We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Staff”
Review of Quest on William

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quest on William
Ranked #57 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Staff”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I stayed for only one night but I wish it was more. The staff were just amazing and the room was huge and very clean. Excellent location close to Bourke St trams and William St trams (only about a 1 minute walk). Had to pay for wi-fi which I hate but I guess is expected. Can't say much for the view. Highly reccomended

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephManassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. It was lovely to receive your review and I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed our property and facilities.
Thank you, Aimee Royle (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    208
    82
    13
    5
See reviews for
176
68
13
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in a studio for work for a week recently. Room was nice and well equipped. Location is great and easy to get to all major locales in the city. My room was at the front of the building and had considerable street noise but tht is expected for the cbd. Only downside was the shower. It has a very small showerhead and you almost have to run around to get wet! The bathroom was also quite cold.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraHarris183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. It was lovely to receive your review and I will pass your comments onto my staff. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed our property and facilities.
I have taken your comments on board regarding the shower and agree that it is not to the standard we strive for and we are currently working on a refurbishment plan focusing on the bathrooms. Thank you, Aimee Royle (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights with a couple of friends in a 2 bedroom apartment. Excellent location close to Bourke St trams and William St trams (only about a 1 minute walk). I have stayed in many other Melbourne properties but by far this one has been my favourite due to position, apartment size, and cleanliness. The staff were helpful and polite. On our first night in the apartment, the neighbours (young adults) were very noisy, shouting and slamming doors, knocking on our door when heading to the lifts etc. We mentioned this to reception the following day and we didn't hear anything more from that apartment for the remainder of our stay. (We assumed they mentioned this to the offending occupants).
The only negative I can possibly think of is that the shower cubicle is extremely small and pokey..... There was a bath in the bathroom also but no shower head in the tub, so the only option was to squeeze into the tiny shower cubicle.
Rooms were serviced daily (except Sunday, but that was fine) and were cleaned and restocked well.
A short stroll down Little Bourke St toward the city, you will come across many fine eateries. Hardware Lane is a delight for lane-way breakfast choices and delightful dinners complete with jazz bands.
Would recommend staying here as a convenient yet less busy but close to city option. Loved it! :)

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Brumer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Firstly thank you for your recent review of Quest on William; I really appreciate the time taken to submit your online review.

Secondly I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our property. We strive to provide comfortable, clean accommodation combined with great customer service to all our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you to the property again soon.

Warmest Regards, Aimee Royle (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wandiligong, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed for a girls weekend in Melbourne in a 2 bedroom standard room.
Room was very spacious but there were some large stains all over the carpet which made the room look unclean. The shower in the bathroom also leaked all over the floor. Besides that, everything else was good including location, price and staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. It was lovely to receive your review and I will pass your comments onto my staff. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed our property and facilities.
Thank you, Aimee Royle (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellbridge Victoria Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed for a girls weekend in a 3 bedroom apartment, the reception staff were fantastic, helpful, friendly and was much appreciated by us all. Rooms were spacious, beds very comfy and location was great, close to everything and tram stop very close. Would definitely stay here again. Nice and quiet. Very good value for money. Only negative was the shower, not much pressure.

Room Tip: If booking the 3 bedroom apartment make sure you ask for the one with 2 bathrooms as one of them onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria_barrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our property. It was lovely to receive your review and I will pass your comments onto my staff. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed our property and facilities. Thank you, Aimee Royle (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

My 2 girlfriends and I went to Melbourne for a girls weekend and it was fantastic. We paid for a Room with 2 bedrooms (1 with king/queen and 2 single beds in the other room). Room was clean, spacious, had lots of cupboards. There was enough room everything we needed, it was more than what we needed. It was great to be able to use the oven to heat up our breakfasts and brewing tea in a teapot.

We found this to be 1 of the more quieter Quests as it is more closer to the business side where on weekends there are hardly anybody around. This hotel was the cheapest of the other few we researched which were in very busy city areas. Overall a good stay but just a bit far from the places we were planning on going to.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of Quest on William. My team and I are very happy to hear you enjoyed staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you to the property again soon.
Regards, Aimee Royle (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I was in Melbourne on business for most of a week and stayed at the Quest on William. It was conveniently located and comfortable enough. The separate living room and bedroom was nice. The absence of free Wi-Fi was a nuisance, and the place is lacking in charm, but we enjoyed our stay. The laundry facility in the apartment was very nice and we could walk to everything.

Room Tip: no restaurant or lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefdoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. It was lovely to receive your review and I will pass your comments onto my staff. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed our property and facilities.
I have taken your comments on board regarding the wifi (currently it is only free in our foyer area) and hopefully next time you stay with us, we will have implemented free wifi throughout the building.
Thank you, Aimee Royle (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#28 of 159 in Melbourne
1,653 reviews
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#43 of 159 in Melbourne
1,400 reviews
Central Business District
Wyndham Hotel Melbourne
Wyndham Hotel Melbourne
#47 of 159 in Melbourne
460 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest on William? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on William

Property: Quest on William
Address: 172 William St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#55 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest on William 4.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest on William provides a delightful 4 1/2 star experience, superbly located in the legal and banking heartland of Melbourne. Just minutes away, experiences of a different kind can be found at Melbourne's Crown Casino, Southbank, Etihad Stadium, Queen Victoria Market and The Arts Precinct, all within a short walk or tram ride. These spacious apartments boast many features, including wireless internet, fully equipped kitchen and laundry facilities along with separate living and dining areas. There's space to work or entertain, making your stay as pleasant as it is convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest on William reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On William Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing