We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 night holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Ranked #53 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5 night holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

Stayed here with my friends for 5 days. Lift didn't always work, there are 2 one always seemed to work. But we didn't have to take stairs. Receptionist was helpful, but seemed busy person. Lovely set out and layout, even though on quite narrow land. Room was comfortable. Noise was well kept out. Location was great, which is what we wanted. So close to trains, trams, supermarket and all the food/dinner places in the lane ways. Would go back!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Lisa A,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Flinders Lane.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and yes, the location is amazing, right in the heart of the city. A new lift is being installed at the property shortly.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    231
    86
    19
    22
See reviews for
118
183
31
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights, arriving 20 Feb, reception area was a shock, though the staff were pretty helpful. Our room was satisfactory and cleaned to a reasonable standard. The lift was a disappointment during our stay, particularly on our departure in the early morning in order to catch our shuttle, found the lift not working, called reception (offsite) and was told the manager would be along. Waited and no sign of him, so had to cart our bags down stairs from the 5th floor, to come out into an alleyway and garbage smells! Found our way to front of building and met the manager where I expressed my dissatisfaction, he did not offer an explanation or apology for the inconvenience. This was a disappointing end to our stay as the location was excellent for us.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Director at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Jeanette S,
We are so sorry that your stay was not perfect. A brand new lift is being installed shortly.
Quite extensive renovations at the property have been completed and we would love the opportunity to welcome you back to this wonderful location in the city in the future.
Kind regards,
Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

We arrived on 26th Feb for a two night stay, before our flight back to the uk, we were greeted with a building site!

The Receptionist checked us in and then ran off to the office, she obviously had lots of work and was trying to work from both the desk and the office. We then got in the most unnerving lift, we have ever been in!

The apartments are well equipped, comfortable and clean, but dated. The location is very good if you like the lane ways of Melbourne, short walks to the station, the tram, the aquarium and federation square. The Receptionists are friendly and informed.

But.....we HOPE that the updating of the apartments is including 1. Double glazed windows, to block the noise of the alleys, no one needs to hear late night parties (unless you are in the party!) or early morning refuse collections 2. New floors, the creaking with every footstep is awful! 3. New lifts, the lifts, (well lift, one was out of action) are far from good, very scary.

Before booking, call, make sure the building works are finished! Unless you want to be woken by drills, share lifts with builders, tools, laundry, cleaning trolleys and cleaners, and have to dodge paint brushes and plasterers to enter and exit the building.

We agree that the building works need to go ahead, but a little warning would have been much appreciated.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lisa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Director at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Lisa Y,
We are so sorry that your stay was less than perfect. The renovations of the foyer are almost complete, with just some minor tiling to be done.
Unfortunately the disadvantage of staying in the very heart of the city is some inevitable city noise and we do apologise. Lifts are being replaced shortly but the current lifts, whilst old, are extremely safe and reliable.
We do hope to welcome you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

me and my partner stayed in feb 2014 we where abit shocked of the renovations and the lift was a bit scary, room was ok. I did walk out of our room with no shoes to the laundry and had a nail stick into my foot which wasn't nice the next day I noticed it had been removed the only few things we could grumble at when asking the reception lady what coins the washing machine took she could tell me which I thought was weird and at 8.45 the room cleaner knock once didn't wait for reply and tried to barge in and also we noticed he only made the bed and didn't clean or replace soap etc but the young girl who cleaned the room after that was great always clean I think she du\id a excellent job. For her employers she should get a pat on the back for a job well doe.

Room Tip: not near the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ANNEMAREE2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear ANNEMAREE2014,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Flinders Lane.
We do apologise for the renovations - the foyer has now been completed save for some minor tiling which will commence in a month's time.
Some of our most experienced managers are at this property and all the matters you mention will be addressed and rectified without delay.
We do hope to welcome you back soon to a fresh and renovated property.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Great location,completely charming receptionist on arrival Friday night 21/2 who went out of her way to be helpful...the renovations mean that the place has a temporary looking lift ,we stayed in the weekend when no work was being done so it was ok...my only complaint was some of the staff seem a little annoyed to be there ! apartments are clean ,pretty dark but in a great location for all the areas attractions...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Natalee S,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Flinders Lane.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. The staff you refer to are in fact no longer with us and we are certain that all Punthill staff are warm and welcoming as of course they should be.
We do hope to welcome you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

I stayed in Studio for two nights in late Nov 2013. It's a very popular apartment that needed to be booked at least 6 months earlier for a reasonable price (or just sold out). As a return visitor in Melbourne, I planned to stay in Flinders Street/Lane as I could easily walk to Southbank or Chinatown. There's a large Cole Supermarkets nearby.
However, I was a bit disappointed when I got the 1/F room. It's darker and smaller than I had expected, and there's no laundry inside the room (which is stated in the official website). The reception explained that there's a shared laundry in every floor (then the description in official website is misleading). The open kitchen was also not good, too small for cooking. The hot water in bathroom was not stable too, after I had a quick shower, my partner got a cold one...
Please note that there's no 24-hr reception, if you have to check-in late, you have to call and wait for sometime until someone shows up....
Probably choose other apartment if I return to Melbourne again.

Room Tip: If there's other room, don't pick the 1/F one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Mandy C,
Thank you for your review. As you mention, this property is extremely popular because of the outstanding location. We do have a property right in Chinatown too if that is your preferred location in the CBD.
The apartment you stayed in faces the vibrant and trendy Degraves Street, which brims with one eclectic café after another. We are not sure where you saw that there is a laundry in each apartment as our website states "guest laundry". We do have a fully equipped kitchen in the apartment, which has good size oven, fridge, microwave etc. Each apartment has its own individual hot water system.
We are certainly able to cater for late check-ins - a key safe allows guests immediate access to their keys and we do have management on the property 24 hours, although they are not physically at the desk late at night. They are available if there is a problem.
We do hope to welcome you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Punthill Manhattan
Punthill Manhattan
#82 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#57 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Central Business District
Flinders Landing Apartments
Flinders Landing Apartments
#99 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#63 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments

Property: Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Address: 267 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most vibrant part of Melbourne CBD. Punthill Flinders Lane is surrounded by fashion, food and culture reflecting the ambiance and charm of Melbourne's quirky laneways and eclectic cafes. Punthill Flinders Lane is a short stroll to Federation Square, Regent Theatre, Southbank and Crown Casino. Sporting Venues such as AAMI Stadium, Rod Laver Arena, MCG and Etihad Stadium are also within close proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing