We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$221
$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$143
$96
Radisson
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Melbourne Marriott Hotel(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $185/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Treasury On Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$184
$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Alto Hotel on Bourke(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$93
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$151
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $113/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$120
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
The Langham, Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$255
$160
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$207
$184
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,548)
Filter reviews
2,549 results
Traveler rating
687
1,000
558
200
104
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
687
1,000
558
200
104
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsqueen spa suitelocanda restaurantexhibition streether majesty's theatrerooftop poolbuffet breakfastclose to china townlate checkoutan upgradecomfy bedbourke streetcar parkinglocation is excellentcentral locationcbdmcgcheckin
Filter
Updating list...
2,211 - 2,216 of 2,549 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2011

At first sight this is a good hotel. Great location, nice bar and restaurant, friendly and attentive staff... But underneath the surface there are problems. My room, for example, had a noisy electrical hum and the shower was dreadful - almost impossible to get the right temperature. My room rate included breakfast, but I had to persuade both the restaurant and check out this was the case. Worst is the irritating little extras. Fancy a drinkable cup of coffee with breakfast? Certainly, Sir, we'll add it to your bill. Newspaper? That'll be $1.50. The internet is expensive - $29 for 24 hours (It is free at Rydges on Swanston)... The hotel would benefit from a lot less greed and a lot more class.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkDodgson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2011

It was disappointing to read that we didn't hit the mark with your experience and that you found there were these irratating issues during your stay. We certainly do not go out of our way to annoy our guests but as we have found there are some items that some guests need or want as part of their experience that may not be the same for others, so we try to have the rate as best value as possible and any items on top of this is a pay as you go so it is convenient for everyone. Obvioulsy this is not for everyone, but our website tries to cover this as well, so you can add a lot of extras onto your room rate so it is packaged up for the stay. This may not be the best answer to your needs, however I am sure if discussed in advance with our front desk or reservations team they can find a solution that best suits your needs, we are pretty flexible with these things, and if you still dont have the right deal, by all means send me a note as well!

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Stayed here on a Friday night and found the room on the smaller side but very clean and neat. The staff were very helpful - even got a "loan" umberella for a wet walk to a nearby restaurant. Breakfast was plentiful with a wide choice of hot and cold, sweet and savory. However you did have to pay for your cafe latte.
The only real down side to the room was the construction workers early the next morning. Just a bit too loud and too early for those wanting a sleep in after geting a late check out

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Myoscarcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2011

Thank you for your note on your stay at Rydges Melbourne. I appreciate you enjoyed the accommodation and the team helped out with an umbrella! We have to have plenty of these on hand for the Melbourne climate, you could leave in the morning and its sunny and after lunch its raining! Hopefully the construction noise was a one off, although being in a major city this can happen from time to time. Hopefully we will see you back with us again.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Stayed three nights at this hotel and was pleased to find that our expectations, founded on the North Sydney and Canberra Rydges experiences of 14 years ago, were justified.

Great location, everything worth seeing is walkable.

Rooms are well equiped, good bed, decent climate control and adequate TV. A minor beef might be that the room lighting is not great. Bathrooms are a tad small but perfectly functional.

Best is the bar and restaurant. Excellent food and very friendly staff, top marks here.

We won't be looking elsewhere when we're next in Melbourne

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AtoZers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2011

Great to hear you enjoyed both the location and our Italian Steakhouse Restaurant, it certainly gets some good feedback from our guests. I will ensure our maintenance and housekeeping dept. review the lighting, as I can imagine this would be frustrating if trying to read in the rooms. Hopefully we will see you back here again soon.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

This accommodation is excellently located and incredibly handy to all that Melbourne city has to offer, which is an enormous amount of wonderful food and wine choices. There is no faulting the location, period.
The room is ok, the bed is ok, the linen is clean, a good sized flat screen, small bathroom with bath, but there is an overall sense that the room is somewhat tired.
This though is NOT where you bring your hopeful beau-to-be. The reason for this is twofold.
The room has no noise protection at all, this includes from inside the bathroom.... Everyone near or inside your room will pretty much hear everything rather clearly. Double this up with the absolute no escape for the various scents emanating from one's body..... Some things are just too personal to advertise....
So unless you are familiar with your travelling partner and don't mind sharing everything, book somewhere else. Try not to spend over $110 on a room if you can.
Forget room service too, unless you are really drunk and don't mind burnt yet cold, below average food. The mini bar is not well stocked but there is a bottle shop across the road.
The bar downstairs mixes a great cocktail and is a pretty comfy place to laze around before venturing out.

*Up date, it is currently 1am and for the previous three hours I have heard every two minutes what sounds like a trolley going up and down the hall outside my room. After checking what the hell it is i surmise it is the noise of the elevator. I didn't notice it last night as I was well tanked, but tonight cold stone sober, it is a noise that will definitely keep me awake for the rest of the morning. I am in room 1702, for goodness sake if you want to actually sleep, specify a room away from the lifts.

Room Tip: Do not get a room near the lift. Ask for one with insulation and fan in the bathroom!!
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BellaOlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2011

It was pleasing to read you enjoy the location of the hotel in Melbourne, it was at the same time disaapointing to also read you encountered issues with noise on level 17 as this is not a common feedback received, 1702 also is on the side of the hotel where the nearest street is approx 50 meters away so traffic noise is partiularly scarce. I will investigate this with your room you have noted to ascertain this noise issue. The commentary on the lift noise will also be addressed with our lift contractors as this certainly should not be the case, however in saying the good lift on that side of the hotel is getting a total overhaul in the coming 6 months, this should hopefully fix any noise issues. The room service feedback is certainly not the standard of food we deliver and can only imagine whoever it was that prepared and also delivered needs some training. The feedback we generally get on room service is quite postive. I personally have not had anyone comment on the issue raised on someone sharing their room having a problem with either noise or odours coming from the bathroom, this is a first for me but will take this on board.

Yours sincerely

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

This hotel was located well for our trip - 10-15 min walk to museum (Tutankhamun exhibition), 10 min walk from Bourke St Mall and across the road from Chinatown - great food. And for that matter, the museum is only a 5 min walk from Lygon St - more great food. The hotel is decorated in a currently 'hip' style in the foyer and restaurant. Our room looked very nice when we first arrived. The shower was roomy and had great pressure. Unfortunately the bed became less supportive every night and our son's bed - sofa bed - had no support at all. As there were three of us though, this hotel was able to provide a spacious room for a very reasonable price (compared to other hotels in Melbourne). The arm chair was very grubby from many hands on the arm rests. The desk chair's arm rest was bent down (obviously from previous mistreatment). Our room was almost level with large air stacks from the plant room, so there was a constant hum 24hrs however traffic noise was non-existant - and yet the ambience was very welcoming and calming. The staff, whether at front desk, restaurant (breakfast) or cleaning were all very friendly and helpful - nothing was a problem. Breakfast was a reasonable deal and included in room rate. Although not as expansive as some, there was still a good variety of cereals, fruit, hot items, etc.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAR60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2011

It was good to see you enjoyed the room and the location of the hotel. It was surprising to read you didn't enjoy the Rydges Dream Bed, they generally recieve positive feedback although the pillow top can sometime not to be everyones taste. The sofabed inner spring mattress can sometimes be a bit loose and these will need to be replaced. Thanks again for the time taken to share your impression of the hotel and the nice pictures.

Yours sincerely

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews