We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A place to look forward to at the end of our Great Ocean Road drive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quest on William

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quest on William
Ranked #87 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A place to look forward to at the end of our Great Ocean Road drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We stayed 1 night in the 2 bedroom executive after coming back from Phillip Island and then for another 2 nights in the 2 bedroom apartment after the Great Ocean Road drive. We found ourselves measuring all the other apartments against Quest on William after the 1 night's stay and were really looking forward to the last 2 nights stay upon our return to Melbourne!

The reservation process was very smooth, all done via email and staff were prompt and polite. I arranged for overnight parking for the 1 night and requested for a cot for the stay. These were all arranged beforehand - no fuss. Check in was fairly efficient, staff was professional.

There are stairs between the carpark and the lift lobby so it wasn't easy unloading the luggage. One of the lifts was under maintenance so the wait for the lift can be long. The 2 bedroom executive is very spacious with a flight of stairs leading to the 2 bedrooms upstairs. Each bedroom upstairs has its own attached bathroom. Very convenient if you are travelling with other couples. There is even another toilet downstairs behind the kitchen. The unit comes with washer and dryer with detergent provided. Our unit's dryer wasn't working but the staff very kindly allowed us to use another unit's dryer.

The kitchen is fully equipped and very spacious. My parents loved it! You can cook your own meals...the only thing missing is the food but I think they even have a service where they do the grocery shopping for you! There is a dishwasher (they provide dishwashing liquid for use with the machine and also for handwashing in convenient sachets), microwave oven, fridge, induction cooker, pots, crockery and even baking trays.

The bedrooms are comfortable and clean. The living room is spacious and there is even a small balcony in the 2 bedroom executive. The standard 2 bedroom apartment is smaller but still a good-sized apartment with the same equipment (i.e. washer, dryer, kitchen equipment etc). The differences are that the 2 BR executive's bedrooms are upstairs and there is a 3rd toilet (just WC, no shower stall) and of course, the 2 BR executive is more spacious in general.

There is a small gym (we checked it out but didn't use it) in the building and the parking is safe and secure (there's roller shutters to make sure only authorised vehicles are allowed in).
Location of Quest on William is very central and I found it very ideal. Queen Victoria Market, Chinatown, Greek precinct and Bourke Street Mall are all within walking distance. Note that there's no one to help with luggage so be prepared to DIY. Otherwise, the staff were helpful and even helped us book a taxi to the airport. Overall, we enjoyed our stay with Quest on William and would certainly recommend the place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gimme_a_holiday82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, October 23, 2011
Thank you for your recent review of Quest on William. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and it is a pleasure to receive such great feedback.

We pride ourselves on offering convenient, spacious and affordable accommodation for the leisure and business traveler alike. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property again soon.

Aimee Royle
Quest on William (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    142
    51
    12
    4
See reviews for
100
44
9
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

I have recently returned from my first trip to Melbourne. Quest on William was a great place to stay for location & convenience.
I stayed in both the 2 bedroom standard & the 2 bedroom executive.
They were both great but the 2 bedroom executive was much more spacious.
Staff were very helpful & the little cafe next door is great for coffee & breakfast but is closed on weekends.
Would recommend.

Room Tip: Definately the 2 bedroom executive was more spacious. The only downside to the 2 bedroom standard t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ju-liann22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Thank you for your recent feedback. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Quest on William. We look forward to seeing you next time you travel to Melbourne.

Warm Regards, Aimee Royle (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

We stayed here in a 2 bedroom apartment for 2 nights. We found it very clean and extremely spacious and comfortable. The staff were helpful and friendly. It had everything we needed and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clearclearclear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Thank you for your recent review of Quest on William. The team and I are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, and trust we have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Aimee Royle
Quest on William (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Stayed for one night but will definitely be back. 2 bed apartment was probably the cleanest we have stayed in (and we are fussy!). Very comfortable and very tidy. Excellent position for Melbourne CBD and Bourke St Mall, the staff were very helpful, knowledgeable and efficient. The last Quest we stayed at in Melbourne let the company down, however this one redeemed them!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickD1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, September 25, 2011
I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Quest on William and I thank you for the feedback. We look forward to seeing you next time you travel to Melbourne.

Warm Regards, Aimee Royle (General Manager).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Girls weekend in Melbourne so we had a 2 bedroom unit. It was 'just what we needed'. We covered all of the CBD by foot and tram, this location is very handy especially to the Vic Markets and all the restaurants in Hardware lane. Quiet unit overlooking the Movida restaurant area and even though it was a Friday and Saturday night there was no noise. The front desk reception staff were spot on, very helpful, nothing a problem. Noting fancy or over the top here but what they do offer is well done. The unit itself was well set up, very generous kitchen , one large bathroom for us which wasn't a problem. Really enjoyed our stay and have already planned the return trip next year.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fussiestcow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Quest on William. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Warm Regards, Aimee Royle (General Manager).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

Stayed here for five nights with some girlfriends from interstate. The apartment was quiet, clean, quite spacious and well equiped. The reception staff were helpful and the location was great. Not far from Bourke Street Mall and close to trams if you don't want to walk. Would defintely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mayble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Quest on William. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Warm Regards, Aimee Royle (General Manager).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

I was in Melbourne for work and my wife came with me. The rooms are a good size and the bed was comfortable. Flat screen TV with foxtel, comfortable sofas. Close to Etiad Stadium for the footie and plenty of restaurants close by, Vic markets only a short stroll. The staff were very helpful.
Only complaint was I particularly was looking for a location with an onsite gym - which is advertised on the website, but they don't have one. You can use the Melbourne Baths at a charge of $10. Bit of false advertising on the website.
The lighting uses low voltage so it is a bit dark but I didn't find that a problem. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Request a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Swanee59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
My name is Aimee Royle and I am the general manager of Quest on William. I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our property and voice your concerns regarding our gym and energy efficient lighting. We have recently installed a small gym onsite, and I apologise that you were not informed about how to access the gym upon check-in.

Please be assured I have taken your comments on board and am looking into options to fix the concerns you mentioned.

Thank you again for completing your review, they are very helpful in allowing me to identify and overcome issues at a property level.

Should you wish to discuss your review further, please feel free to contact me.

Kind Regards,

Aimee Royle
General Manager
03 9605 2222
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#40 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 948 reviews
Central Business District
Wyndham Hotel Melbourne
Wyndham Hotel Melbourne
#29 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 392 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#28 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,208 reviews
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Central Business District
Oaks on Market
Oaks on Market
#85 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest on William? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on William

Property: Quest on William
Address: 172 William St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#55 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#79 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest on William 4.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest on William provides a delightful 4 1/2 star experience, superbly located in the legal and banking heartland of Melbourne. Just minutes away, experiences of a different kind can be found at Melbourne's Crown Casino, Southbank, Etihad Stadium, Queen Victoria Market and The Arts Precinct, all within a short walk or tram ride. These spacious apartments boast many features, including wireless internet, fully equipped kitchen and laundry facilities along with separate living and dining areas. There's space to work or entertain, making your stay as pleasant as it is convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Quest on William reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On William Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing