the Paris End of Collins Street boutiques and in walking distance to Rod Laver Arena and the MCG, Rydges Melbourne is a great choice if you are wanting everything at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rydges Melbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing