We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Ranked #67 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2010

Stayed in a 1 bedroom deluxe unit. One queen bedroom with ensuite, single bedroom with adjoining toilet/powder room. Lounge, kitchen etc. Great apartment with everything you need. Location is fabulous. As previous reviews stated yes you do hear some noise from the street ... but what do you expect staying in the heart of the city! Staff friendly and helpful. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thedabbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (605)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

571 - 577 of 605 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2010

Punt Hill Flinders Lane has a fantastic location in Melbourne. Very convenient to all the sites, transportation and restaurants in the CBD as well as shopping and grocery stores. The apartment was neat and clean and I liked having service each day, although the housekeeping does come too early. The staff was very helpful and friendly, offering a cheerful greeting when we came and went from the lobby. They recommended and printed out google maps for restaurants and helped arrange taxi transport to the airport.

The only downside was the noise at night and in the early AM. Flinders Lane is quite a busy place and it seemed that garbage was picked up every morning; at times I thought there were conversations occurring right inside the apartment due to the thin glassed windows. I think a big improvement would be to replace the windows with double or triple paned glass to cut down on the noise. Another slight downside was that the laundry was in the common hallway, and only one coin operated washer and dryer. This required a bit of planning so you can retrieve your clothes so others can make use of them.

All in all it was a lovely place and a great stay in Melbourne. I would recommend Punt Hill Flinders Lane, especially for its location. Melbourne was my favorite place during our 3 week visit to Australia.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stewir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

This Hotel has just been renovated , we has a One Bedroom which was very comfortable and had all you need , LCD TV , DVD player and a full kitchen. The Staff went out of their way to make sure we felt at home and nothing was any trouble even when we had problems with our DVD Player in our room and replaced it with a brand new one .

It was a big surprise to us that the Apartment was serviced daily, considering that we were under the impression by the inroom details said not on the weekends.

The great thing about the place is its location , close to Flinders Street Station, Federation Square , Tram Stops and even the free City Circle Tram. Just around the Lane ways lots of funky Cafes and places to eat, plenty of shopping.

Now I know people have complained about the noise , and yes we had a little however in the bedroom with the double glazed glass we slept very well.

All in all a great stay , with great staff and very convient location.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rickmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Stay started off unpleasantly when we arrived to find that the hotel had lost our booking for the car. The night manager appeared very irritated to be disturbed when contacted (via the central booking office) to assist. After we were told there was unlikely to be a car park waiting for us, we'd just have to head on down and try. Just a warning to anyone intending to park there - the car park was INCREDIBLY tight, the worst I've experienced - we were lucky we had a very small car.

The rooms were very spacious and clean but the place is not well insulated from noise. Was constantly woken by street sweepers and garbage collectors....A colleague was also staying here for 3 nights. On the second night she found her air conditioning was not working. She was told there was nothing they could do (no offer of another room) and gave her a 20 cm fan to warm up the apartment - not a pleasant experience in the middle of winter....

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Verdi05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights during July, and it would have to be in one of the best locations in Melbourne CBD!! Our apartment window opened up the smells from Degreaves St.....aaahhhhhh perfect 1st thing in the morning. The apartments were a little on the 'cosy' side, but at the same time I still found them good value for money. The staff were very friendly, and the rooms were well set out, we had everything we needed...which was really only a bed to sleep and somewhere to drop our shopping! Would recommend this place and probably stay there again :)

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jo_dunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2010

As this was one of the most popular sports weekends (AFL and F1) of the year, what a great time for our friends to schedule their wedding in the heart of the city! Finding accommodation was tricky but with their help we settled on this place which provided an excellent location for our long-weekend in Melbourne. Location is the best thing this place has going for it. Very handy for access to the local coffee shops, public transport and just a short walk from Federation Square and the river.
The bedroom was small and windows looked across into local the library and offices (accountants in Melbourne knock off early on Fridays!). But a small kitchen with fridge meant we had a place to store water and juice. As we did not have much time to spend in the flat, it worked fine for us. Don't expect any views or a peaceful place to while away a few hours. Punt Hill does what is says on the tin: a good, functional location that comes at a price.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duck4360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2010

Really? 4 stars people? stairs at the entrance, stairs to get to the elevator - people have suitcases when they check into hotels? - odd rooms, dated decor and very limited amenities make this hotel a real disappointment.

The only good thing about this hotel is the location. Thats about it. No doorman, no bellhop, no room service, no one at the front desk after 9pm, elevators that do not function without an access card, old fashione non-electronic room keys, uncomfortable furniture, dated tvs and basic rooms make this hotel a real disappointment. Will i return?

No thank you Punt Hill. I do not recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeffDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#33 of 161 in Melbourne
215 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Manhattan
Punthill Manhattan
#91 of 161 in Melbourne
394 reviews
Central Business District
Flinders Landing Apartments
Flinders Landing Apartments
#106 of 161 in Melbourne
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#68 of 161 in Melbourne
5,258 reviews
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments

Address: 267 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#63 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $96 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most vibrant part of Melbourne CBD. Punthill Flinders Lane is surrounded by fashion, food and culture reflecting the ambiance and charm of Melbourne's quirky laneways and eclectic cafes. Punthill Flinders Lane is a short stroll to Federation Square, Regent Theatre, Southbank and Crown Casino. Sporting Venues such as AAMI Stadium, Rod Laver Arena, MCG and Etihad Stadium are also within close proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing