We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will come back again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Ranked #59 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Will come back again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here in October 2011. It felt like it just been renovated. Everything was clean and neat and we had everything we needed. We were right next to a lift and alleyway but never once heard either the lift or garbage truck. I loved all the little quirks in the room like the grass and cat in the window sill.
There were only two down sides. Firstly the foyer area had a strong new carpet smell which made me feel ill but that smell would be gone now. Secondly I left with a huge bruise on my leg from the tap in the bath (it probably wasn't in the best spot).
We plan on going back to Melbourne this year and have no doubts that we will be staying here once again with everything you need within a 20min walk.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xstacey87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear xstacey87,
Thanks for your comments regarding Punthill Flinders Lane.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the property and we look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill later in the year.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    231
    86
    19
    22
See reviews for
118
183
31
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is my first time staying in an apartment - normally i budget travel but found a good deal on another hotel booking site so grabbed the opportunity.
I stayed here for a week just before easter - a one bedroom apartment on the 3rd floor overlooking flinders lane. Its in a fantastic location with everything close by - trams, trains and shops on the doorstep. The apartment was a good size and very comfortable, loved the furnishings and decor and the cat on the windowsill. What impressed me more than anything was how clean it was, serviced daily with staff that were friendly.

The only downfall would be on a Friday and Saturday night it can be noisy in the streets below, but during other nights it was fine. Also, the floors were a bit creaky but after a week i kind of got used to it. Other than that i would recommend this place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gem_fi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Gem_fi,
We are thrilled that you chose Punthill to make the change to 'apartment accommodation' and thanks for taking the time to provide your comments about Punthill Flinders Lane.
Being in the heart of the city does mean that there will always be a level of city noise that is unavoidable, but many guests love this vibrancy, and we are pleased to know that you embraced the Melbourne atmosphere too!
The creaky floorboards in the property are being rectified in May/June of this year.
We look forward to seeing you again at Punthill sometime in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

I organised a group booking for a very busy weekend in March. The staff on reception were so friendly and went out of their way to help us. Upon arriving, there was a mix up with one of the rooms which we were unhappy with, however the manager was very apoligetic and quick to come up with a solution for us, which we really appreciated.
The location is fantastic, rooms very comfortable, and great value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vaskat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Vaskat,
Thanks for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill Flinders Lane on TripAdvisor.
Customer service is of the utmost importance at Punthill and our front office team at the property will be thrilled to know that you so thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay, and that they were able to resolve your issue promptly.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill sometime soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

The apartment was in an awesome location. Everthing is in walking distance and tram/free city tram distance. Just a few steps from wonderful places to eat any meal. It is very clean. Funky decorations and furnishings were interesting. Only negative is wireless internet costs $3 an hour and you can't turn it off and on during that hour.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCkidstravelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear JCkidstravelmom,
We are aware that it is normal practice for many hotels overseas to offer free internet, and we are sure this will be adopted in Australia in the near future.
We are extremely pleased to know that overall you enjoyed the apartments and location of Punthill Flinders Lane and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

I have now stayed in Three Punthill Apartments in Melbourne (Little Bourke, Manhattan & Flinders Lane) would recommend all of them, but this is my favourite.
The location was great just walk down stairs and you are in the Heart of Melbourne. The laneways are beautiful and to be able to walk down stairs and have a coffee, people watch and relax. I can not wait to get back to this hotel.
The lifts were old but I didn't book here for the lifts. The rooms were clean and funky designs. We had a one bedroom apartment, small kitchen and lounge room to watch TV or read a book after shopping.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mightygem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear mightygem,
Thanks for providing your comments about Punthill Flinders Lane and we are extremely pleased to know that Punthill is your choice for accommodation when visiting Melbourne!
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Punthill Appartments are centrally located in Flinders Lane, Melbourne and are in easy walking distance to many of Melbourne's innner city attractions. The cost of accommodation is reasonable but the complex is in clear need of a makeover. The lift operation to get to your room has you thinking it is about to throw in the towel. The buttons are faulty (we often ended up at the wrong floor), it bangs and bumps its way loudly during operation, and don't be surpised if you get stuck. The room we had was clean and tidy, but dated. Floor boards squeak everywhere, including the corridors and adjoining rooms and you sometimes get the feeling someone's stalking you! Other than that, the room is generally quiet until the night life starts and then later on, the incessent garbage trucks arrive. An ok appartment if you're not after anything other than basic accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prado123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Prado123,
The lift at Punthill Flinders Lane is extremely old, as is the building which has a heritage-listed facade. The main lift is being completely replaced in May 2013. The squeaky floorboards too are being addressed in May.
Punthill Flinders Lane is in the very heart of the city - we are in the midst of cafes, shops, pubs and restaurants. There is some city noise but unfortunately this is often the situation when one stays in the city centre.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the central location of Punthill Flinders Lane and hope that we can welcome you back to Punthill another time.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Arrival - lift service dysfunctional, but they did tell us about that. First night - leak in the bathroom. Flooded bathroom floor. No sleep. Told manager next morn, moved to another room, but no offer of discount let alone refund.
Second night, 2nd room - water marks in ceiling. 2 holes in ceiling (above bed & cooktop) where sprinkler use to be, who knows what mould that was leaking from a damp ceiling. Lamps not working. Remote not working. Right near the lift that you could hear all night long.
Manager totally unreceptive when this was brought up on chk-out. Then called head office & offered a $50 discount. Eventually offered to give us one of the night's for 1/2 price. But gritted her teeth doing it. Rooms and service completely unsatisfactory for us.

Room Tip: Find another place if you want a good room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank suzanne33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Director at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear suzanne33,
We have already communicated with you extensively regarding your stay and are surprised that you are repeating matters that we thought had been explained and resolved. As discussed, if you had let us know that there was a leak in the bathroom, we would immediately have offered you another apartmnet for the night and would have assisted you to move the next morning. We have staff on duty 24 hours to assist guests at any time. We offered, and you accepted, a 50% discount for your first night.
As previously advised, the shroud to cover a sprinkler head has been ordered. There is absolutely and categorically no risk to guests whatsoever as the shrouds are purely cosmetic. As discussed, one of the lamps was not switched on at the socket and they are in fact all working perfectly.
We are really upset and disappointed at your review since we felt that your acceptance of 50% discount on your first night's accommodation had resolved this matter.
We are so sorry that you clearly still feel aggrieved, and wish to emphasize that we go out of our way to assist guests and do our utmost to ensure that guests have a wonderful stay.
Kind regards,
Robin Caras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Punthill Manhattan
Punthill Manhattan
#80 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#53 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Central Business District
Flinders Landing Apartments
Flinders Landing Apartments
#99 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#64 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments

Property: Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Address: 267 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most vibrant part of Melbourne CBD. Punthill Flinders Lane is surrounded by fashion, food and culture reflecting the ambiance and charm of Melbourne's quirky laneways and eclectic cafes. Punthill Flinders Lane is a short stroll to Federation Square, Regent Theatre, Southbank and Crown Casino. Sporting Venues such as AAMI Stadium, Rod Laver Arena, MCG and Etihad Stadium are also within close proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing