We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well sited and comfortable - Staff really welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Ranked #9 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Well sited and comfortable - Staff really welcoming”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

After a short lay over in Singapore we arrived at the Radisson in Melbourne on one of those 40+ degree days this January. Lots of cold water with various fruits in it available free for us while we waited a short time for check in time. The concierge saw us waiting and asked us what our plans in the city were and he then gave us a really comprehensive chat for about 10 mins which answered all our questions about getting around and what to see etc. The staff were all incredibly friendly throughout the hotel and the facilities there plus the room were comfortable. A very minor criticism of our room was that the view to the rear was unfortunately a building site but that will be temporary until the adjacent hotel is finished but we could see the park from the other window. Overall a great intro to Ozzie hospitality and would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonMelbourneGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Barry S,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay & that our service left you with a lasting impression.

I hope to welcome you back to Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens upon your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,711
    902
    190
    39
    19
See reviews for
424
1,094
229
749
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Throughout our stay at the Radisson Hotel the staff were always very accommodating and provided valuable advice on how to get around Melbourne and surrounding suburbs. As a family of four (2 adults and 2 children - 11yr old & 8yr old) the rooms and available services really accommodated our needs. The restaurant offered an excellent choice and also included a kids menu at a very reasonable price. The buffet breakfast was enjoyed on a daily basis and is highly recommended. The location of the Radisson Hotel is within walking distance to many interesting sites but at the same time is surprisingly very quiet allowing for a good night sleep. A free city tram service is only about 50metres away and comes past every 10-12 minutes. Overall a really good hotel in a great location.

Room Tip: Speak to the staff on site directly if you have any special needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonMelbourneGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Steven D,

Thank you for taking the time to post a great review.

I am pleased to read that you & your family enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you all again soon.

Kind regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I have been staying at this hotel for a good 8 years now, and the hotel has just gotten better and better over the years. The seasonal menu has continued to surprise, and the food is always fresh and delicious. Staff and service have never been short of excellent, and this hotel would definitely be my top recommendation to all family and friends who visit Melbourne. The view from the gym and the facilities are

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShiniK31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonMelbourneGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear ShiniK31,

Thank you for taking the time to post a great review.

We are delighted to read that you continue to thoroughly enjoy your time at the hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Our stay was fantastic. We found all the staff very helpful but a extra big thank you to Bonnie at the check in/out desk and Daryl (with one R) Concierge. He assisted us with all out day tours we had planned. If only the traffic had been a little less congested we may have made our meal on the restaurant tram.
Very handy to the centre of town. Located on the free tram route also.

Room Tip: We changed our room to a lower floor. We had a very pleasant outlook across to the gardens. This was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quadrapuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonMelbourneGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Quadrapuff,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel upon your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Stayed here over Christmas. Perfectly decent Radisson hotel located in a great location close to the centre of Melbourne. From the outside of the hotel it could do with a bit of refurbishment, but inside the hotel was nicely decorated. The rooms were modern, although we did request a room with a decent view which wasn't honoured, instead we faced the back of the hotel and a building site but this didn't really matter as we didn't stay in our room much. The rooftop spa and gym is lovely and has a great view across the Melbourne skyline and Flagstaff gardens.

My only criticism was that the one time we visited the hotel bar the staff seemed rude and not grateful for our custom, so we didn't go back.

I'd stay here again if the price was reasonable but I'd probably be tempted to check out other hotels first as Melbourne has so many to choose from.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Flagstaff Gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkA380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonMelbourneGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear MarkA380,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on this site.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the convenience of our central location.

On another note, I sincerely apologise for any issues surrounding our restaurant staff. I have passed on your comments to our Food & Beverage manager for further discussion.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
309 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights on arrival in Oz, and probably should have been only 2, as had seen all the sights. Hotel is well located opposite the gardens and convenient for the Queen Vic markets and tramstops for access to main places. Has no on-site parking so have to use the multi-storey around the corner. Didn't use the rooftop pool but its a good place at night to get a view of part of the city. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: go for a room overlooking the gardens rather than building works at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnSFleet_Hants_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonMelbourneGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear JohnSFleet_Hants_UK,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, as well as experiencing the many sights that Melbourne has to offer.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Radisson on Flagstaff. The hotel is centrally located and this makes it real easy to walk around the city. The staff was helpful when needed and the pool and hot tub at the top of the hotel was a nice plus. The views up there are fantastic! We would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonMelbourneGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Charles,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed you stay and in particular our convenient location and friendly staff.

We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 159 in Melbourne
5,416 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 159 in Melbourne
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#38 of 159 in Melbourne
2,852 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#43 of 159 in Melbourne
1,401 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 159 in Melbourne
7,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens

Property: Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Address: 380 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson On Flagstaff Gardens Hotel Melbourne
Radisson Hotel Melbourne
Radisson Melbourne
Melbourne Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing