We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money in a centra location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Ranked #9 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 23, 2010

The Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens was good value for money in a central location in Melbourne. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and free internet was a bonus. The room itself was nice, the bathroom a little basic. Be careful however when having breakfast- I had a bowl of cereal and was charged $25! Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CFL79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,058)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,842 - 2,848 of 3,061 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2010

Stayed 2 nights in a Premium room. Corner room with 2 windows - fairly noisy airconditioning duct that seemed to go through the wall which was weird - noise abated after about 10 pm - so no worries. Comfy bed, good bathroom and ammenities.
Very handy spot for Queen Vic Markets. Self parking a 5 minute walk down the road. A pleasant experience , not spectacular.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MickiAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2010

Recently had the opportunity to re-visit the Radisson at Flagstaff Gardens. The service was excellent especially that provided by the concierge who is a man on a mission. The room (suite) was roomy enough for two and well fitted out. Very clean and quiet.
The hotel is well located close to the Queen Victoria Markets which is only about a 5 minute walk away and the same distance to the free Tourist Shuttle Bus and Trams. If you prefer to walk its about 20 minutes walk down to centre of Melbourne

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TassieBoomerang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2010

Nice hotel, but not a particularly flashy hotel. Good for a business traveller

Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank prijinth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2010

The best part of this hotel is the staff, they really make you feel welcomed and Robert, one of the concierges, is the the greatest. The hotel is just outside the CBD, however, very close to all modes of public transportaion, or just a short walk to most places and restaurants. Nice park across the street. The rooms are average size, with a nice bathroom. The value was great. Breakfast is a bit expensive, but nice when you have an early start. Felt safe walking at night. Melbourne is a great city. Get an all day transportation pass. Plan a visit to town hall to see and hear the 8,000 pipe organ. See penguins at nite on the end of the St Kilda pier.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustustooinCalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2010

The hotel is situated opposite the Flagstaff Gardens, close enough yet far enough away from the City Centre action zone. A brisk walk could get you down to the Federation Square and Swanston Street area within 20 minutes, but just on the corner is the tram station and the free circular tram (35) will get you there much sooner. Flagstaff Gardens is a relatively quiet area of the city and just around the corner on Victoria Street, is the must do, Queen Victoria Markets.

The staff were extremely pleasant during our stay and couldn’t have been more helpful. Using the Goldpoints scheme we were allocated a room on the 8th floor which was high enough to exclude most of the traffic and tram noise. Check in was easy and the bar and restaurant area are to the right of reception.

Rooms are accessed by one of the 4 lifts and we were allocated a corner room overlooking the gardens and the city. Rooms were spacious, tastefully decorated with a queen bed, pillow menu, business desk, wifi internet access and a well stocked mini bar, fridge and all the usual tea & coffee making facilities. Added extras included iron, bath robes and room safe. The bathroom was well stocked with toiletries, bath, shower and hair dryer. The weighing scales were a little wayward or the diet needs to start earlier than I thought!

You have a choice of continental or full breakfast. The continental was about £10 but good value as there was an excellent array of juices, yoghurts, meats, cheeses, Danish pastries, cereals and other usual suspects. For the extra you could have a choice of eggs, bacon, sausages, mushrooms to fill yourself up before you hit the city.
Cut through the gardens to walk down to Waterfront City, turn right for QVC Markets or left on Latrobe Street for downtown.

On the 11th floor is a small but well stocked gym, spa bath and steam room. For a fantastic finish to your day, enjoy a Jacuzzi in the hot pool as you watch the sun set over northern Melbourne. There is a small rooftop terrace with tables and sun loungers.
It’s always a good sign when you see airline staff using the hotel. Would I stay at this hotel again, yes, without hesitation. Would I recommend it to friends and family... I already have. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2010

The strengths of the Radisson at Flagstaff Gardens are its location and its food. Its also reasonably priced.

As other correspondents have noted, this hotel is on the edge of Melbourne CBD, near the law courts and opposite the beautiful Flagstaff Gardens. It is very easy to walk from the hotel to the funky restaurants of Hardware Lane and its not difficult to get a tram or walk to Little Bourke Street (Chinatown) to eat. In fact, the hotel is well placed to get you anywhere (museums galleries, the MCG etc) in central Melbourne via the tram system. Near the hotel is the wonderful Queen Victoria market, which still operates as the great markets of the English speaking world were intended to in the nineteenth century. See it now, because the Council are talking of turning it into yet another “boutique market.”

We stayed there on Saturday January 2 and greatly enjoyed the dinner at HQ’s on William at the Radisson, which was part of our package. The food was very good, and the dessert was excellent. There is a good range of reasonably priced wines available, also by the glass. The buffet breakfast was also excellent.

I’d have to say that in terms of rooms – the standard rooms are a little small for two people for my liking. (My wife agreed, having stayed in a premium room previously). However, the rooms provide for all the needs you might have (enormous minibar range etc) as well as having a well sized, comfortable bathroom.

I have to be honest and comment on the variables in service. The front desk staff were excellent and extremely helpful in every way, as others have noted. However, when I arrived at about 4 pm, there were uncollected plates outside four rooms on the 5th floor. I thought – OK, just taking a bit long to collect the lunch plates. However, the plates were still there at 9.30 pm when I returned from dinner. That’s really pretty slack and should not be occurring in a hotel of this standard. I also wasn’t impressed with service from our waitress at dinner, although this was not enough to spoil our fun. I think "not a problem" needs to be banned by the Australian hospitality industry as this meaningless phrase is apparently becoming a crutch for the distracted or disinterested!

I live and work in Melbourne and really want the local hotel industry to prosper. These are minor quibbles I know, but I want Australian hotels to be absolutely always as good as anywhere else in the world.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickRJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 161 in Melbourne
1,570 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#39 of 161 in Melbourne
3,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#5 of 161 in Melbourne
702 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#6 of 161 in Melbourne
5,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens

Address: 380 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $112 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson On Flagstaff Gardens Hotel Melbourne
Radisson Hotel Melbourne
Radisson Melbourne
Melbourne Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing