We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Novotel Melbourne on Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$130
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$240
$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$89
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$137
$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$96
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$195
$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$85
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$74
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$137
$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
$290
$232
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (639)
Filter reviews
640 results
Traveler rating
223
270
98
24
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
223
270
98
24
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspunt hill apartmentsgreat locationdegraves ststudio apartmentfederation squaregarbage trucksfull kitchenserviced dailycoles supermarketfirst floorcafes and restaurantscentral locationfed squarenoisy at nightmain bedroomthe heart of the citygreat apartment
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
482 - 487 of 640 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Just got back from a 5 day trip to Melbourne, stayed at Punthill Flinders Lane.
What an amazingly clean, modern and friendly place!
We stayed in a one bedroomed apartment with cooking facilities.
Kitchen is pretty much supplied with all you need, lounge was big enough for the two of us, bedroom was a great size, very comfy bed. Bathroom was a good size and very clean.
Unexpectedly our room was serviced daily, bed made everything restocked if required (milk, tea, coffee etc) even the dishawasher was emptied if we had put it on!
Staff friendly and very helpful.
Great location in the CBD, 5 minutes from the main train station,trams close by also. Coles 5 minutes, array of cafes close by. But they also have their own cafe which is competitively priced.
We will certainly stay again if ever we go to Melbourne again
Thanks Punthill :-)

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor, no view (just a brick wall) but no noise! No pool hence no rating and we didn't use room service
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peepo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear peepo13,
Thanks so much for taking the time to provide your feedback about your recent stay at Punthill Flinders Lane.
The front office and housekeeping teams at the property will be thrilled to know that you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that you want to come back again!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I've stayed at the Punthill Flinders Lane (and the Manhattan, up the Lane) many many times over the last 12 years and ... I think they're going downhill. On the last trip I was there for a week; the first few days were for fun and the rest was for business. This property is still in an AMAZING location; this and its affordable rates are the key benefits and still two good reasons to stay there. You have Centre Place and Degraves Street on your doorstep (amazing coffee/brekky/lunch), and it's a short walk to good restaurants, bars, the Arts Centre, train station etc. But they need a ramp in the main foyer so that you don't have to carry bags up any steps, they need some vibier/more positive (young) reception staff, they need to revamp/clean it up again. It's had a refurbishment but it's looking dated/dark/tired and it doesn't smell good; I think it's the ground floor cafe smells penetrating up into the halls/rooms. This is a silly thing, but the pictures on the wall were all crooked - and velcro-ed on/unmoveable. The couch was incredibly uncomfortable and the bed sagged in the middle. The lifts are the slowest lifts in the world! Especially considering it's not even a high-rise building. The floors creak badly, my sateliite TV channels weren't working and unfortunately my room (3rd floor) was right next to the lift - we heard the noise all night. As far as the 2 seniors (husband and wife?) reception staff go, the woman is painfully slow and did some key rate calculations when I checked in by hand (pencil and paper) when I checked in (I mean, seriously, use a calculator if you can't use the computer!) And the man made some unnecessary negative - blatantly racist actually - comments about Melbourne's foreign cab drivers that my sister and I were incredulous about. I also object to paying UP FRONT when checking in; this should happen on checkout.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Netski66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Netski66,
It is such a shame that these matters weren't brought to our attention earlier and four months have elapsed since you stayed.
Punthill Flinders Lane is surrounded by a myriad of wonderful cafes and restaurants and sometimes their aromas can waft through many laneways!
Your comments regarding the pictures on the walls in the apartments are noted and they are now all straight! Like most hotels these days, Punthill does use king split beds which are firmly joined together and topped with a luxurious and thick mattress topper.
Punthill Flinders Lane is a heritage-listed building with a wonderful history and the lifts are extremely old. The main lift is however being replaced in April this year, and all timber floors are being renovated at that time too to eliminate noise.
Punthill is an equal opportunity employer and our staff includes several mature aged people who we find absolutely outstanding in their commitment to their role. All staff are continually trained and re-trained and the issues you mentioned about staff have been addressed, including absolutely inappropriate racial comments.
As with many apartment hotels, it is Punthill's policy to pay upon arrival, and the alternative of a pre-authorisation of your credit card has the same outcome as paying up front.
We are extremely gratified and appreciative that you have stayed with us on a number of occasions. We encourage you to give our general manager a direct call when you are next planning a trip to Melbourne - or Brisbane - and we hope to entice you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Being such a good rate I had my doubts but the room ( studio) was great as was the friendly service.
The hallways are tired but didn't make a difference to the stay. The best thing in my opinion is stepping out of the entrance and you are smack bang in the middle of the best cafe area. I am a fan of Degraves :-) Trains are a 2 minute walk away as is trams but surprisingly really quiet at night. Definitely staying again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sianah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear sianah,
Thank you for your comments regarding Punthill Flinders Lane on TripAdvisor.
Management and staff at Punthill Flinders Lane will be very pleased to know that you enjoyed your recent stay at this city centre property and we hope to welcome you back to Punthill sometime soon!
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The location is fantastic...everyone seems to agree on this. We stayed here for a weekend away and the central location meant that we didn't have to go too far for anything around Melbourne CBD. You can walk to pretty much anything and you get a fantastic location right next to some of the best coffee and breakfasts in town.
There was a slight mix up on the configuration of the room, we recieved a twin room instead of a double...it wasn't that big a deal so we didn't raise it with management, still was a comfortable sleep in the hotel.

The rooms are a bit on the hipster side but it was a fantastically clean room with cool furnishings. There is always a friendly cat on the windowsill to greet you in the morning-nice touch. The bathroom is clean and large enough and is well stocked with amenities.

One thing we had an issue with is the smell of the hotel as we come in from the street. I'm not sure if it is from the lane itself but it seemed like the lobby area at night always had this 'used deep frying oil' smell, it's a little bit off putting when you come home after a long day out and about. Once you're in your room though the smell is gone...so perhaps this is something that management can look into.

I would stay here again because of the central location and the fantastic staff.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jleu0579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear jleu0579,
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill Flinders Lane on TripAdvisor.
It is fantastic to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the apartments, staff and location so satisfactory whilst visiting Melbourne.
At the time of your visit (in July 2012), the adjoining cafe was having some issues with their extractor fans, but the problem has since been rectified.
We hope to see you back at Punthill Flinders Lane sometime soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Shame on me, I have stayed here 3 times and have never written a review, I have recommended it to many people but never reviewed it and let you all know out there what a great little find this property is. It is perfectly situated right next to Degraves Lane which is brilliant cafe spot and a tea and cupcake shop to die for, cutting through that lane takes you direct to Flinders Station. The rooms are not huge but are neat, very well maintained, well appointed and really kind to the budget, I mean really kind. The staff have always been obliging and highly helpful to me and my fellow travellers. Even though it is on a Lane it is very safe with a police station just before hitting Swanston, its perfect for walking to the main shopping centres within the city, walking distance to the theatre district and trams up the road to take you easily to St Kilda and Brunswick St as well as close to Federation Square, which has a free shuttle at 10am and 11am that will get you to Chadstone shopping centre, wow what a find. We have stayed at 4 different hotels and locations in Melbourne and this is by far the best for value but more importantly location, just can't be beaten.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wandererplus4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear wandererplus4,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill Flinders Lane on TripAdvisor.
We are thrilled to read that Punthill is your choice for accommodation when visiting Melbourne, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Michele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews