We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good with some weakness”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Ranked #9 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Localization : Very good , just in front of Flagstaff gardens what gives some green sight from rooms, walking distance to main touristic points of Melbourne , 100 m. from free tramway stop and about 200 m. from free hop on hop off stop.Near several restaurants and the interesting
Victoria Market.
Building : Big building not very nice with a tired style of 70's.
Rooms: Enough large very confortable with all we can need but the furniture has some tired. aspect.
Reception : Check in and check out efficient and fast and staff very kind and helpfull.
Concierge: One of strenghs of the hotel. Kind, precise, and giving all practical information a tourist can need.
Restaurant: Good breakfast with a lot of choice and good quality , dinner a la carte with good
food and wine with reasonable price. Waiters very kind and excellent service.

So, in despite of some signals of age of building and room furniture the qualty of service is so good that the overall evaluation must br : very good-

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EUROPEU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,023)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,628 - 2,634 of 3,024 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2012

I recently flew to Melbourne with two friends to watch the Australian Open and found a decent deal to stay at the Radisson on Flagstaff for two nights.

As we requested three single beds, the room we had didn't have a lot of walking room left but we kind of expected that and we didn't plan on staying in the room that much with all there is to offer in Melbourne.

As I go to Melbourne regularly, I knew there was a shuttle bus from the airport to the city called Skybus ($15 one way. $26 return). It runs every 10 minutes and brings you to Southern Cross Station which is on the West side of the CBD. From there, it took around 10-15 minutes to walk to the hotel. I loved the fact it is situated next to the Queen Victoria Market and across the street from Flagstaff Gardens, a nice little park where you can go for a jog in the morning or lounge around soaking up the sun in the afternoon.

Upon arriving to check in at 1pm, the reception staff was welcoming and accommodating. The entrance foyer is roomy and modern. There are four lifts and they're pretty fast so you never wait for more than 30 seconds to get one.

Once checked into our room on the 9th floor (with a beautiful view of the Western suburbs), we found out that we could catch a free city circle tram 100m from the hotel. We ended up using it quite often during our stay. Alternatively, you can purchase a reasonably priced ($8) MET day pass from the Flagstaff train station. This pass allows you to catch any public transport within Zone 1. And Zone 1 covers quite a fair area surrounding the CBD.
So, in terms of public transport, this hotel has it covered!

I used their rooftop gym the next morning and I had a nice view of the morning skyline while working up a sweat. They had about 3-4 cardio machines and a couple of weight machines and a spa pool. Compared to other hotel gyms I've been to, I guess this one would be categorised as average but still very handy nonetheless.

We didn't have breakfast at the hotel so we can't comment on the food but to be honest, there are plenty of options at the Queen Victoria Market or you could go to one of the laneways next to Flinders Station for a memorable breakfast experience. You could almost tricked yourself into thinking you were in the Quartier Latin in Paris.

My overall experience at the Radisson on Flagstaff was definitely well above average despite the fact there may be other hotels that are better located in the CBD and I have stayed at many different ones during my trips to Melbourne. This city has so much character that no matter which corner of town you're staying at, there will always be points of interest to make your stay worthwhile.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a view of the Flagstaff Gardens. You'll be sure no one will be looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Stayed in the business class suite, 10th floor, wasn't really sure what to expect as I had read alot of reviews on here but none on the room I was staying in. The Hotel is very nice and modern, lift is beautiful, clean layout. The hotel does have a roof top gym and spa with beautiful views of the city. There is also a roof top patio which is great for having a drink on. Room was just outside the lift and did not have an issue with noice.Room has separate lounge room with tv, lounge can be turned on extra bed if needed,mini kitchen (sink, bar fridge, nespresso machine). Bedroom is very roomy, massive king sized beds, best sleep I have in ages, was like sleeping on a cloud. Separate bathroom with spa bath. Bathroom is very small especially shower. Spa bath also small and quiet loud. The only bad thing about the room was the amount of lighting. As bathroom was small only allowing 1 person at a time doing make up in bedroom very hard abit of lighting near mirror would of helped. Overall hotel is just outside of the heart of melbourne bout 10 minute walk. If you can try and get a room were breakfast is included. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

One big downer was that we were charged for the children's bedding. On the free tramway which is a bonus.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the park - great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussiechick000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Staff were reasonably helpful.Although not very knowledgeable.Sunday night their bar closed at 10.30pm.Couldnt get a drink after 10.30 so had to order two rounds at the same time.Overpriced and breakfast was extra.Hotel in convenient position with easy access to trams

Room Tip: Room overlooking Flagstaff Gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheilaknaresborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

The Radisson enjoys a great downtown location, or the CBD as we learned here. Rooms were tastefully decorated, the hotel staff provided friendly and efficient service, and the breakfast offered a variety of morning nourishment. Access to Melbourne attractions was easy as the hotel was only a block from the free City Circle tram line. The Victoria market was also a block away and offered a wide variety of eating and shopping. 

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darbymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

The Raddison on Flagstaff Gardens was a great location to walk to everything in Melbourne. It is close to trams, train station, Queen Victoria markets, Docklands and has a lovely big park occupying the whole block in front of it. Breakfast Buffet ($15 if purchased the day before) was terrific and offered a huge range of foods.It was very quiet here at night on weekdays, as well as Friday night. We had a premier garden room on the 9th floor at the front overlooking the treetops in the park and the view was to the west of Melbourne to the Bolte bridge. Has a very large spa pool overlooking the city and a well equipped gym with a fantastic view.Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Go as high as you can afford probably 8th or 9th floor. There are bathrobes in the wardrobe if you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 162 in Melbourne
1,558 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 162 in Melbourne
5,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#40 of 162 in Melbourne
3,302 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 162 in Melbourne
8,293 reviews
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#6 of 162 in Melbourne
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens

Address: 380 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $124 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson On Flagstaff Gardens Hotel Melbourne
Radisson Hotel Melbourne
Radisson Melbourne
Melbourne Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing