We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very spacious” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Ranked #56 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very spacious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed here for three nights to meet up with family and found the 1 bedroom apartment was very roomy with everything we needed for our stay. Staff were friendly and helpful and arranged for my sister to be in the adjoining room without any bother. She had a studio which also was very roomy. This hotel is very close to Flinders Street Station which makes it a great spot if you need to travel around and also tram stops are just out on the main street.

Room Tip: Request a room to the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squeaky57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear squeaky57,
We are delighted that you and your family members had such an enjoyable stay at Punthill Flinders Lane and we thank you for taking the time to provide your comments on TripAdvisor.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill another time.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    230
    86
    19
    22
See reviews for
118
183
31
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed here for three nights recently with my elderly mother on the way home from a family trip. The hotel was kind enough to give us adjoining apartments at the back of the hotel as we had requested quiet rooms and my mother needed the apartment which had a walk in shower. (This is an older style hotel so the rooms at the front or Degraves St side can be a bit noisy at times). The rooms were comfortable, large and had everything we needed - full kitchen, good airconditioning etc. I quite liked the decoration, which some reviewers have described as quirky. The location is fantastic being very close to Southbank, Federation Square, and the beautiful shopping arcades etc. There is also a supermarket very close in Elizabeth Street.
When we left, the lady on reception (Monica) called a cab and when it was delayed due to rain etc, made sure that she phoned the company to hurry it up so that we got to the airport on time. This was terrific service, thank you Monica!

Room Tip: If noise bothers you, get a room which is not either at the front or the Degraves Street side of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adelaidetraveller455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Adelaidetraveller455,
Thanks so much for your very complimentary review of Punthill Flinders Lane.
The team at the property will be thrilled to know that all your expectations were met during your recent stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here for the Grand Prix in March. The location was excellent, and it was nice o have a bit more space than a standard hotel room.

The front desk was frantic when we arrived, but only had to wait 20 minutes or so before checking in, then were able to go to our room. The room was clean and the bed comfortable, pretty much everything we wanted. I was worried there might have been noise from Degraves Street below, but could hear nothing at all.

Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McNs12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear McNs12,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Flinders Lane.
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay earlier in the year and we hope to welcome you back to Punthill sometime soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed here because I had a conference next door. The cost of the rooms was very competitive and they were clean and off a good size. I liked that the windows could be opened and that the blinds were really good so daytime naps could be taken. Having the well organised and equipped kitchen was great as we are really health conscious and this allowed up to keep and prepare our own food. Yes there were night time noises but you are inner = inner city and this is not avoidable. I enjoyed the walking distance to everything. Staff very accommodating without any obtrusion. All in all 10/10 We did not eat at the attached restaurant not did we take room service.

Room Tip: Take the queen apartment and ask were it is in relation to street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SerendipityGallery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Frances10-10,
Thank you for your lovely review of Punthill Flinders Lane.
We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay at this city property.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
269 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed here a couple of weeks ago with my Daughter, after booking had read a few not so good reviews, but for us everything was fine, we had a one b/room apartment with a queen and a sofa bed. The apartment was as shown on the website, clean and spacious. The only thing I can think of was the Queen bed was a bit lumpy, but with a full renovation/refurbish to take place I am sure this will be rectified, not worth complaining about. The Kitchen was very spacious (not that we used it except for morning coffees) but plenty of implements if you did want to cook.
One night we came home to find our entry card would not work, it was 10pm on a Sunday night,
No problem the Manager came to our rescue in a matter of minutes and with a smile, she saw us to our floor, we found the Management couple here very agreeable.

The central location of these apartments have you right in the thick of the Cafe society of Degreaves Lane, their was no problem with noise from the Laneway.
Trams in three directions are close with only a couple of minutes walk to either.

We look forward to returning it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunshineqld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Sunshineqld,
Thanks for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill Flinders Lane,
We are delighted that you enjoyed the apartments and service at the property and we hope to welcome you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for a girls weekend a fortnight ago. Loved the black and hot pink furniture. Found it secure, clean and tidy with everything within walking distance. Some great little cafe's right outside the front door. Only a 15 - 20 minute walk to Rod Laver Arena and Southern Cross Station and 5 minutes to Flinders Station. Only downside is the bathroom is an ensuite in the main room - maybe a door from the living area instead? On the upside, there was a 2nd toilet/washroom in the other bedroom. Didn't find noise too much of an issue although the elevators seem to have a mind of their own at times. Our only view was of the building across the lane but I found our "grassed" window sill's and metal cat(we named her Pennyroyal Tea) quite cute and quirky! Definitely value for money and would stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tlgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear bcheeky,
Thanks so much for your review of Punthill Flinders Lane on TripAdvisor.
The team at Punthill Flinders Lane will be delighted to know that you had such an enjoyable stay and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnie, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

generally go to Melbourne 4-6 times a year to stay and see two of our children living there. Mainly stay with them but every now and then like to stay tn the city . Cant beat Punthill for value and location, although the tram noise does take a bit of getting use to . Staff are more than friendly and accommodating , highly recommend

Room Tip: small car park underneath so make sure there is room, smaller the car the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Dave P,
Thanks for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill Flinders Lane.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay and found our accommodation to be great value for money.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill again in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Punthill Manhattan
Punthill Manhattan
#80 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Flinders Landing Apartments
Flinders Landing Apartments
#100 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#64 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,294 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments

Property: Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Address: 267 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most vibrant part of Melbourne CBD. Punthill Flinders Lane is surrounded by fashion, food and culture reflecting the ambiance and charm of Melbourne's quirky laneways and eclectic cafes. Punthill Flinders Lane is a short stroll to Federation Square, Regent Theatre, Southbank and Crown Casino. Sporting Venues such as AAMI Stadium, Rod Laver Arena, MCG and Etihad Stadium are also within close proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing