We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serviced apt - nice home away from home if you're on holidays but not suitable for business travellers”
Review of Quest on William

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quest on William
Ranked #79 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2009

The 1-bedroom apt was very comfortable and spacious, good-sized kitchen and bedroom. Can get to bathroom through main hallway as well as bedroom. Dining table, lounge and TV with DVD player and wireless internet.

Although the apt would be comfortable for holiday travellers looking for a home away from home, it's not designed for business travellers. There is no work desk and no powerpoints near the dining table so I had to move the dining table to the other side of the room. The coffee table was not a suitable alternative either as it was too low to work from if sitting on the lounge and too high if sitting on the floor.

There are 2 phone handsets - one nailed to the wall which cannot be moved to somewhere closer to the table so it was impossible to make a work call. The one in the bedroom is a very old-styled clock/phone/radio which doesn't work properly (the buttons on the handset don't press down well and so had difficulty making a phone call from there).

The bathroom faucet dripped unless you turn it very tightly and I found the toilet cistern continued to run unless you press the flush button "just right". In the quiet of the night, you can hear the trams go by.

There is no room service and no mini bar because it is a serviced apt. However, you can order through delivery services in the area. I chose to order something from Cuisine Courier (the menu was on the fridge door) and charge the order back to the room. Unfortunately, it turns out they wait for all the orders in the building to be completed before they deliver so I ended up waiting for nearly 2 hrs for my food and it was cold by the time I got it.

However, you are able to order breakfast through reception. I believe the food comes from the cafe downstairs. The food was too overcooked (the bacon was dry and cooked to the point of being crispy and not in a nice way!). I had requested apple juice instead of orange juice but still got the OJ delivered.

The kettle in the room was rusty on the inside but the good news is that the iron works well.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyBusinessChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, Manager at Quest on William, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2016

Thank-you for you feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (688)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

664 - 670 of 688 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2009

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel. This time was a little disappionting as we stayed in a two bedromm apartment on 14 Floor. This apartment was a loft.

The first time we stayed we had a two bedroom apartment on the 8th floor this apartment was much better. I wouyld recommend that you ask for the this aprtment when booking.

The apartment was convient to Southbank restuarants, and the Casino approx 10 minute walk.

We attended the F1 Grand prix on the weekend of our stay and this hotel is convient to the Grand Prix tram stop.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeep_M5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, Manager at Quest on William, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2016

Thank-you for you feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2008

* The Auto Club rates this 4.5 stars. After a one week stay for work I'd rate it 3.
* The apartments are clean and the staff friendly.
* The shower is small and the water pressure low. Don't expect a leisurely comforting shower as you'll likely spend little time in it.
* TV reception poor with only a little 12 inch TV in the sitting room.
* No gym, sauna, pool or jacuzzi on site. Vouchers are available for purchase to use a local helath club about 15 minutes walk away.
* Internet access is woefully slow, disconnects frequently while downloading email and is relatively expensive (up to $20 per night) for the download limit (120MB yes Mega bytes) per day. If you rely on internet access for your livelihood, don't get the local access, find an Internet cafe. The Manager Alan acknowledes there's a problem and the service is poor, however ...... no further action.
* The apartments are in a great location in the city.
* Expect 3 stars and you won't be disappointed.
* Don't expect on-site facilities of any kind.
* Access is not disabled friendly with stairs and multiple opposing doors.
* Parking is very limited. Warning - Do NOT park at the recommended alternative parking (RACV) before 5PM. It cost me $60 for the 1 night's parking because I arrived at 4:40PM. Had I arrived after 5pm and left before 9am the next day cost would have been $6. Note also make sure you leave before 9AM....
* Stay for the convenient location. Leave your expectations at home. Have fun and enjoy the city's facilities.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Dream-It-Do-It-Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, Manager at Quest on William, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2016

Thank-you for you feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2008

I booked this directly and was somewhat nervouse as it was a girls weekend away and I was booking the accomadation.
Well I think we couldn't have asked for better.
We had a 2 bedroom apartment that has everything you need including a great blowdryer, even washing powder and dishwash liquard and enough of it too.
Its just a few blocks away from Bourke St Mall, Victoria Markets, and the DFO shopping Centre.
So we walked most places and occansionally taxied and once we mastered the trams used them, but all really handy.
The reception people were great, we often rung down for information or directions and they were only too happy to help, even while in the process of booking they got back to me quickly and were really helpful AND we got a great rate.
Would definitly stay there again and reccomend the appartments if you want somewhere a little quieter, clean , close to most things.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank huntee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, Manager at Quest on William, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2016

Thank-you for you feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2008

We booked Quest on William based on the generally positive reviews here and are glad to say we were not disappointed.

Ours was a 2-bedroom apartment with one bathroom. The apartment is clean and there wasn't much noise from the traffic outside that could disturb sleep. There was not much of a view, though, as it faces the back where we could only see the back of other buildings. Although some reviews stated that the rooms were only cleaned about 7 days once, we were pleasantly surprised to find that the housekeeping came everyday for 4 days out of our total 5 days there.

The second bedroom does not have a window, which was not a concern to us.

The kitchen is fully equipped with an electric kettle, a micowave oven, a stove, frying pan, plates, cups and a fridge. Sachets of coffee/tea/milk etc were replenished almost daily.

The staff at the reception were helpful. The lobby is pretty small. The hotel's entrance faces William Street and right outside its main door, is the bus stop for 'Melbourne City Tourist Shuttle' which you can take free of charge.

It is within walking distance to most places, even to the Crowne Plaza, if you are up to it.

Stayed: May 2008
2  Thank desa_plg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, Manager at Quest on William, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2016

Thank-you for you feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2008

I stayed at this property in a 2 bedroom apartment for 1 week, on the surface it looked okay, but was really quite dated and rundown.

The first thing I noticed was the smell, luckily the windows opened and so we could air the apartment which did improve it (the smell) but it was still lurking (a musty, mouldy, smoky smell) throughout my stay.

The kitchen looked fairly maintained but it just had a dirty feel to it so we mostly ate out. It is in a central location for business and it is very easy to access restaurants, shopping etc within a 5 - 10 minute walk or via tram.

The lounges had cigarette burn holes and stains over them. If you did sit on them they were uncomfortable. The T.V looked old and small, probably from about 10 years before flat screens.

The bathroom was cramped, especially the shower. The shower leaked even with the door closed tight and every time you turn around in it you hit an elbow or knocked the door open. There was notable mould around it's joins.

Generally felt for the same (or better) price you could get a much newer, cleaner and less smelly apartment in a similar area. Not good value for money. Needs a renovation. Staff were friendly but I'm not returning here.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank higherexpectations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, Manager at Quest on William, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2016

Thank-you for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2008

Booked directly and got a good rate - staff were extremely helpful at all times, and available 24 hours at the desk. Location was very central, with the free tourist bus shuttle outside the hotel door, and a short 2 block walk either direction for the free tourist tram which circles Melbourne. The only problem was noise - construction in Melbourne seems to be everywhere, and our first room (deluxe two-bed apartment with 2 bathrooms and balcony and nice view) was great but didn't have double-glazed windows, so the noise in our bedroom (not the other one) was deafening from 7am. We requested a swap and got to inspect various other options, which we took up. That was much better, but of course lacked the view, second bathroom and opening windows. I still used earplugs, as Melbourne is a bustling city as you'd expect if you're staying right in the middle of it! Otherwise, great stay! The kids and parents are all happy! (ps the Melbourne Baths which have a reciprocal arrangement with the Hotel aren't worth it for entertainment - only for the exercise-conscious; Homebush aquatic centre it is NOT!)

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RozElk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, Manager at Quest on William, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2016

Thank-you for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#26 of 161 in Melbourne
2,162 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#48 of 161 in Melbourne
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 161 in Melbourne
1,605 reviews
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#34 of 161 in Melbourne
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest on William? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on William

Address: 172 William St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#74 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $119 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest on William 4.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest on William provides a delightful 4 1/2 star experience, superbly located in the legal and banking heartland of Melbourne. Just minutes away, experiences of a different kind can be found at Melbourne's Crown Casino, Southbank, Etihad Stadium, Queen Victoria Market and The Arts Precinct, all within a short walk or tram ride. These spacious apartments boast many features, including wireless internet, fully equipped kitchen and laundry facilities along with separate living and dining areas. There's space to work or entertain, making your stay as pleasant as it is convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Quest on William reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On William Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing