We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quest on William

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quest on William
Ranked #51 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Never again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2010

Check-in is advertised at 2pm - our room wasn't ready until 2.25pm - 25min may not seem like much but when you are wanting to watch Australia's biggest sporting event of the year and you are missing it, 25 mins is a lot. If you have a had a full house the night before, then put extra staff on to deal with it.

The shower is abysmal; tiny space that a larger person would not fit in (I cracked my elbow numerous times on the shelf and I am a small framed person) and the water pressure is horrendous - I am all for water saving shower heads but when you get a better deal from a watering can then something is very wrong - you can't save water when you have to stay in there forever to get your hair wet and then try and rinse it.

The 2nd bedroom was an internal room ie. it had no window. No windows could be opened so the cooking smells can't escape. No salad bowls and generally a very low standard of kitchen equipment.

The TV reception was patchy at best which is unacceptable in this digital age.

We only paid $200 p/n which was a corporate deal but if I paid the rack rate I would have been really annoyed. We have stayed in serviced apartments all over Australia and this would have to be one of the worst.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank megjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, October 7, 2010
My name is Aimee Royle and I am the general manager of Quest on William. I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our property and voice your concerns regarding the issues during your stay.

I personally review all online feedback and I appreciate the time you took to evaluate our property and voice your concerns. Please be assured I have taken your comments on board and am looking into options to fix the problems you mentioned.

Thank you again for completing your review, they are very helpful in allowing me to identify and overcome issues at a property level.

Should you wish to discuss your review further, please feel free to contact me.

Kind Regards,

Aimee Royle
General Manager
03 9605 2222
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    193
    71
    13
    5
See reviews for
157
63
11
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2010

Stayed one night for work. Rooms are a very good size and two colleagues ended up in two bedroom apartments for a very good price. KItchen and bathroom (tiny shower).
Noise from trams during the night was disappointing and a lot of light came in the blinds so I didn't sleep much. Location not great if you want to eat or shop.
Reception staff very helpful though.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bradletn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, June 7, 2010
My name is Aimee Royle and I am the general manager of Quest on William. I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our property and voice your concerns regarding the issues during your stay.

Please be assured I have taken your comments on board and will look into options to fix the problems mentioned.

Thank you again for your comments, which are very helpful in allowing me to overcome issues our property has.

Should you wish to discuss your review further, please feel free to contact me.

Regards,

Aimee Royle
General Manager
Quest on William
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2010

Stayed here for two nights with 3 girlfriends. Booked a two bedroom. Room was very plain & stuffy - the windows do not open! Our advertised hairdryer was also missing and the staff did not help us arrange another one! Their attitude was very "oh well too bad." There were 4 girls in the room and NO hairdryer! Not cool. William St also isn't very convenient as nothing is nearby and long walks & plenty cab rides are required! Nothing special about this place. Wouldn't even call it great budget accommodation - can get better hotels at better prices. If it's your first time in Melbourne, don't stay here. It will leave a bad after-taste.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank siienka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, June 7, 2010
My name is Aimee Royle and I am the General Manager of Quest on William in Melbourne. I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback. The issues which you have highlighted have already been communicated to the necessary departments to make certain that we can continue to improve on our service, and avoid such issues from occurring in the future.

As you can see from the reviews, Quest on William is an establishment that strives to provide quality apartment style accommodation in Melbourne CBD.

We do admit that we do not always get it right. However it is through feedback such as yours that allows us to become better in what we do.

Should you wish to discuss these issues further, please feel free to contact me.

Regards

Aimee Royle
General Manager
Quest on William
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2010

+ves:
Customer Service - were very flexible when we had to upgrade to a 2 bedder to account a last minute joiner to the trip. Didn't charge any penalties either, other than the difference between a 1 and 2 bedder. This was despite originally booking thru a third party website.
Value for money - Great value for money considering the CBD location - although I'd imagine being in the business precinct during the Xmas-New Years break had something to do with it.
Clean - Housekeeping-wise at least. Can't say everything was in working condition as all we used was the bathroom, fridge and AC.

-ves:
Sofa bed - was quite uncomfortable for sleeping on - and this is speaking from experience with sofa beds.
Broken internal door handles - although these were fixed promptly the day after we reported them.
Claustrophobic bedroom - one of the bedrooms was surrounded by 3 walls with no window - which was fine as long as you left the doors open or turned on AC.
Kettle - a rusting heating element is not a good look in a kettle.
Being on a ridge - is not good if you have to trudge home after a long day's shopping or playing tourist.
Car parking - I'll wear the fee, but just note that maneouvering your car in the basement is not for novices, depending on the spot you get. You'll also have to book ahead for a spot.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank appleton1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, November 14, 2016
Thank-you for you feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2010

We stayed here on NYE for one night only. Being one of the only places in the CBD to offer one night only bookings (all others available were 3 night minimums) we were very pleasantly surprised to see the room cost only $70 higher than the usual rate (elsewhere in CBD had doubled (or much worse) the rate for NYE making it an expensive break when you have a 3 night minimum to deal with too).
**From what I could find out, the usual rate for the 1 Brm apartment is $170-$180 which I think is great compared to the small hotel room you would get in the CBD for the same price.

We had a one bedroom apartment with a fold out sofa bed in the lounge area. The apartment was very spacious, the tv huge, a big balcony and a full size kitchen area. All this had been renovated in the last year or so also. The bathroom was large with enough room at the sink for two people (handy when there's 3 or 4 of you sharing a 1 brm apartment). There were some funky toiletries too that were better than I had expected.

Parking was an issue (being NYE) so we just used the train to get into the CBD and walked approx 5mins from Southern cross station (though the tram goes right past the station to the hotel if you prefer). Reception told us that there is limited parking available on regular days that you can request in advance.

The only issue with the room (which has been mentioned in other reviews) was the fold out bed was very springy and I found it uncomfortable to lie sideways on... not such an issue lying on your back but this may be worse for larger people). In future I would pay a little extra and have a 2 brm apartment an no sofa bed (those sleeping in the real bed in our apartment reported it to be very comfortable).

The location is great.... short walking distance to restaurants on Collins street and Hardware Lane and near to Bourke Street shopping area and DFO in the other direction. There is also a cafe downstairs (separate from the hotel) that does breaky if you want something right next door.

I reccommend this hotel for short stays but you would be very comfortable here for longer stays (I'd be happy to stay here a week or longer and I believe the rates are very good for longer stays too).

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneSim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, November 14, 2016
Thank-you for you feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qld Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2009

Stayed at Quest with a group of friends for a girls weekend getaway/shopping trip. Great location so close to the mall, Queen Vic markets, tram stop just a step away from the door. Staff on check in were courteous, if a little bit surly, however the other young ladies and gent on reception throughout the weekend were very helpful and informed about tram times, places to go etc. We stayed in 3 bed apartment on 14th floor, clean, quiet and quite comfortable. Nothing broken and tele worked fine. Only draw back, there was only 1 bathroom, plus a powder room. Try getting 7 women showered and preened to go out with only 1 bathroom, not easy, LOL!! The fold out sofa bed was not made up when we arrived, situation sorted v quickly though. (It was a tad uncomfortable - but a couple of extra wines before bed remedied that). Also had to ask for extra towel - apartment was set up for 6 people only when we had booked for 7. Other than that small criticism everything was quite ok - staff happy to stow our luggage for the day after checking out - our flight did not leave until 5.00pm. Let us use toilet and waiting room area etc when we came from our day out to wait for booked taxi. All in all I would recommend Quest on William for a group stay at a reasonable price. 3 bedrooms in the heart of Melb CBD as rare as hens teeth and this place was fine for us.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spotty01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, November 14, 2016
Thank-you for you feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2009

Very disappointed! So many things wrong unsure where to start.

* 2nd toilet broken and unable to be fixed, 2 days with 5 Adults and 1 toilet
* Sofa bed unbearable... offered two extra blankets to help with broken springs (ended up sleeping on floor)
* 1 lift out of order, took 15 minutes to ground floor
* Building work outside started at 6:30am on Saturday
* Room Service is a joke.....$45.00 for 8 slices of pizza
* Full day charge after 11am, no 1/2 day rates or late check-out available

At no point were we offered any solution to any problem, would think twice before booking however we didn't let any of the problems ruin our weekend.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ck06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, November 14, 2016
Thank-you for you feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#31 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#39 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#27 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Central Business District
Wyndham Hotel Melbourne
Wyndham Hotel Melbourne
#40 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest on William? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on William

Property: Quest on William
Address: 172 William St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#49 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#55 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest on William 4.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest on William provides a delightful 4 1/2 star experience, superbly located in the legal and banking heartland of Melbourne. Just minutes away, experiences of a different kind can be found at Melbourne's Crown Casino, Southbank, Etihad Stadium, Queen Victoria Market and The Arts Precinct, all within a short walk or tram ride. These spacious apartments boast many features, including wireless internet, fully equipped kitchen and laundry facilities along with separate living and dining areas. There's space to work or entertain, making your stay as pleasant as it is convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Quest on William reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On William Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing