We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not quite perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Ranked #7 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not quite perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Check in great and friendly, very nice reception. Package included drink vouchers in bar and chocolates, never got the chocolates. Drinks in bar were good and the staff was awesome, especially the manager. Ordered antipasto entree, nice but a bit pricey. Package also included a late checkout, I was rung an hour prior and asked when I’de be checking out stating that late checkout wasn’t on their system and that it would be amended no problem, very friendly. However I left room and couldn’t get back in because me key wasn’t extended. Other than that a great stay and great location to CBD and Markets.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Disboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonMelbourneGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Disboy,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

We appreciate your valuable feedback & will use it to further improve our operations.

I hope to welcome you back to the Radisson in the future.

Kind regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,657
    880
    188
    38
    18
See reviews for
410
1,070
222
718
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Visiting the AO this hotel was nicely located in front of a park, close to the Victoria markets and walking distance to the centre of Melbourne. The hotel is clean and comfortable. The staff is very helpfull in finding solutions for travel and leisure. On our trip around Australia this was one of the best hotels visited. The breakfast was of good quality and the atmosphere in the restaurant comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ton H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonMelbourneGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Ton H,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay & in particular, our convenient location.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

This was the nicest hotel on our tour. Our room was quiet and comfortable, compact, but big enough with a view of the park in front. It is conveniently located next to Victoria Market and the free on/ off tourist tram that takes you near all the sights in the city. The breakfast was wonderful. They have an almond encrusted pastry that was outstanding and omelet/waffle service that was very well executed. Wifi was free and fast. The only problem was when we arrived in our group, tired after a long flight and very late at 11:30 at night, we were given new Club Carlson affinity club membership cards (although some of us were already members and had let the hotel know in advance and as group members were told we would not earn any points), instead of keys for the rooms. It took over 40 minutes for the room key cards to be made and distributed with at first only one of the two desk employees handling this, and finally the other pitched in after watching our impatience. We found a small box of chocolates placed in our room which we guessed was a peace offering, but there was no explanation. Otherwise we liked our room and the hotel. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggieMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonMelbourneGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear maggieMD,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

We appreciate your valuable feedback & will use it to fine tune our operations.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

I was on a busy schedule and arrived very early in the morning. The reception staff were very friendly and caring and immediately ushered me to the restaurant for a much needed and beautifully made cappuccino.

The room was pleasantly large, very well equipped and had a great workspace area for me to do emails etc. I also used the comprehensively equipped gym (which has an excellent cross trainer!) and can't fault the hotel in any way.

There are a load of expensive hotels in Melbourne. However, the Radisson is very well priced and you feel like a name, not a number there. I will always use it whenever in Melbourne.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonMelbourneGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Ken F,

Thank you for taking the time to post a great review.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a months trip to Oz. I stayed 3 nights at the Radisson on Flagstaff and wish I could have stayed longer. My flight arrived in the morning so I made my way to the hotel on the Skybus from the airport, the friendly reception staff made me feel welcome and advised me that my room was not quite ready, they directed me to the spa area so I could use the showers there and freshen up. I then had breakfast and whilst eating the receptionist came and found me and advised that my room was now ready, it was only around 10am! What a great service.
On entering my room I was blown away, fantastic size, overlooking the gardens (if you ask when you book they do try and accommodate) great bathroom with a rain shower and a normal shower (no bath tub in my room so if you prefer those then let them know when booking), fantastic comfy bed, chair, great modern TV. I personally didn't hear any traffic noise at all.
The rooftop spa and seating area was just fantastic with great rooms, room service was delicious and on time, and I ate the best steak I've ever tasted in the restaurant on the last night of my stay.
When I return to Melbourne I will be staying at this hotel again, the location is perfect, near a tram stop, a short downhill walk to the CBD and the friendly staff make this hotel a 5 * establishment, thank you to all at this hotel for a lovely stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Happytripper1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonMelbourneGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Happytripper1974,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

I am pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again upon your return to Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

The Radisson was the first hotel I stayed at on my trip to Australia and I must say that it was one of the best on my trip. The hotel itself is very clean and quiet even though it has lots of rooms. The staff were very helpful and were there to help with any questions I had.
The room that I stayed in was very clean and tidy with a lovely bathroom with everything i needed to make my stay perfect.
One of the things which I was also very impressed with was the breakfast buffet which I had everyday and it kept me going all day. There was so much choice and the food was cooked perfectly.
If you are around on a Wednesday night then make sure you check out the queen Victoria market which is located just just up the road.
One point I will make is if you are driving a car while staying here then don't bother leaving your car outside the hotel, the traffic wardens are quite sneaky around there. Ask reception and they will let you know where there car park is just around the corner which you can use for a small fee and you wont have to go out early in the morning to move your car as you would on the street.
Over all a super hotel :)
Thanks Radisson I hope to return one day..

Room Tip: Some reviewers have said to get a room overlooking the gardens at the front but I had room at the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonMelbourneGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Steve R,

Thank you for taking the time to post a great review.

I am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay.

We also hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Great facilities, great staff and clean rooms.

Buffet breakfast was fantastic.

Very close to Victoria markets that will keep you shopping all morning or afternoon.

Walk into the city in just 10mins, or just take a free tram that comes every 12 mins just nearby.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milo k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonMelbourneGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear milo k,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay & in particular, our convenient location.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,257 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#34 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#43 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens

Property: Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Address: 380 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson On Flagstaff Gardens Hotel Melbourne
Radisson Hotel Melbourne
Radisson Melbourne
Melbourne Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing