We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was pretty good - will stay again”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Quest on William

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quest on William
Ranked #53 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“It was pretty good - will stay again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

I was in Melbourne for work and my wife came with me. The rooms are a good size and the bed was comfortable. Flat screen TV with foxtel, comfortable sofas. Close to Etiad Stadium for the footie and plenty of restaurants close by, Vic markets only a short stroll. The staff were very helpful.
Only complaint was I particularly was looking for a location with an onsite gym - which is advertised on the website, but they don't have one. You can use the Melbourne Baths at a charge of $10. Bit of false advertising on the website.
The lighting uses low voltage so it is a bit dark but I didn't find that a problem. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Request a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Swanee59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
My name is Aimee Royle and I am the general manager of Quest on William. I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our property and voice your concerns regarding our gym and energy efficient lighting. We have recently installed a small gym onsite, and I apologise that you were not informed about how to access the gym upon check-in.

Please be assured I have taken your comments on board and am looking into options to fix the concerns you mentioned.

Thank you again for completing your review, they are very helpful in allowing me to identify and overcome issues at a property level.

Should you wish to discuss your review further, please feel free to contact me.

Kind Regards,

Aimee Royle
General Manager
03 9605 2222
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    205
    78
    13
    5
See reviews for
169
68
13
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney - Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

Nothing wrong with this place. The rooms are nice enough and clean and the beds comfy. Our 2 bedroom had a decent lounge area and a flat screen TV. Reasonably well located, walk to pretty much everywhere in the city

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ARReynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, November 14, 2016
Thank-you for you feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

This apartment hotel is exactly as you would expect - the reviews and website give an accurate indication of what you get. I would like to commend the staff - they were very polite and helpful - all of the staff we dealt with were great. The biggest concern is the size of the shower - my daughter who is tall had great difficulty, and I found it uncomfortable and I am average sized. The lighting in the bedrooms and the lounge area was terrible too, but the bathroom lighting was OK. On average - it was what I expected. I would stay again if I wanted an apartment, as the location is great.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetravel92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
My name is Aimee Royle and I am the general manager of Quest on William. I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our property and voice your concerns regarding the size of the shower and the lighting during your stay.

Please be assured I have taken your comments on board and am looking into options to fix the concerns you mentioned.

Thank you again for completing your review, they are very helpful in allowing me to identify and overcome issues at a property level.

Should you wish to discuss your review further, please feel free to contact me.

Kind Regards,

Aimee Royle
General Manager
03 9605 2222
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
206 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

Look, this place is fine. I stayed here for a 2 night business stay. It's corporate accommodation, meaning nice enough beds, big living room and a kitchen you'll never use unless you're staying 2 weeks. It's close to everything (including a good spanish restaurant called Movida), but like most corporate style accommodation, there is no pool, no gym, no nothing. So it feels as boring as a dog's dot. I ddn't pay for it mind you, so no idea what it costs. It's probably worth about $150 a night due to its location....

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urbancrusader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, November 14, 2016
Thank-you for you feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

Two of us stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for two nights. The apartment was in good condition and well appointed, although TV reception on some channels is poor. Location is handy to the rest of the Melbourne CBD although there is some late night noise as revellers return from the King St bars/adult entertainment area which is not far away. There was one issue that was a major annoyance. When comparing prices to alternatives with car parking and breakfast included, it should be taken into account that parking here is $20 per night (which is clearly set out on the website) but the claim that breakfast is included (on the website at the time of booking) is deceptive. The breakfast included consists of packs with cereal, longlife milk and popper orange juice and is only included for one day of a two night stay. We were not impressed and would not stay here again as for the price taking into account costs for parking and breakfast, there are better options in or adjacent to the Melbourne CBD.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank aussietony_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, General Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
My name is Aimee Royle and I am the general manager of Quest on William. I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our property and voice your concerns regarding rates and inclusions during your stay.

Please be assured I have taken your comments on board and am looking into options to fix the concerns you mentioned.

Thank you again for completing your review, they are very helpful in allowing me to identify and overcome issues at a property level.

Should you wish to discuss your review further, please feel free to contact me.

Kind Regards,

Aimee Royle
General Manager
03 9605 2222
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

Since discovering Quest on William earlier this year, we've stayed every time we visit Melbourne for business. The location is particularly convenient without being surrounded by the pubs and nightclubs you often find in Melbourne's CBD.

It looks as though it's been re-furbished within the last year or so, with nice furniture and LCD tv's etc...

Highly recommend Quest on William if you are looking for a well located hotel in Melbourne city.

Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank penjonesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, November 14, 2016
Thank-you for you feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2011

i stayed here with a friend and our 14 year old daughters for a girls weekend. We had a 2 bedroom/1 bathroom apartment that was quiet, clean, modern, spacious and the staff were helpful and friendly. We were going to Docklands for the evening which was only a 20 min walk away and CBD was only a walk down the hill. My only regret was that sadly they had no 2 bathroom apartments left as 4 girls sharing 1 bathroom was hard. Price was reasonable and we were able to get 2 carpark spaces. There is no swimming pool, restaurant or bar but this suited us.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vespa2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestonWilliam, Manager at Quest on William, responded to this review, November 14, 2016
Thank-you for you feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#30 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Wyndham Hotel Melbourne
Wyndham Hotel Melbourne
#39 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#31 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest on William? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on William

Property: Quest on William
Address: 172 William St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#49 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#55 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest on William 4.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest on William provides a delightful 4 1/2 star experience, superbly located in the legal and banking heartland of Melbourne. Just minutes away, experiences of a different kind can be found at Melbourne's Crown Casino, Southbank, Etihad Stadium, Queen Victoria Market and The Arts Precinct, all within a short walk or tram ride. These spacious apartments boast many features, including wireless internet, fully equipped kitchen and laundry facilities along with separate living and dining areas. There's space to work or entertain, making your stay as pleasant as it is convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest on William reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On William Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing