We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good space and superb location”
Review of Quest on William

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quest on William
Ranked #73 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed here for my sister inlaw's wedding and Christmas holiday. The first thing that really comes up in mind was the location, perfectly situated in the CBD surrounded by law institutions with very easy access to the tram that connect you the areas of Melbourne. Note that tough it is situated in the CBD, area of this premises was far from crowded, very nice and quiet. The Shopping and entertainment belt also pretty close, either take the tram or walk if you like. The Staff are great, they were polite, helpful, and always smiling! Our party booked 2 units of 2 bedrooms and 1 unit of 1 bedroom apartment. The space of the units are very nice, complete utensils in the kitchen, everything are just perfect for apartment stay. The little minor thing was about room cleaning, it was a little bit too general, or even too few, I just try not to compare to hotel stay. But in conclusion I really had a pleasant stay at Quest on Williams.

Room Tip: Any rooms will do
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tuscanyid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Thank you for your review of Quest on William. The team and I are happy to hear you enjoyed staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you to the property again soon.

Aimee Royle (General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (655)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

579 - 585 of 655 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed here for five nights over New Year 2013. Apartment was well maintained and regularly serviced, and well appointed - kitchen in particular was bigger than in many comparable apartments I have used in Australia, and had the benefit of full laundry facilities.

Bedrooms were spacious and clean, beds excellent - both rooms had large and comfortable beds and we slept well! Location is good.

Only disappointment is the need to pay $10 per night for wi-fi - in this day and age and given the cost of the apartments you would reasonably expect to have this free I believe.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of Quest on William. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our great location!! I trust we have the pleasure of welcoming you again should you travel to Australia in the future. Aimee Royle Quest on William (General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights, booked it via Booking.com mainly because of the relatively low rate (every hotel/apartment in the CBD was very expensive during those particular days, this was the cheapest apart from some hostels!). We definitely got our money's worth and all three of us felt this was probably the best place we stayed in during the 3 weeks we spent in Australia.

Location was great, William St is not the busiest street but still central, and Southern Cross Station is only two blocks away. The apartment itself was a beautiful, modern two bedroom apartment with a very good kitchen and a big bathroom. Bathroom had both shower and bathtub. Wi-fi wasn't free of charge, but it was cheap compared to some of the other hotels or apartments we had stayed in.

What I loved most was that right after I made the booking via Booking.com, someone in the reception called me to ask what kind of a group we are: whether we are couples, friends, a family. This probably took up a minute of their time, but made us very happy - we got exactly the kind of beds we were hoping for. A very nice gesture! Very smart too, since they sort of made life easier for themselves too by avoiding the slightly uncomfortable situation when customers are given for instance 2 twin beds instead of 1 king bed or vice versa.

Highly recommend this place since it is very convenient: you get to have an entire apartment to yourselves, while still living in a hotel which has a reception (not 24h, but even during the night someone is on duty) and daily housekeeping. They also have a fitness room but we felt too lazy to use it ;) We were 1 couple and our friend, three adults in total, but I can imagine this also being ideal for families with children.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pinsoyfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of Quest on William. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I trust we have the pleasure of welcoming you again should you travel to Australia in the future. Aimee Royle Quest on William (General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

The staff at quest on William are by far the most friendly hotel staff I've meet. Keep up the great work!

Great location and a very reasonable price.

I highly recommend quest to anyone staying in Melbourne.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corptraveller1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of our property. I am very happy to hear you enjoy staying with us and you think so highly of our customer service.
The team and I look forward to welcoming you to the property again soon.

Thankyou, Aimee Royle (General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed in the Executive Two-Bedroom Apartment 808 for three nights after Christmas. The Quest on William is located conveniently close to Bourke St trams and only several blocks from Spencer St Station. This proximity allows easy access to great cafes and restaurants, shoppings areas and tourist attractions. While many of the centrally located attractions are easily walkable, the trams run very frequently so the wait is never too long. Apart from the closeness to the city, the Quest apartments offer spacious living. The bedrooms are large, with ample wardrobe space. The lounge room and dining area are sizeable and the kitchen was equipped with dishwasher, microwave and plenty of plates and glasses to make our stay more comfortable. Though the apartment also offered a washing machine and dryer, we didn't use these facilities. We enjoyed the outside balcony from our apartment, overlooking the dome of the Supreme Court. Some beautiful views and photo opportunities here! The only slight criticism was the ensuite shower to the main bedroom. The ensuite was ample in size, but the shower very small. With plenty of space, this was disappointing. The main bathroom was larger, offering a shower over the full-sized bath. However, given the general apartment size, the fact that our apartment was serviced daily and definite closeness to so many of the city's attractions, this was certainly another very enjoyable stay and it will be a place that we will stay for coming trips to Melbourne.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maree1603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of Quest on William. The team and I are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, and I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Aimee Royle
Quest on William (General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed in a two-bedroom apartment. While it was small everything that you wanted was there and worked. The main bedroom, or at least the one that had a window, had two single beds while the second was at the rear and had a double bed and open to the apartment. The apartment was spotlessly clean and the service friendly and efficient. They stored our luggage for us after check out and followed up on any requests.
The key to these units is the location. Everything is within 10-15 minutes walk and there are plenty of cafes for breakfast and the restaurants and Chinatown are also within easy walking distance. Apart from that Melbourne's efficient tram system allows you to go anywhere around the CBD and surrounding suburbs.
Highly recommended for short stays in the CBD.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TasMissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Thank you for your review of Quest on William. I are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, and trust we have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon. Aimee Royle Quest on William (General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment for one night. Check in was easy and the gentleman behind the counter was friendly. The apartment was spotlessly clean and well appointed. We were surprised however to find no windows in the bedrooms. Both rooms had a double bed. We required two singles in one room and a roll-away was brought up immediately. Parking was easy and right underneath the hotel. We thought the $20 was a reasonable cost considering location. The apartments are within close walking distance to Flinders Street station and Federation Square. I would recommend these apartments for a short or long-term stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Thank you for your recent review of Quest on William. The team and I are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, and trust we have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Aimee Royle
Quest on William (General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#24 of 161 in Melbourne
2,083 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#49 of 161 in Melbourne
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 161 in Melbourne
1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest on William? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on William

Address: 172 William St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#68 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $118 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest on William 4.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest on William provides a delightful 4 1/2 star experience, superbly located in the legal and banking heartland of Melbourne. Just minutes away, experiences of a different kind can be found at Melbourne's Crown Casino, Southbank, Etihad Stadium, Queen Victoria Market and The Arts Precinct, all within a short walk or tram ride. These spacious apartments boast many features, including wireless internet, fully equipped kitchen and laundry facilities along with separate living and dining areas. There's space to work or entertain, making your stay as pleasant as it is convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quest on William reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On William Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing