We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Ranked #63 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The apartment was in an awesome location. Everthing is in walking distance and tram/free city tram distance. Just a few steps from wonderful places to eat any meal. It is very clean. Funky decorations and furnishings were interesting. Only negative is wireless internet costs $3 an hour and you can't turn it off and on during that hour.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCkidstravelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear JCkidstravelmom,
We are aware that it is normal practice for many hotels overseas to offer free internet, and we are sure this will be adopted in Australia in the near future.
We are extremely pleased to know that overall you enjoyed the apartments and location of Punthill Flinders Lane and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (599)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

439 - 445 of 599 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

I have now stayed in Three Punthill Apartments in Melbourne (Little Bourke, Manhattan & Flinders Lane) would recommend all of them, but this is my favourite.
The location was great just walk down stairs and you are in the Heart of Melbourne. The laneways are beautiful and to be able to walk down stairs and have a coffee, people watch and relax. I can not wait to get back to this hotel.
The lifts were old but I didn't book here for the lifts. The rooms were clean and funky designs. We had a one bedroom apartment, small kitchen and lounge room to watch TV or read a book after shopping.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mightygem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear mightygem,
Thanks for providing your comments about Punthill Flinders Lane and we are extremely pleased to know that Punthill is your choice for accommodation when visiting Melbourne!
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Punthill Appartments are centrally located in Flinders Lane, Melbourne and are in easy walking distance to many of Melbourne's innner city attractions. The cost of accommodation is reasonable but the complex is in clear need of a makeover. The lift operation to get to your room has you thinking it is about to throw in the towel. The buttons are faulty (we often ended up at the wrong floor), it bangs and bumps its way loudly during operation, and don't be surpised if you get stuck. The room we had was clean and tidy, but dated. Floor boards squeak everywhere, including the corridors and adjoining rooms and you sometimes get the feeling someone's stalking you! Other than that, the room is generally quiet until the night life starts and then later on, the incessent garbage trucks arrive. An ok appartment if you're not after anything other than basic accommodation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prado123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Prado123,
The lift at Punthill Flinders Lane is extremely old, as is the building which has a heritage-listed facade. The main lift is being completely replaced in May 2013. The squeaky floorboards too are being addressed in May.
Punthill Flinders Lane is in the very heart of the city - we are in the midst of cafes, shops, pubs and restaurants. There is some city noise but unfortunately this is often the situation when one stays in the city centre.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the central location of Punthill Flinders Lane and hope that we can welcome you back to Punthill another time.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Arrival - lift service dysfunctional, but they did tell us about that. First night - leak in the bathroom. Flooded bathroom floor. No sleep. Told manager next morn, moved to another room, but no offer of discount let alone refund.
Second night, 2nd room - water marks in ceiling. 2 holes in ceiling (above bed & cooktop) where sprinkler use to be, who knows what mould that was leaking from a damp ceiling. Lamps not working. Remote not working. Right near the lift that you could hear all night long.
Manager totally unreceptive when this was brought up on chk-out. Then called head office & offered a $50 discount. Eventually offered to give us one of the night's for 1/2 price. But gritted her teeth doing it. Rooms and service completely unsatisfactory for us.

Room Tip: Find another place if you want a good room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank suzanne33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Director at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear suzanne33,
We have already communicated with you extensively regarding your stay and are surprised that you are repeating matters that we thought had been explained and resolved. As discussed, if you had let us know that there was a leak in the bathroom, we would immediately have offered you another apartmnet for the night and would have assisted you to move the next morning. We have staff on duty 24 hours to assist guests at any time. We offered, and you accepted, a 50% discount for your first night.
As previously advised, the shroud to cover a sprinkler head has been ordered. There is absolutely and categorically no risk to guests whatsoever as the shrouds are purely cosmetic. As discussed, one of the lamps was not switched on at the socket and they are in fact all working perfectly.
We are really upset and disappointed at your review since we felt that your acceptance of 50% discount on your first night's accommodation had resolved this matter.
We are so sorry that you clearly still feel aggrieved, and wish to emphasize that we go out of our way to assist guests and do our utmost to ensure that guests have a wonderful stay.
Kind regards,
Robin Caras

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Just got back from a 5 day trip to Melbourne, stayed at Punthill Flinders Lane.
What an amazingly clean, modern and friendly place!
We stayed in a one bedroomed apartment with cooking facilities.
Kitchen is pretty much supplied with all you need, lounge was big enough for the two of us, bedroom was a great size, very comfy bed. Bathroom was a good size and very clean.
Unexpectedly our room was serviced daily, bed made everything restocked if required (milk, tea, coffee etc) even the dishawasher was emptied if we had put it on!
Staff friendly and very helpful.
Great location in the CBD, 5 minutes from the main train station,trams close by also. Coles 5 minutes, array of cafes close by. But they also have their own cafe which is competitively priced.
We will certainly stay again if ever we go to Melbourne again
Thanks Punthill :-)

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor, no view (just a brick wall) but no noise! No pool hence no rating and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peepo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear peepo13,
Thanks so much for taking the time to provide your feedback about your recent stay at Punthill Flinders Lane.
The front office and housekeeping teams at the property will be thrilled to know that you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that you want to come back again!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I've stayed at the Punthill Flinders Lane (and the Manhattan, up the Lane) many many times over the last 12 years and ... I think they're going downhill. On the last trip I was there for a week; the first few days were for fun and the rest was for business. This property is still in an AMAZING location; this and its affordable rates are the key benefits and still two good reasons to stay there. You have Centre Place and Degraves Street on your doorstep (amazing coffee/brekky/lunch), and it's a short walk to good restaurants, bars, the Arts Centre, train station etc. But they need a ramp in the main foyer so that you don't have to carry bags up any steps, they need some vibier/more positive (young) reception staff, they need to revamp/clean it up again. It's had a refurbishment but it's looking dated/dark/tired and it doesn't smell good; I think it's the ground floor cafe smells penetrating up into the halls/rooms. This is a silly thing, but the pictures on the wall were all crooked - and velcro-ed on/unmoveable. The couch was incredibly uncomfortable and the bed sagged in the middle. The lifts are the slowest lifts in the world! Especially considering it's not even a high-rise building. The floors creak badly, my sateliite TV channels weren't working and unfortunately my room (3rd floor) was right next to the lift - we heard the noise all night. As far as the 2 seniors (husband and wife?) reception staff go, the woman is painfully slow and did some key rate calculations when I checked in by hand (pencil and paper) when I checked in (I mean, seriously, use a calculator if you can't use the computer!) And the man made some unnecessary negative - blatantly racist actually - comments about Melbourne's foreign cab drivers that my sister and I were incredulous about. I also object to paying UP FRONT when checking in; this should happen on checkout.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Netski66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Netski66,
It is such a shame that these matters weren't brought to our attention earlier and four months have elapsed since you stayed.
Punthill Flinders Lane is surrounded by a myriad of wonderful cafes and restaurants and sometimes their aromas can waft through many laneways!
Your comments regarding the pictures on the walls in the apartments are noted and they are now all straight! Like most hotels these days, Punthill does use king split beds which are firmly joined together and topped with a luxurious and thick mattress topper.
Punthill Flinders Lane is a heritage-listed building with a wonderful history and the lifts are extremely old. The main lift is however being replaced in April this year, and all timber floors are being renovated at that time too to eliminate noise.
Punthill is an equal opportunity employer and our staff includes several mature aged people who we find absolutely outstanding in their commitment to their role. All staff are continually trained and re-trained and the issues you mentioned about staff have been addressed, including absolutely inappropriate racial comments.
As with many apartment hotels, it is Punthill's policy to pay upon arrival, and the alternative of a pre-authorisation of your credit card has the same outcome as paying up front.
We are extremely gratified and appreciative that you have stayed with us on a number of occasions. We encourage you to give our general manager a direct call when you are next planning a trip to Melbourne - or Brisbane - and we hope to entice you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Being such a good rate I had my doubts but the room ( studio) was great as was the friendly service.
The hallways are tired but didn't make a difference to the stay. The best thing in my opinion is stepping out of the entrance and you are smack bang in the middle of the best cafe area. I am a fan of Degraves :-) Trains are a 2 minute walk away as is trams but surprisingly really quiet at night. Definitely staying again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sianah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear sianah,
Thank you for your comments regarding Punthill Flinders Lane on TripAdvisor.
Management and staff at Punthill Flinders Lane will be very pleased to know that you enjoyed your recent stay at this city centre property and we hope to welcome you back to Punthill sometime soon!
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#30 of 162 in Melbourne
200 reviews
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Punthill Manhattan
Punthill Manhattan
#91 of 162 in Melbourne
390 reviews
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#65 of 162 in Melbourne
5,077 reviews
Central Business District
Flinders Landing Apartments
Flinders Landing Apartments
#108 of 162 in Melbourne
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments

Address: 267 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $101 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most vibrant part of Melbourne CBD. Punthill Flinders Lane is surrounded by fashion, food and culture reflecting the ambiance and charm of Melbourne's quirky laneways and eclectic cafes. Punthill Flinders Lane is a short stroll to Federation Square, Regent Theatre, Southbank and Crown Casino. Sporting Venues such as AAMI Stadium, Rod Laver Arena, MCG and Etihad Stadium are also within close proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing