We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and pleasant staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Ranked #78 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Penshurst
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great value and pleasant staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed one night with my daughter and used parking and tariff included breakfast. All very satisfactory and very good value. Will stay again when next in Melbourne. Parking staff very helpful and breakfast staff also bright and cheery.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank holmes5240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Very pleasing to see you enjoyed the hotel and the services provided. It's refreshing to see that small things like convenience of parking under the hotel, a nice breakfast can make such a difference to a guest experience. Hope we see you back again in the future.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    827
    471
    163
    86
See reviews for
246
830
151
538
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Rydges Melbourne is like a home away from home.
The rooms are well equipped and very clean.
The front of house operates efficiently and the staff are friendly and inviting.
The staff are caring and nothing is too much for them in their pursuit of excellence for the customer.
The food is also excellent.
I highly recommend the Sirloin Steak with pepper sauce.
Overall Rydges Melbourne is a great place to rest your weary bones.
Guest services manager Mr.Sam Ballard is a personable young man who takes a real interest in his guests & their needs.He hits the mark every time.
I highly recommend Rydges Melbourne for your next stay.
Great hotel, great location, great food, great rooms, great customer service.

Room Tip: King executive room is excellent,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
It is always nice to read positive comments on the experience some of our guests have with not only the facilities and location, but the staff interaction and that they have made a sincere effort to help and provide hospitality to our guests. Rydges Melbourne can be seen as a home away from home, in particular to our regulars and I am so glad we had a good impact on your visit to Melbourne.

Sincerely

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

For many years I have chosen Rydges as my preferred hotel chain due to mainly location and what used to be great service. Lately I have been upgrading my rooms just to get a get a decent size bathroom but the rooms on the 9th floor are in real need of an update. When the lift door opens on the 9th floor it looks like a building site with dirty carpet, damaged fittings, and general poor state of the hallways and rooms.
The reception staff are great and extremely helpful but the restaurant and room service are in need of a total overhaul. I have stopped eating in the restaurant and will not take room service again.
With cold food arriving time after time and partial orders for breakfast, what next.
Very disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zbiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Was not good to see the impression you had of our hotel was not great, obviously first impressions of the floor and room being tired doesn’t help, this is will be addressed at the end of this month with an upgrade of all the things you mentioned. It was very concerning to see you didn’t enjoy the food in the restaurant and room service food was either not 100% correct or cold. We generally get very good feedback on the restaurant and I have passed on your comments for the chef and manager to discuss. I hope we may see you back again so we can show things are improving from your last stay.

Sincerely

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
93 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Very centrally located hotel in the Theatre district. Shops, cafe and restaurants all within walking distance including Victoria's Parliamentary buildings just a short block away. Staff were pleasant but could have been more helpful with knowledge of WiFi accessibility. We refuse to pay for WiFi in hotels as we think it should be freely available as it is in so many hotels throughout the world. The room smelt excessively of bleach when we arrived ... don't know why. Comfortable rooms with king- size bed and small bathroom.

Room Tip: Higher stories away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viaggio46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Appreciate the detailed impression on the hotel from a senior reviewer, it goes without saying that most of the positive comments received relate to our location, and the convenience of being able to access most key areas that business or leisure guests come to the city for. There are some great shows coming up in October - Something happened on the way to the Forum at Her Majesty's across the road as well as Potted Potter at the Comedy Theatre. It certainly is a benefit being so central with these amazing theatres nearby. Take on board the comments on the internet; we have recently installed new hi-speed wifi throughout the hotel, its $18 for 24hrs and PGR guests also get up to 50% off this. A lot better than the $29 that was charged in the past. I am sure as trends and demands change, this service will be reviewed as well.

Sincerely

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Location good, service good. Restaurant extremely good. Handy for walking o the MCG, trams, China Town. Could do with a make over tho, getting long in the tooth! Bar lounge has great atmosphere especially or the winning teams fans. Replays were played over and over for the content of fans, well done. Being a Priority Card holder is worth it as well. All good!

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack187497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
It was a really good game, and the atmosphere is generally quite exciting for the Grand Final weekend, even cold weather did not put a dampener on the supporter’s enthusiasm. It was great to see you enjoyed the AFL atmosphere in the bar and without rubbing it in to the Hawks supporters, was not bad to see the repat a few times as well on our plasmas....hope we see you back with us again in the future

Sincerely

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights (3 people). We arrived at 3pm to find that our room was not ready when they are meant to be ready at 2pm. I was informed that they had rung room service and our room was marked as priority. We had to sit with all our belongings in the foyer area waiting and rather than advising us when the room was ready I had to keep checking. Finally at 4pm I asked again and the lady behind the counter checked and it was ready. We got our belongings and headed up to the room to find it had very dirty carpets, unclean sofa bed and the bathroom smelt of smoke.
The next day we headed out early and arrived back in the afternoon to find the room had not been serviced. We weren't too worried about the beds (we did these ourselves in the morning), however I had to ring house keeping to ask them to bring up toilet paper.... pretty sad when they don't even leave a spare roll for 3 people.
Then on check out they tried to charge us for minibar items we had not consumed. The charges were taken off and the front desk said they must have been by the previous occupant! Should they not be checking this so they don't accidentally charge others!!
Overall we received poor service and an unclean room, really the only thing going for this was the location and we had other friends also staying in the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma_S_Aus77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
I can appreciate your frustration in not being able to access your room at 3pm on arrival, it certainly is not the normal standards we try to keep, I can only imagine they were under the pump with the busy Grand Final guest movements and fell behind getting the clean rooms back. I also have passed on your comments to our Guest Service Manager to improve their communication from the reception team when chasing clean rooms, nothing worse than hanging around a foyer and not knowing when you will be able to get up to the room, also gives the impression we are not actioning this urgently as well. It sounds like housekeeping were not on the ball from what you have commented with toilet paper running out, room not being cleaned while you were out etc. I apologise for your experience and assure you it will be discussed with the appropriate managers...

Sincerely

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Every time i visit Melbourne say it be for business or pleasure I have stayed at the Rydges on Exhibition street. And the only thing that kept me coming back was the exceptional service by Samuel Ballard. Always handles business with a smile and looks after me and my friends/colleagues. I recommend this place to anyone visiting Melbourne. The Buffet Breakfast Packs a good punch too !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ash M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Really pleasing to read that some of our key individuals make a difference with guest experience and this could be the reason you would select our hotel over another. We take pride in the guest service culture and if consistent can create a very serious competitve advantage.

Hope we can see you back with us again.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#37 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Chinatown
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
#95 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,914 reviews
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#75 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#15 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Melbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Property: Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Address: 186 Exhibition St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#71 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Melbourne Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Melbourne is conveniently located in Melbourne's CBD, in the heart of the Theatre precinct on Exhibition street. With over 290 guest rooms and 70 suites. Rydges Melbourne is home to Locanda Italian Steakhouse Restaurant and Bar, featuring the best steaks from nearby Yarra Valley, an good variety of pastas and other mouthwatering options. Located in close proximity to Bourke Street Mall shopping, a block away from the Paris End of Collins Street boutiques and in walking distance to Rod Laver Arena and the MCG, Rydges Melbourne is a great choice if you are wanting everything at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Melbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing