We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST LOCATION!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Ranked #51 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“BEST LOCATION!!”
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights during July, and it would have to be in one of the best locations in Melbourne CBD!! Our apartment window opened up the smells from Degreaves St.....aaahhhhhh perfect 1st thing in the morning. The apartments were a little on the 'cosy' side, but at the same time I still found them good value for money. The staff were very friendly, and the rooms were well set out, we had everything we needed...which was really only a bed to sleep and somewhere to drop our shopping! Would recommend this place and probably stay there again :)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo_dunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    248
    89
    19
    23
See reviews for
124
197
34
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
127 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2010

As this was one of the most popular sports weekends (AFL and F1) of the year, what a great time for our friends to schedule their wedding in the heart of the city! Finding accommodation was tricky but with their help we settled on this place which provided an excellent location for our long-weekend in Melbourne. Location is the best thing this place has going for it. Very handy for access to the local coffee shops, public transport and just a short walk from Federation Square and the river.
The bedroom was small and windows looked across into local the library and offices (accountants in Melbourne knock off early on Fridays!). But a small kitchen with fridge meant we had a place to store water and juice. As we did not have much time to spend in the flat, it worked fine for us. Don't expect any views or a peaceful place to while away a few hours. Punt Hill does what is says on the tin: a good, functional location that comes at a price.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duck4360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffDL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2010

Really? 4 stars people? stairs at the entrance, stairs to get to the elevator - people have suitcases when they check into hotels? - odd rooms, dated decor and very limited amenities make this hotel a real disappointment.

The only good thing about this hotel is the location. Thats about it. No doorman, no bellhop, no room service, no one at the front desk after 9pm, elevators that do not function without an access card, old fashione non-electronic room keys, uncomfortable furniture, dated tvs and basic rooms make this hotel a real disappointment. Will i return?

No thank you Punt Hill. I do not recommend.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2010

This is the second time myself and friends have used these apartments and they have plenty of space, are central for shopping, trams, trains and buses.
Good security also if staying alone. We would certainly stay there agan when we return to Melbourne.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetpeapb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2010

I recently had two stays here, one for work where I stayed a studio apartment and another where I stayed with friends in a two bedroom apartment. One thing I didnt know was reception closes at 8pm so will have to annoy the manager when you arrive, if you know you are going to be late maybe let them know cos they had no idea I was coming (booked through work). The studio apartment was extremely roomy and really good value though when I stayed in the two bedroom apartment its not much bigger and the second room was pretty small. Not unbearable but after staying in the studio it wasnt much difference in size. Location though is hard to beat with Degreaves Street literally around the corner and right next to Flinders Station and a short walk to everywhere. Overall I wouldnt hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLMAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2010

I've had two visits to this hotel for work, and based on this, chose to stay here again when visiting Melbourne for a bit of retail therapy with my daughter.

As with previous visits, I can't really fault this place. The location for a holiday visit to the city is just as appropriate as for a work trip. The abundance (and variety) of eating establishments within metres of the place is excellent.

I had actually booked the accommodation via a special offer for last November, on the basis that the booking was non-transferable and non-refundable. Changes in plans meant that the November trip was not able to happen, and I called the hotel to see if I could work out some sort of a deal, rather than lose the entire amount that I had paid in advance.

The management could not have been more helpful. While under no obligation to do so, they cheerfully offered to change the booking from November to February for me.

My daughter and I shopped up a storm. We've started saving up for the next visit, and I will have no hesitation about booking in here again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susannah_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2010

the motel is very well situated, go down the lane turn right walk to the end of street (50-100m) and you're in front of flinders street station. the staff were very freindly and helpful.
the rooms were clean amenities and tv were good. only complaint is that the room next to the one i was staying in had squeaky floorboards which made me nervous as i kept thinking someone was in my room it seemed so close! haha.
there is also a cafe which has excellent food on the ground level. if that doesn't float your boat there are heaps of little eateries, cafes and resturaunts down flinders lane to suit any appetite
if its your first time to melbourne i extremely reccommended getting the skybus at melbourne tullamarine airport. its excellent value and includes a shuttle to selected motels(including this one) so you are not wondering around getting lost.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sassyscameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#39 of 159 in Melbourne
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Punthill Manhattan
Punthill Manhattan
#83 of 159 in Melbourne
378 reviews
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#65 of 159 in Melbourne
4,707 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments

Property: Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Address: 267 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most vibrant part of Melbourne CBD. Punthill Flinders Lane is surrounded by fashion, food and culture reflecting the ambiance and charm of Melbourne's quirky laneways and eclectic cafes. Punthill Flinders Lane is a short stroll to Federation Square, Regent Theatre, Southbank and Crown Casino. Sporting Venues such as AAMI Stadium, Rod Laver Arena, MCG and Etihad Stadium are also within close proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing