We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, Great Staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melbourne Parkview Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
Ranked #26 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel, Great Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2007

I won a competition to go to the Caulfield Cup. We stayed for only two nights but it was a very nice hotel. When we arrived, we were told that there was no reservation under my name. Just what we needed on our first trip to melbourne. I had no record to show her that it had been booked as it was done through the doomben turf club in brisbane. The receptionist called the woman who had told me it was booked and sorted it out and we were checked in straight away. And this was at 11am, so that's excellent service. Our room was a twin room with two double beds and was immaculately clean. We were very impressed with the dressing room which led into the bathroom.
The concierge was extremely helpful on our first visit to Melbourne and gave us directions to wherever we wanted to go.
The hotel is a bit out of the city - it's on St Kilda Rd, but is only a 5 minute tram ride to the city.

Overall, we were very impressed and the location didn't phase us really at all.

  • Liked — Helpful concierge and reception staff
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Melz111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,302
    1,031
    172
    44
    29
See reviews for
457
1,122
134
471
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2007

Me and my girlfriend stayed at St Kilda Road Parkview hotel for 3 nights over NYE and early Jan 07. It was a last min booking because we had to leave a friends house who was offering free accomo, so basically I had to book something on www.quickbeds.com.au very quickly. There were not very hotels available so this is why we chose this one, also it was kind of the cheapest ($500 for 3 nights)

I am disappointed because I am very picky with photos on the internet. The pics on Quickbeds made the hotel look nice, modern and well furbished. In real life the hotel was run down and in desperate need of a make over. The picture of the lobby on the quickbeds website is not actually the lobby of this hotel which angered me because to me that is false advertising!!

The hotel had a very funny smell.. the elevators had a burning smell like it had an electricital fault.

The staff were ok.. we had some problems with the people next door to us and they resolved the problem straight away.

The location is good.. easy to get into the centre of the city.

But overall the impression of the place was abit crappy.
I think 500 dollars for 3 nights is very expensive for a place like this, I know it was peak time because it was over new years eve but still the place just was not very nice at all..

Oh and the top pool and spa.. is absolutely disgusting! as you are walking up the stairs to it you nearly pass out of the smell of chlorine and then the room is boiling because its in a glass enclosure and again its old and run down!!

If you are not too fussy about accommodation this place will suit you.. i mean it has the essentials.. if you are after something nice and modern don’t stay at this place at all..

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — old and run down... and the funny smell
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hellojoe3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2005

I recently booked a room at this hotel. I had booked a non smoking room in advance ( there was mention that it could not be gusranteed on my booking)

On arrival I was given my room key and I proceeded to my first floor room, and after opening the door, I nearly passed out from the stench of the cigarette smoke. I stood there and decided that I could not bear to be in this room.

I returned to reception with my luggage as the receptionist looked at me as if to say, not another complaint. I advised that I requested a non smoking room, she advised that they were fully booked. I advised when I booked the room some 2 weeks prior, they were not fully booked. Even so, at that stage, i would have been prepared to pay more for a non smoking room. She offered to have a de smoking machine placed in my room to which i accepted. I agreed to vacate the room for at least half an hour.

On my return, surprisingly the room seemed to be de smoked. I then unpacked my suitcase, the room was ok, nothing flash, 2-3 star at the most and definitely not worth the $120 i spent.

  • Stayed November 2005, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank surfoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2005

The Park View was in St Kilda Road which was a tram ride away from the city, and also a walking distance of 25-30 minutes.
I lost my money at the Casino and walked back through South Melbourne, across Albert Park Lake and through very busy Queens Road to the hotel quite easily, so I know the walk is possible and pleasant.
The hotel had a fantastic restaurant below as well as a small bar for evening drinks. There were many other eating and drinking places around.
The hotel was used mainly by Insurance and other business groups as it was adjacent to many seminar and training venues and everyone I spoke to was there training or working somewhere.
I was doing a training with Insurance and that is how I stayed here as this was their choice of hotel and thus removed somewhat from a travllers choice.
The view from the Gynmasium and pool across to Melbourne was wonderful. I would pedal the bike and read the paper, and was looking across at a fantastic view when I stood by the window of the pool area.
It was a nice meeting place for people staying at the hotel.
Sometimes we walked to our training place...and I also went to the city and walked Collins Street..the Paris of Melbourne of the past and today too with its elegant tree lights and huge skyrise apartment buildings.
The shops are wonderful. I wandered into an arcade and had my hair done, went out to the Underground, sat in the park with my old lover, went to the Arts Centre and the Superb Science Building, had my hair redone in Toorak, bought some great clothes,and lost the last of my money at the Casino....all exciting and hugely pleasurable experiences. Melbourne does that to you.
The National Gallery is well worth visiting, and so is Domain Gardens and the Shrine of remembrance. The gardens are full of some stunning sculptures and a floral clock.
I drove out to Eltham and Kangaroo Ground where I used to live and saw my old shop at Caulfield and Glenhuntly. I remembered my horse being trained at Caulfield and how my flowers decorated the race tracks every year for when I was a florist.
Yes, Melbourne holds many memories and is also the city I love best.

Melbourne is the grand Duchesse of Australia and should not be missed.
Ladymaggic
Marguerite 2005

Helpful?
1 Thank Ladymaggic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2005

I booked my room 1.5 months in advance and asked for a smoking room, and never recieved it. The staff simply told us to go see reception in the morning and they will see what they can do.

My first room had a hair on the basin and in the shower and a pile of dust and hair on the bathroom floor.

Our second room was fine it was clean comfortable and had a view!
So i was told by mangement that the first room was an exceptional case.

The secure valet parking is a must if staying here for $7 a day, they park your car and retrive it whenever you want.

For the price (if booked on the net) it is well worth the stay.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hun'ee1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2005

My only complaint was that the room had no in-room safe. Everything else was above average. The room was clean and comfortable. The service was impeccable from housekeeping to reception to conceierge. The ameneties were very good. The location initially seemed poor but as I got used to Melbourne I realized the location was perfect. It was on St Kilda road so it's on the tram stop to the City, to St Kilda, and to Chapel St. It was easy to get anywhere in the city from this location.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shawnmensa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2004

Stayed at the Parkview 20th Dec. 2004. I found this hotel on ---------- on the day and thought it was great value for money. I paid AUD$110 for a Monday night. We live 150kms from Melb and work in the city a couple of days a week so often need somewhere to stay.

Easily found parking in the street (ok after 5pm) and right in front of the hotel entrance, but there's parking on site. Quick, easy checkin after making reservation on -----------. Room was clean with good amenities and nice touches - jar of sweets, pillow menu, selection of toiletries, comfortable armchair, good size tv with pay movies and free cable sports channels. The room wasn't enormous but perfectly adequate for 2. There's a dressing room outside the bathroom which has the fridge, coffee making, storage for suitcase, hanging space, mirror, hairdryer - makes up for the slightly smaller room when you have a separate area for dressing and storage. Checkout was swift and simple. All staff I encountered were friendly and helpful.

All in all I thought this was a good choice and I'll stay there again.

Helpful?
5 Thank CheddarHouseAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#31 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,426 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#39 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Art Series - The Blackman
#14 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Parkview Hotel

Property: Melbourne Parkview Hotel
Address: 562 St Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly St Kilda Road Parkview Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melbourne Parkview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
** AS OF JULY 1 2013, WE ARE NOW OFFERING FREE WIFI THROUGHOUT OUR HOTEL (IN ROOM AND IN ALL PUBLIC AREAS)Just a stone’s throw away from the CBD, the Melbourne Parkview Hotel is located along St Kilda Road’s famous tree lined boulevard on Melbourne’s city fringe. Our 206 spacious, warm and inviting rooms provide guests with a separate dressing and wardrobe area, well-appointed bathroom with large walk in shower, individually controlled air-conditioners, work desk and plenty of fresh air from one thing you won't find in most other hotels, windows that open.Other room features include mini-bar, tea/coffee facilities, in-room safe, bathrobes, pillow menu, double glazed windows, high speed wireless broadband internet access, High Definition LCD TV with Foxtel Cable Television and a Media Hub allowing direct TV connection for your media device.Hotel facilities include 24hr reception, 24hr room service, dedicated conference floor, gym, concierge, guest laundry and dry cleaning service, business center, complimentary newspapers, on-site secure parking and complimentary wireless internet in public areas. Relax and indulge whilst taking in the views of Melbourne and surrounds from our indoor roof top spa & sauna.Breakfast, lunch and dinner can be enjoyed in Woods Cafe, Bar & Restaurant, with its outdoor terrace, café, restaurant, and bar.Many of Melbourne’s tourist attractions are only a short tram ride away including the iconic Federation Square, Chapel Street, Shrine of Remembrance, Royal Botanic Gardens, MCG and Etihad Stadium. The Melbourne Parkview Hotel is in the perfect location to enjoy the best of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Melbourne Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing