We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Ranked #76 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Aust
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We went to Melbourne for the flower show end of March & stayed at Rydges Melbourne. We bought a zoo package which gave us 2 entry tickets to the zoo and also buffet breakfast each morning. Great value, hotel was well located, staff were friendly, helpful & efficient.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Always nice to read a positve experience of someone's stay in particular a senior contributor. The Zoo package has been pretty propular, we will probably be replacing this over winter with the Footy Package as this is very good value as well. Our location in close proximity of the MCG, Rod Laver and only a short ride to Etihad is very benefical for sporting enthusiasts...you can park your car under the hotel and just walk or use public transport to get around the CBD....Melbourne during Autumn and Winter is fantastic!

Regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    857
    483
    169
    92
See reviews for
262
865
159
563
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012 via mobile

Good check-in experience generally but person seemed a bit inexperienced and fumbled a bit. Good thing there was another person behind the desk.

Room was good but nothing out of the ordinary. Tends to be a bit noisey. Can hear next door going to the toilet, which is a little off-putting. Cleanliness is generally. Bed is comfortable.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Colway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Appreciate the comments from a senior contributor who spends their time sharing their reviews of properties with other travellers. The location is a strong point for the hotel, hopefully we will continue to add to the experience to highlight other positives moving forward.

Regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed at Rydges Melbourne for the Easter long weekend! I joined with Rydges Priority club seeing that they had very cheap deals with breakfast. We booked the Queen Deluxe Room with breakfast, it was cheap and we were looking forward too! We arrived at the hotel, the interior is quite nice since im assuming they just went through a renovation. The renovation was done with cutting corners. All the exterior stuff was new but the interior stuff was old and dated! The employees were friendly!
When we arrived to the room, my partner and I actually argued about the fact that the bed looked smaller than a Queen! The bathroom was tiny and the door slams the toilet bowl!
As a test for the bed we actually measured it with the length of the iphone and went accross the bed to find out that the bed was a double bed, to the exact cms! I was extremely dissapointed! They LIED about the room type on the website! Is this even allowed? We ended up sleeping the one night, it was the most uncomfortable sleep i had ever encountered! Therefore the next morning we rang and told front desk and they told us that, that is there queen bed and they may be smaller than the standard size queen bed! How ridiculous! What kind of standards does this hotel have? Anyways we had to upgrade because we couldnt sleep comfortably in the bed, therefore they offered an upgrade for $20 extra night (which should of been for free) for a king room, we had no choice to take it! The king room was so much better, the room was bigger, the bathroom was bigger yet still some furnishings were dated and the air con was extremely noisy!
The breakfast was ok! The croissants seemed they were there for over a week, therefore we gave them a miss! The breakfast is not a massive variety but they do provided products that get you going such as eggs and making your own toast!
We were extremely disappointed and know that we will never ever stay with another Rydges hotel ever again... we were lied too and we had to pay extra for an upgrade!

Room Tip: If you stay here, only take the King room that is the most normal room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hospitality_critic89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
I was very surprised to see your heading and read the details in your review of the hotel in particular highlighting that the Rydges Group were not accurately describing the bed ensembles in the rooms. I have personally gone up with a tape measure not an iphone to ensure that this is accurate, the QUEEN beds in the rooms are 153cm wide x 203cm long, According to Australian standards (copied the table for you below) this is the dimensions of a Queen Bed. A double bed is 138cm wide x 188cm long. You can see all this information if you look on wikipedia, it gives you dimensions of all ensemble sizing around the world as they can differ marginally, however from what I quickly read, the Australian sizing seems the most common.

I hope this may clear this up for you and others who may be concerned about your note, the Rydges Dream Beds have been in our hotels for over 5 years now and are generally very well received by our guests as a very comfortable ensemble for a great nights sleep.


Australian standard mattress sizes.

Single
92 cm × 188 cm (36 in × 74 in)
Single Extra Long
92 cm × 203 cm (36 in × 80 in)
King Single
107 cm × 203 cm (42 in × 80 in)
Double
138 cm × 188 cm (54 in × 74 in)
Queen
153 cm × 203 cm (60 in × 80 in)
King
183 cm × 203 cm (72 in × 80 in)

Regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

been here before but this time was very special.we arrived off an overnite flight and were booked straight in...really appreciated the hot shower..every thing very tidy and very helpful staff

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank molly1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
It's fantastic to see that we hit the mark for your recent stay by being able to get you into a room when you arrived early. Nothing more comforting than to get that home away from home experience and it was certainly rewarding to see my team helped you get relaxed after your journey... I hope we see you back again soon.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Unfortunately stayed here on a Saturday night in a one bedroom apartment. Don't be fooled it isn't a one bedroom when the lounge room is seperated by by a 6 ft dividing wall, My wife and I stayed with our one year old so privacy wasn't possible. For some reason because we booked with one child under two they actually layed out the sofa bed. The sofa bed would have been better off out the front for tip collection. it was like a bumpy pit holed road.

THe staff were very nice but overall the place is tired, carpet very old and stained furniture. Great location however to all you need. Had a similar experience at the near by PAramount which was in worse shape.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sc00ties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
It was disappointing to read of your unfortunate experience at the hotel, the suites are certainly not described as one bedroom apartments and the partition wall as you have described certainly are not designed for noise reduction from the lounge area, more as a visual break between bedroom and lounge. As noted in other notes, the furniture will be going to their final resting place in the near future and we do our best in the interim to offer good value for these rooms when we can. Hopefully your next experience in Melbourne will be more pleasant.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Always stay here on business so when it came to a social trip away, where better to stay in Melbourne. Rooms were modern, clean and tidy and had great night sleeps on the Rydges Dream Bed. Food in the restaurant was sensational and if you feel like a change then the hotel is located near some classy eating holes such as Gingerboy, Longrain and Grossi. Highlight of the stay was the staff (led by Mani - Guest Relations Manager) ...... whether it was at the front desk or in the stylish bar they were always friendly and up for a chat. We relaxed around the pool area on top of the 22nd floor and it was clean with great views over the CBD and surrounds. Great location for footy fans as it's 10 minutes walk to the MCG or if your teams playing at Etihad, you just walk 200m and hop on a tram that takes you straight down Bourke St ....... we'll be back!

Room Tip: For a cooler room in the summer months request to be on the eastern side to avoid the afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Was very rewarding to read your comments and in particular the comments on the team and Mani our Guest Relations Supervisor who has been promoted to Concierge this week in recognition of his excellent attitude to looking after our guests and going above the call of duty to ensure they have a great experience when they are in Melbourne. He is hopefully on the way to be a Michael J Fox 'Concierge', a movie and part back in the early 90s that was inspirational for all of us in the industry on how to look after our guests! I am sure Mani is well on the way to get to the same level..........albeit hustling theatre tickets in the park will not be something I will encourage!

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Lovely staff and an interesting hotel - threadbare carpets and 80's decor on level 7. Don't know about the other floors. Booked on the basis of the promised 'quiet corner room on a high level' but got room 710 with loud street noise and a shared wall with the elevator, which went all night. But the room was large and the bathroom enormous, maybe in an attempt to make up for the noise. But for me all I wanted was quiet so that I could get a good night's rest. I didn't realise about the elevator until I was in bed, so not in the mood to call and ask for a change of room. I will look at other options next time and only wanted to write this to alert those who prefer a quiet hotel that this might not suit.

Room Tip: Insist on the high floor and corner suite as I should have done.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Appreciate the detailed comments on your recent stay at the hotel on level 7, the suite side rooms are scheduled for an upgrade in the coming months with a prototype room being worked on in mid-April which we are all very excited about. It was disappointing that you did not have the rest and found the room noisy and not what you expected. With the upgraded lifts on these floors including the mechanics and lift interiors I am sure they will not have the same issues you have described. The rooms are large and the bathrooms very spacious with separate shower and spa bath.

Regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#37 of 160 in Melbourne
1,672 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#10 of 160 in Melbourne
1,507 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 160 in Melbourne
2,156 reviews
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#75 of 160 in Melbourne
872 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Melbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Property: Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Address: 186 Exhibition St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#71 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Melbourne Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Melbourne is conveniently located in Melbourne's CBD, in the heart of the Theatre precinct on Exhibition street. With over 290 guest rooms and 70 suites. Rydges Melbourne is home to Locanda Italian Steakhouse Restaurant and Bar, featuring the best steaks from nearby Yarra Valley, an good variety of pastas and other mouthwatering options. Located in close proximity to Bourke Street Mall shopping, a block away from the Paris End of Collins Street boutiques and in walking distance to Rod Laver Arena and the MCG, Rydges Melbourne is a great choice if you are wanting everything at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Rydges Melbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing