We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent, cheerful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Ranked #9 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Groningen
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent, cheerful”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This hotel surprised me in a very positive way: clean rooms, everything worked, super-friendly star and pleasant environment. The breakfast was very good (especially the yogurt and muesli-section); if the hotel wants to improve from being a great choice to ultra-great; i'd advice to deminish the smell of the coocking-centre.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GroningenEduard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,711
    902
    190
    39
    19
See reviews for
424
1,094
229
749
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
180 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Radisson although we were heart broken when we discovered the roof spa being repaired the day we arrived, and we had moved from another hotel to use this! But it was repaired by next day at least (Staff should have informed us and others about the repair, but we heard them telling another person about the spa as we walked out the same day it was broken). The Radisson is an older hotel that has been upgraded. The elevators, lobby and rooms are nice but some features like bathroom fixtures are still a bit old and tired. But we loved our room with park view and it was very quiet! Even the door closing mechanisms are perfect so there is no "slam" when people leave their room. There is a building under construction behind the Radisson, so be sure you stick with park side. They do have double paned glass for noise abatement. The bed was comfy but had a lump in the middle for some reason that we could have done without. Coffee in room was excellent, TV quality good, and the internet speed was great (included w/ our room). Location is fantastic if you like Victoria Market (what's not to like?) since it is literally around the corner. The gym equipment is new and clean. The spa is great with a super view of the city, but the water could have been warmer. The steam room works very well and it is clean. All in all, we were pretty happy at the Radisson, and would recommend it with caveat about which room to pick. Parking is provided by commercial lot around the corner for reasonable rate of $15.

Room Tip: April '13: there is a building under construction on back (non-park) side of hotel, so use cauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SalsabyJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was our favorite hotel of all 6 we experienced during our 3 weeks in Australia and New Zealand. We thought the location was great... quiet and comfortable. Our room was good sized and very clean with excellent bed linens, pillows and plenty of bathroom toiletries. Breakfast was above average. Caught the City Circle tram close by the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank readytogo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
120 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed two nights at here in november 2012. Got an upgrade to a business class room due to my club carlson gold status. The room was really nice with a view over the Flagstaff Garden. The check-in was fast and efficient. The hotel is easily accessed by public transport and a few minutes walk from Melbourne Central.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DanLah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
511 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Although very close to the enormous Queen Victoria market and a few cheap eateries nearby this hotel is located in an out of the way place in Melbourne. For tourists though the free City Circle tram is a handy way to get around. The rooms are ok and are similar to the standard Radisson Hotels elsewhere. Staff are very helpful and friendly and give advice on car parking, restaurants etc. Breakfast buffet is quite good. Good walk around Flagstaff garden early in the morning is refreshing. Can browse around Queen Victoria market on Sunday for some nic backs. Overall a good hotel but not in the thick of things.

Room Tip: If they offer a view of the Park but not charge extra for it the take it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eaa1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Staff extremely helpful.
Location ok (in the CBD, just near the Flagstaff Station). Just near the Queen Victoria Market.
The room was nice, decent size.
Check in at 2pm, check out at 11am (or late check out at 11.30am).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Estelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel many times while on business in Melbourne. As Club Carlton member I am always well looked after and the service is very friendly. Walking distance to other restaurants as well. Will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor and not near lift (my standard request)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadKing72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 159 in Melbourne
5,416 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 159 in Melbourne
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#38 of 159 in Melbourne
2,852 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#43 of 159 in Melbourne
1,401 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 159 in Melbourne
7,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens

Property: Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Address: 380 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson On Flagstaff Gardens Hotel Melbourne
Radisson Hotel Melbourne
Radisson Melbourne
Melbourne Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing