We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Ranked #80 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
NSW
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Having stayed at Rydges North Melbourne property a couple of years ago and finding it in great need of refurbishment I was delighted by the modern facilities offered by this property. Good location, perfect for someone wanting a room to sleep in and the internal restaurant breakfast was more than acceptable. Bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank princess_tatsuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Appreciated the comments from a seasoned traveller and that we were able to meet your expectations with your travel needs. Although Rydges hotels vary from city to city, it is pleasing you have trialled both North Melbourne and our hotel and have enjoyed the facilities we offer our guests in the CBD.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    812
    464
    162
    84
See reviews for
236
809
151
531
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (524)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

decent hotel for 1 or 2 nights. Good location to explore city. Tired hotel, and a bit of an eyesore on the melbourne cityscape. Slept well, but air conditioning from building was quite loud. Foxtel is nice addition. Pool and gym is very basic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ryansharpnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for your critique on the building and the hotel, the property has been around for 40 years so the architecture is by no means modern with the look, however the company did spend substantial cost in upgrading the first two floors on the exterior to modernise the appearance which is generally the limit of height where people are looking when in the CBD. The interior on the ground floor was also upgraded in 2008 to a more upmarket look and feel, there is always things to be reviewed however and we appreciate this is very subjective to taste. The fitness equipment we have installed near the pool is by no means published as a gym, due to space restrictions, it only has a limited level of machines for guests not able to walk the block to Platinum Fitness First where our guests enjoy complimentary access to a full gym and its facilities.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed here for nine long nights. I wanted to move hotels but was here on business and my company wouldnt let me. Reasons why my stay was dissapointing was mainly because cleanliness of room was frankly not up to scratch, fittings were old, and service lacked attention to detail
1) Light bulb in the walk in closet didnt work - I had to ring reception to get it replaced
2) The curtains didnt fit the window! This is quite unbelievable to me. I had to use my own stationary clips to get them to draw fully.
3) The room was not clean. I found peanuts in between the sofa cushios and pantyhose in the closet. The housekeeper should have found these things if the room was being serviced properly.
4) I complained about 1 and 2 to front desk but they were quite slow and unapologetic about this.

Overall the whole hotel is shabby. The bed mattress felt old and springy. My room was north facing near Exhibition St and traffic noise was quite loud (and I am a relatively heavy sleeper). The only nice-ish thing I felt about this hotel was free printing service the hotel offered.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edoflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Very disappointed to read of your unfortunate stay and the lack of attention to detail with the room you were in, I can totally appreciate your feelings in wanting to get out! I have passed this onto housekeeping to review and also spoken with the front office manager to ensure when we get comments from guests encountering these types of issues we handle them correctly and address the problem, in particular if the guest is staying for 9 days as you were. I can assure you we take particular care with training, but it seems we need to focus on this more from what you have stated.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights last week for business. Rooms were very quiet and no traffic noise. The buffet breakfast was awesome (and was included in our room rate), staff very friendly. Hotel was close to restaurants, shopping and public transport. Would stay here again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Was great to see you enjoyed your stay and you found the service and facilities to your liking. The location is very popular for travellers and our new Rise Breakfast has been well received with its freshness and variety we have put together, I hope we see you back with us again

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel twice. The rooms are quite small but clean. However at our last stay I found a bug on the pillow just as I layed down, looked like a cockroach which I was not pleased about. I spoke with a manager who was apologetic. We had dinner at their restaurant which is overpriced for what you get. I had the worse oysters kilpatric, could barely taste anything except tomato on them. We ate quickly and left.
Its at a great location to see the city, theatre etc. Probably one of the best locations. There is plenty of choice for restaurants in the city.
Reception staff were pleasant. Breakfast was very good, pancakes were great.
Our first experience was better than the second. Not sure if I would stay again. Nothing stands out as being exceptionally good, nothing that would really draw me back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMG28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
It was disappointing to read you had an average experience on your recent stay and that there was attention to detail lacking in the cleaning of your room. The food in the Locanda Steakhouse is normally of a good standard and the menu is reasonably priced for the meals. The oysters Kilpatrick are also normally well patronised and the recipe has not changed in the years we have had them on the menu, I can only imagine they did not prepare these properly from your description. The recipe is unique, it’s not the normal bacon and Worcestershire sauce that some restaurants do, however this in itself has been very popular. I will certainly review this with the kitchen. Sorry you generally found the stay underwhelming, but can assure you we do try to make all our guests very comfortable and feel they have had good value for money.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

I generally stay at the Rydges for both business and personal reasons when travelling to Melbourne and have always found the rooms clean and tidy. The bed is very comfortable and while the bathrooms are small they are always clean. I have always found the staff helpful and friendly. The last time I stayed there I left behind a sport shirt that I was particularly fond of. Upon contacting Rydges I was put in contact with Ken from housekeeping. As promised he contacted me when he had found my shirt and then proceeded to express post the shirt back to me without charge. He was very helpful and thorough in recording my details to ensure I received the shirt promptly. I was very impressed with the level of service and Ken's ' can do' attitude . Will definitely stay again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank appycampa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
It was really pleasing to see the procedures for lost property worked and Ken was able to locate your missing item and get it off to you without incident..I can imagine it is always a little anxious when you leave something behind and that you may doubt you will ever see it again. Glad we were able to assist and hopefully see you back with us again...

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Upon reading some reviews I was quite worried on what our experience might be but I have to say I will definitely stay at this Rydges again without any hesitation. Apart from the bathroom being a little on the small side our room was spacious, comfortable and clean with pleasant city views. We were also pleasantly surprised to receive a bottle of red wine to help celebrate a special day. Location is tops as it is walking distance to theatres, shopping and many fine dining restaurants.

Room Tip: If you can get a room on the higher floors very quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pepster57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Was really pleasing you had a positive stay and that any concerns you may have had were unfounded with the experience. I am glad we were able to exceed your expectations with the service and facilities provided and also added to your special occasion with the small gift.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#39 of 160 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,495 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Chinatown
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
#95 of 160 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#37 of 160 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,821 reviews
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#75 of 160 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#16 of 160 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Melbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Property: Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Address: 186 Exhibition St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#74 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Melbourne Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Melbourne is conveniently located in Melbourne's CBD, in the heart of the Theatre precinct on Exhibition street. With over 290 guest rooms and 70 suites. Rydges Melbourne is home to Locanda Italian Steakhouse Restaurant and Bar, featuring the best steaks from nearby Yarra Valley, an good variety of pastas and other mouthwatering options. Located in close proximity to Bourke Street Mall shopping, a block away from the Paris End of Collins Street boutiques and in walking distance to Rod Laver Arena and the MCG, Rydges Melbourne is a great choice if you are wanting everything at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Rydges Melbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing