We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid, comfortable, budget accommodation”
Review of Quest on William

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quest on William
Ranked #57 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
114 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Solid, comfortable, budget accommodation”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Have rated this as a solid average hotel based on it not pretending to be anything other than a comfortable, low priced over-night spot for travellers. Nice reception welcome, clean, on-site undercover parking, largish comfortable room, good shower, reliable wake-up call, efficient and friendly check out, located in central Melbourne.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tastytucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at our property!! We look forward to welcoming you back next time you travel to Melbourne.

Aimee Royle
General Manager
Tel: +61 3 9605 2222 Fax: +61 3 9605 2233
aroyle@questapartments.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    208
    82
    13
    5
See reviews for
175
68
13
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I thought it may be noisy but its all double glazed and the bed very comfy. We have stayed here before and would continue to stay in the future. I like its proximity to Southbank and its an easy walking distance to most Melbourne has to see. Full size kitchen and quite large bathroom. This apartment would be ideal for an extended stay as its very spacious.

Room Tip: We had a view of Movida from the sofa how very Melbourne
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chilifan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you for your recent review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our location and facilities and facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you travel to Melbourne.

Aimee Royle
General Manager
Tel: +61 3 9605 2222 Fax: +61 3 9605 2233
aroyle@questapartments.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We found Quest on William clean and convenient with good facilities. The security was excellent and the apartment was fairly spacious and really quiet at night. We slept like logs. The staff were very friendly and helpful and even let us check out an hour late as one of our party was sick in the night and needed a bit of a lie in.
The only minor annoyance was all the food, lollies and bottles of water and soda left lying around all with price tickets attached. I felt that this wasn't really appropriate for self-catering, especially as the is place surrounded by shops and cafes. On the whole though, this didn't bother us too much and we'll certainly consider Quest on William next time we're in Melbourne.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Fantastic to read that your enjoyed your stay and you found our property so convenient and quiet\! My team and I pride ourselves on providing quality accommodation and great customer service.

Thank you for your comments regarding our mini-bar items; as we are serviced apartments we sit between the accommodation categories of self catering and hotel, therefore we provide additional items such as mini-bar. Let us know if you would like us to remove items prior to your next stay, and we would be more than happy to oblige. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next travel to Melbourne.

Aimee Royle
General Manager
Tel: +61 3 9605 2222 Fax: +61 3 9605 2233
aroyle@questapartments.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed for a week and was impressed by the always very friendly staff going out of their way to help guests. Overall clean and spacious apmt - with only downside being the traffic noise even up on 11th floor.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BionicaDK-2800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Great to read that your enjoyed your stay. My team and I pride ourselves on providing quality accommodation and great customer service! Thank you for your comments regarding noise concerns; as we are located in the city centre traffic noise is unavoidable, however we do have double glazed windows in our apartments to combat as much noise as possible. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next travel to Melbourne.

Aimee Royle
General Manager
Tel: +61 3 9605 2222 Fax: +61 3 9605 2233
aroyle@questapartments.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in a 2 bed apartment. It's fine, not 4.5 star quality but nice enough.
Reasonably central, only a short walk to most places in the cbd, trams out front and close by.
Modern furnishings, comfy beds and windows that open a small way for fresh air.
Only real small grievance is the crap coffee in the rooms. Considering it's supposed to be 4.5 star hotel, you would think there would be at least a much better quality coffee! But we are a big coffee loving family.
Oh and the shower is ridiculously small!
Off site parking around 100m down the road.
Staff are friendly and helpful.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillafish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed our location and facilities and found our staff so helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you travel to Melbourne.

Aimee Royle
General Manager
Tel: +61 3 9605 2222 Fax: +61 3 9605 2233
aroyle@questapartments.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This hotel we booked at very short notice, 2 days to be exact, and booked a 1 bed apartment for one night. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a 2 bed apartment at no extra charge which was a lovely surprise. The car park was full and the site we booked through made no mention that to park on site you had to book, however, there was a Wilson car park just over the road which only cost $14 and was easy to walk to with luggage. The apartment had a great feel to it; modern furnishings, tv, dvd player, iPhone docking station in the main bedroom and a well stocked kitchen complete with boxed breakfast if you wanted to buy it. The only negatives I could make about this place is that the bathrooms seem to have not been renovated recently along with the rest of the apartment which is no big deal but opening the shower screen outwards is impossible as it knocks into the toilet seat! And I ran the bath water for a while and it came out looking like weak tea. And the TV reception wasn't great. But really those are the only areas of improvement I could make in regard to this accommodation. I would stay again in a heart beat - although we didn't explore the city on this short stay, it did seem that the accommodation was centrally located so ideal for checking out what Melbourne has to offer. Lovely stay guys - Thanks!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fairy4415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Fantastic to read that your enjoyed your stay. My team and I pride ourselves on providing quality accommodation and great customer service! Thank you for your comments regarding areas for improvement - I shall forward them onto my relevant departments to have them looked into. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next travel to Melbourne.

Aimee Royle
General Manager
Tel: +61 3 9605 2222 Fax: +61 3 9605 2233
aroyle@questapartments.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in a 2 bedroom apartment for three nights. The apartment was large and well laid out with the bedrooms (with ensuites) being at opposite ends, which gave plenty of privacy etc. The apartment enjoyed fantastic views (we were on the 9th floor), was exceptionally quiet, the apartments seemed to be well designed to not have noise from other nearby rooms. Full length windows which led out to deck areas, kitchen was very well equipped, and lounge and dining furniture excellent. The apartment was spotlessly clean and very well presented. We have stayed in Melbourne many times, and found this address to be ideal as it was easy walking distance from/to Southern Cross station where we walked with our luggage, plus also great to access the City centre, shops, Flinders Street, Southbank, Docklands, and all forms of transport. The tram 55 runs past the door which goes past the Zoo. All in all we found it very convenient indeed. The two young men at Reception were very welcoming. A great stay and thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Fantastic to read that your enjoyed your stay. My team and I pride ourselves on providing quality accommodation and great customer service! We look forward to welcoming you back when you next travel to Melbourne.

Aimee Royle
General Manager
Tel: +61 3 9605 2222 Fax: +61 3 9605 2233
aroyle@questapartments.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#29 of 159 in Melbourne
1,646 reviews
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Wyndham Hotel Melbourne
Wyndham Hotel Melbourne
#44 of 159 in Melbourne
460 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#43 of 159 in Melbourne
1,400 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest on William? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on William

Property: Quest on William
Address: 172 William St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#55 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest on William 4.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest on William provides a delightful 4 1/2 star experience, superbly located in the legal and banking heartland of Melbourne. Just minutes away, experiences of a different kind can be found at Melbourne's Crown Casino, Southbank, Etihad Stadium, Queen Victoria Market and The Arts Precinct, all within a short walk or tram ride. These spacious apartments boast many features, including wireless internet, fully equipped kitchen and laundry facilities along with separate living and dining areas. There's space to work or entertain, making your stay as pleasant as it is convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest on William reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On William Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing