We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rydges Bell St Apartments Preston”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Ranked #74 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Rydges Bell St Apartments Preston”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed 1 night only to attend family function.
Had to wait around an hour for room to be made ready.... Given drink voucher to use while we waited.
Good size fully self contained room but bathroom quite small.
Returned late at night and had to drive around looking for a parking space.
Clean tidy and location was good from Tullamarine airport .
Would stay again .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa_Parker_Rydges, Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Good to see a positive review of our sister property. Rydges Bell City is located north of Melbourne CBD and offers a variety of accommodation options.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    846
    477
    167
    88
See reviews for
255
856
157
553
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Hi David, we are locals and live 2 minutes away from Rydges - your Lemoncello Spiced Daisy Cocktail which used to be on the menu and is no more, is the reason why I don't pop by much anymore. This is my favorite cocktail and I understand that one of your clever bar staff came up with the creation, currently there is only one lovely bartender who knows how to make it (actually he was the only one that ever made perfectly every time when it was on the menu!... I forget his name unfortunately) so if I pop in and he's not around I leave as no one seems to remember how to make this cocktail - if you can't put this lovely drink back on the menu, are you able to please give us the recipe so we can still enjoy at home? Many thanks!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wsyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa_Parker_Rydges, Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
The spiced Lemoncello Daisy cocktail will get you every time! Yes, it's true we did update our Bellbar cocktail menu a few months ago but it's almost due for another overhaul. Our bar staff are all the same so they should all be happy to make this for you. Josephine is in Italy at the moment looking at bars/clubs(purely research) and will no doubt come back full of ideas for new creations. Maybe you will need to make yourself available for some sampling/judging?Otherwise, I'm sure she'll share the receipe with you.

Hope to see you back at the bar very soon!

Kind regards
LISA PARKER
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I got 50% off my booking, very glad did not pay full price. Bathroom was quite bad, cannot swing door fully as bumps into toilet bowl. Very small and quite aged. The rooms air conditioner was quite noisy cutting in an out. General noise level was quite loud seemed like the window was open could hear all sirens etc. Check out app only available for iphone. Have stayed at other Rydges which have menus on tv, was no tv guide. Glad i didn't pay much, wouldn't stay here again. No compliment/complaint forms in room, no local directory food/services etc. Web checkin as usual was pointless. No sauces with in room meals.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 770Dave255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa_Parker_Rydges, Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Wow, sounds like your last visit left a lot to be desired! I'm sorry you encountered a number of issues throughout your stay.
We have various room configurations available with different bathroom layouts. I am happy to update your profile to ensure you are not allocated the same room type again.
Our front desk staff will happily assist in recommending local restaurants and also provide comments cards. Generally an automated post-stay survey is sent to all guests within two weeks of their stay requesting feedback.
We have recently refurbished our suties which are very spacious and might be more suitable to your needs. I hope you consider us for your next visit to Melbourne.
Kind regards
LISA PARKER
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Hill, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Service was lovely and friendly, and the beds are amazing. The room itself, however, was outdated and tiny. The bathroom was tiny, with a discoloured bath (used to be white, now a dirty yellow) with cracked tiles and mould growing around the edges.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notallwhowanderare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa_Parker_Rydges, Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback on our staff. They are indeed a friendly and helpful crew! I'm sorry to read we did not meet your expectations with the room provided. I have followed up with our housekeeping team with regards to your comment on the presentation of the bath.
The Rydges Dream Beds are the most comfortable beds I've ever slept on. I'm glad you enjoyed them too!
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
LISA PARKER
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great location for theatres and fine dining. Located at the classy quieter end of town but right near Chinatown. Rooms are modern and well maintained however they are not overly large. All in all they are excellent value for Melbourne CBD.

Restaurant is very good for either breakfast or dinner.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa_Parker_Rydges, Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Great to see another Senior Reviewer posting positive reviews on our site. We are very fortunate with our location being so handy to everything yet not too noisy in the centre of town.
Our restaurant team will be pleased to hear of your wonderful feedback. They are a passionate crew who genuinely care about the service and products they provide.
We look forward to seeing you in the new year.

Kind regards
LISA PARKER
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Just had three nights in a twin room. Cracks in the wall, cracks in the bathroom sink, bathroom SO small it was difficult to use the toilet!. Dirty air conditioning unit, noise from other air conditioners outside window was unbearable through out the night. Sheets on bed were smaller than matress so kept slipping off bed all night, no cover on doona only single sheet. Hotel was VERY shabby. Did I enjoy my stay?? Not likely. Could not recommend!!! and four star rating is an absolute exaggeration. No questionaire in room to make a comment about the hotel - not surprising!!! Positive note: the hotel is in a very convenient position and front desk staff were helpful!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kabbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa_Parker_Rydges, Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I'm sorry we did not meet your expections on this visit. I'm surprised to read your comments about the cracks in walls etc and will be following up with our maintenance team.

Whilst our twin rooms are not huge, we do have several room options available offering larger entertaining areas.

On a positive note, I'm pleased you found our front office staff to be helpful and the location to be convenient.

I do hope you are able to reconsider us for future visits.

Kind regards
LISA PARKER
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury
1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2012

A comfortable bed, friendly service, very clean and tidy accomodation overall.
It is definiately worth having a drink in the bar downstairs.

Thank you for the great stay. I will see you again next time.

Room Tip: Stay on Level 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeganNZ28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#8 of 159 in Melbourne
1,482 reviews
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#37 of 159 in Melbourne
1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#34 of 159 in Melbourne
2,071 reviews
Chinatown
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
#96 of 159 in Melbourne
2,182 reviews
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#76 of 159 in Melbourne
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Melbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Property: Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Address: 186 Exhibition St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#68 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Melbourne Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Melbourne is conveniently located in Melbourne's CBD, in the heart of the Theatre precinct on Exhibition street. With over 290 guest rooms and 70 suites. Rydges Melbourne is home to Locanda Italian Steakhouse Restaurant and Bar, featuring the best steaks from nearby Yarra Valley, an good variety of pastas and other mouthwatering options. Located in close proximity to Bourke Street Mall shopping, a block away from the Paris End of Collins Street boutiques and in walking distance to Rod Laver Arena and the MCG, Rydges Melbourne is a great choice if you are wanting everything at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Rydges Melbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing